We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TripAdvisor, thank you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #24 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“TripAdvisor, thank you!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel London St James, based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed here for 4 nights in July. The hotel location was absolutely perfect for seeing the sights of London, right next to Piccadilly Circus. The reception staff were welcoming. From the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out, I found everything about Sofitel St James to be perfect. The staff were very attentive and very friendly. The room was just amazing, clean and very comfortable. I loved the bathroom! We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent with a good choice of menu options. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomWo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you for complementing our high standards of service here at Sofitel London St James as we love to look after all of our guests.

Thank you also for pointing out the very good food and service provided in our restaurant The Balcon.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,139
    599
    121
    45
    23
See reviews for
951
1,684
265
613
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

What a gem near Picadilly circus, with French flair and impeccable service. All amenities provided for. A great French bistro, good gym equipment, and rooms that are modern and of a good size. Really close to all the nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here in a junior suite with my wife and two daughters in the peak season of the year. Room size was reasonable according to London standard. Staff were very attentive, cheerful and friendly. The concierge booked Savoy for tea, arranged Harry Porter studio tour and answered every question from us patiently. I love the morning complimentary room every day with different snacks, gas and still bottled water. Breakfast was superb with abundant fruit and lovely pastries. Location was extremely convenient and just right next to Piccadilly Circus, St James Park and National gallery. We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you for writting about your very satisfactory stay at Sofitel London St James.

Thank you also for pointing out your superb experience in our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

It's the most warmest welcome ever received from a hotel staff. Just came back from United Arab Emirates and this was truly a wonderful heaven hotel. The beautiful rooms amazing view. The food and amenities are best . Thank to all the amazing staff and management for this amazing wonderful experience. You will not be sorry to visit sofitel hotel it's. A warm family friendly hotel. Will be back very soon

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cooltravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed at the Sofitel St James for the first time in August 2014.
Lovely. Very quiet ... You cannot hear any sounds from hallways or elevators etc.
And the windows open! And air conditioning that you control yourself.
A bonus ..... there is a Pret a Manger next door .... For early morning latte and cappuccino ...... Instead of expensive room service.
Arrived on early morning flight from Canada and room was ready when we arrived at hotel at 1030am
Excellent free wifi .... Fast

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Madam,

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your room as well as its equipment.

I look forward to your next stays.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

have to say this hotel is amazing! the location, the hotel is spotless.
The staff makes sure they go out of their way to make your stay special. from now on if its Possible I will always stay in a SOFITEL Hotel.. I'm going to sound nuts but they make you feel like family.
we were there to celebrate my daughters sweet sixteen and upon arrival there was a cake sent up and a card signed by her favorite band.
stay at this hotel you will love it..

Room Tip: they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great feedback!

We love to pamper and pleasantly surprise our guests and we could not miss the occasion of your daughter's 16th birthday. I am truly glad to hear that she has enjoyed it very much.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I recently spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. From start to finish everything from service, food, location, comfort was perfect. I've stayed in many hotels, this tops them all! You most definitely will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabbyvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for complimenting our high standards of service. This is actually our utmost reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,067 in London
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,661 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,067 in London
2,943 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#46 of 1,067 in London
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing