We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in St James” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #30 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay in St James”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Sofitel St James provides an outstanding combination of service and accommodation. The hotel is well located to shopping, museums, Westminster, Parliament and other attractions. Rooms are well equipped and provide more than adequate space. Service is great and staff is very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zara06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear guest,

I am really grateful to you for such an amazing feedback. You couldn't make us all happier! Thank you so much for your words of praise by pointing out our "outstanding" level of service.
We genuinely love to pamper all of our guests therefore your satisfaction is our utmost reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,019
    585
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
909
1,632
257
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
420 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for 6 nights at the St James Sofitel and the Tripadvisor reviews are spot on. The hotel has a few hiccups, no doubt about that. One of our rooms had problems with a shower and the room service was fairly slow, even non-responsive on occasion. But the pros greatly outweigh the cons at this lovely facility. The staff jumped on every one of our issues and fully resolved the situation immediately, demonstrating an attention to detail that I rarely see in hotels. The concierge team at the Hotel is among the best in the world -- they will take care of any need for you and are extremely helpful and knowledgable. Kudos to the concierge team on world class service and professionalism.

The hotel itself is beautiful. The gym facilities on the first floor have everything you need and the equipment all worked well. The restaurant and bar on site are quite good and offer a variety of food choices to satisfy all needs. There is a sitting room known as the Rose Room for casual hanging out or for tending to a little business. The hotel really does have everything and the location cannot be beat, so close to Picadilly and tons of shopping and other conveniences. Just excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for this wonderful, detailed feedback!

I am truly glad to hear that you have had a great time at Sofitel London St James.

Thank you also for pointing out our excellent standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have never been to a hotel with friendlier staff. Everyone from the doorman to the front desk all do a great job. Hotel is clean, large rooms with a great bed.

I would recommend this hotel to others.

The restaurant in the hotel is also fantastic for french food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you for this fantastic feedback!

We genuinely do our utmost to look after and pamper all of our guests so thank you for pointing out your satisfaction with our high standards of service.

Thank you also for mentioning the fantastic food served in our restaurant The Balcon.

Thank you for recommending Sofitel London St James to your entourage and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

just absolutely fantastic. One of my favourite hotels in the world. an absolute must. Very pleasant staff, super rooms, .. I could go on and on. this is how a 5star hotel should be. from beginning to the end this is a real treat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback! You have made our day! It is really rewarding to pamper our guests.

I look forward to your next stays.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel London St James, based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed here for 4 nights in July. The hotel location was absolutely perfect for seeing the sights of London, right next to Piccadilly Circus. The reception staff were welcoming. From the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out, I found everything about Sofitel St James to be perfect. The staff were very attentive and very friendly. The room was just amazing, clean and very comfortable. I loved the bathroom! We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent with a good choice of menu options. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomWo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you for complementing our high standards of service here at Sofitel London St James as we love to look after all of our guests.

Thank you also for pointing out the very good food and service provided in our restaurant The Balcon.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

What a gem near Picadilly circus, with French flair and impeccable service. All amenities provided for. A great French bistro, good gym equipment, and rooms that are modern and of a good size. Really close to all the nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here in a junior suite with my wife and two daughters in the peak season of the year. Room size was reasonable according to London standard. Staff were very attentive, cheerful and friendly. The concierge booked Savoy for tea, arranged Harry Porter studio tour and answered every question from us patiently. I love the morning complimentary room every day with different snacks, gas and still bottled water. Breakfast was superb with abundant fruit and lovely pastries. Location was extremely convenient and just right next to Piccadilly Circus, St James Park and National gallery. We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you for writting about your very satisfactory stay at Sofitel London St James.

Thank you also for pointing out your superb experience in our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#41 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#58 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing