We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #27 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Decided to stay here because of the reasonable discount for the 5 night stay. We usually stay in Bloomsbury and happy with the location , however thought we would try st James area. So glad we made the change, location is brilliant and the hotel delivered in all areas. Big room, comfortable bed, bathrooms a good size. Loved being close to 2 parks for early morning walks. A nice quiet end of St James, considering the close proximity to Piccadilly Circus and T Square.
Many choices for restaurants, cafes close by. If the price was right - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fam006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear guest,

I am pleased to hear that you have had a very good experience in our centrally located Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,213
    608
    123
    45
    24
See reviews for
978
1,717
271
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We were so very pleased with our choice of this more than fine French hotel in London! It is beautifully decorated from the impressive lobby area (that also smelled like fine French perfume) to the dining room, bar, and tea room. Guest rooms are modern motif with black lacquer furniture, large desk, comfy beds, great lounge chair, espresso machine and tea service, and large black and white bathroom with separate tub and shower. Everything was clean and fresh and most welcoming. The breakfast is more than adequate with so many offerings and the best coffee ever. We used the bar on couple occasions and found it friendly and welcoming as well as The Balcon dining room. Touches of British food along with French pastries, cheese and great wine. But the most outstanding feature of this hotel is it's commitment to customer service. It is without a doubt, the friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in! From the doorman, concierge, desk person, maids, and servers in the dining room our hats go off! They were superb! Highly recommend this hotel as it is also in good location close to museums, the tube, restaurants, and theaters. Look forward to staying there again some day.

Room Tip: We asked for room in back because of current construction on street in front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith54184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this excellent feedback!

I thank you especially for pointing out our commitment to our guests as we strive to provide the highest standards of service.

I am also glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed your experience in our restaurant The Balcon as well as at our St James Bar and also at The Rose Lounge for Afternoon Tea.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had 2 rooms and from the moment of our arrival, the hotel and its staff exceeded expectations. The person checking us in once done, left his post and then proceeded to walk us around and show us everything the hotel had to offer. Any minor glitches (i.e. a safe closed from the prior occupant could not be opened) were addressed immediately. Rooms were made up immediately upon departure for the day. Staff would run out onto the street and hail a cab or walk us around the corner to point out where we were to go as we were headed on a walking tour for the day. Hotel is perfectly situated between Piccadilly and Trafalgar and easy walking to virtually anywhere. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank cypressterrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Indeed we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests and I am glad to hear that you have so much enjoyed your stay at Sofitel London St James.

I look forward to your next stays.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This was our first stay at the Sofitel St. James, and we were very pleased. The service was exceptional, from the concierge to the front desk to the breakfast and housekeeping staff members. Our room was very comfortable and quiet (there was a lot of construction going on just outside, but the double-glazed windows completely shut it out, couldn't hear a thing). Modern amenities, excellent bathroom and shower. Very comfortable bed. Lots of storage space. We had a Junior Suite, which was spacious (for London). Excellent location - we could walk to Picadilly, Leicester Sq, St. James Park, and almost anywhere else we wanted to go in central London.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chemyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear guest,

I thank you for this very positive feedback.

I felt very proud of my whole team when you pointed out our "exceptional" service. This is truly our utmost reward as we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We went to embley for the Rugby League Challenge Cup Final.
We stayed at the Sofitel St James' in London and it was an abolute delight. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the whole experience was fabulous. We went sightseeing on the Sunday and left our luggage in the care of the hotel staff.
When we returned very tired ready fr our train journey home our luggage was ready for us to collect.
Fabulous hotel - would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely hat we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillywildwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for such positive a feedback!

I am truly pleased to hear that you have had a "fabulous" experience at Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to your next stays.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel in 2009 before I belonged to trip advisor but my son on our recommendation stayed there recently and loved it as much as we did. You really can't beat the location and the service is topnotch. The room while small was beautiful as was the bathroom. My only complaint was the price of the breakfast buffet but then it is England. We usually walked about a block away to a little coffee shop for coffee and a pastiere

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrea969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear guest,

I am glad to hear that yourself in the past and your son lately have had a very enjoyable stay at Sofitel London St James.

We then look forward to welcoming you back in our centrally located hotel.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,069 in London
794 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,069 in London
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,069 in London
3,782 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#45 of 1,069 in London
1,251 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#52 of 1,069 in London
3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing