We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place in the middle of london” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #28 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place in the middle of london”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

The Sofitel St James has one of the best locations in the city. A few minutes walk from it all, Picadilly Circus, Regent Street and Bond Street for shopping, Trafalgar square and its museums, St james Park for long walk and Bukingham Palace for sight seeing. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere, without beeing too stuffy or over the top. The staff is courteous and welcoming. The rooms are so quiet and beautifully appointed. We were told flat screen TVs and a luxury Spa were coming in the next few months. Great bar, and we loved the Rose Loounge for afternoon tea. All in all the perfect place for business or a nice week end get away in London. highly recommended.

  • Liked — amazing bed
  • Disliked — tv
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ecfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,022
    588
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
911
1,635
257
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

As a Accor Gold Member we booked online and found the communication to be excellent. Upon check-in we were delighted to hear we had been upgraded from a queen room to a deluxe king room. We were also told that breakfast was included when i knew my originalbooking excluded breakfast in the rate, so I confirmed this with the front desk again and this was confirmed. we then went to our room and the bags followed in a timely manner. A very warm and welcoming room with the usual Sofitel qualities and luxuries. There beds and pillow options are the best in the industry in my opinion and that's worldwide.
After a few moments of getting comfortable we received a call to say that upon check-in our address was needed back home for there records. I found this a little odd and was instructed when free to contact the desk and give my information. we did not do this and it was never asked for again, even at check out.
The following morning we had breakfast as informed and upon leaving was handed a bill for 52 GBP (CRAZY) and I said we were informed that this was now included. they cvhecked twice with two different people and it was confirmed that this was not the case I would have to pay. I refused and seeked a discussion with the front desk manager who became involved and said there must have been a communication error and he would cancel the charge. I said thankyou for your understanding, but it shouldn't have got to that level and i found the breakfast room attendants to be lazy and a little rude. The rest of the staff and the hotel is great and the LOCATION is fantastic for getting around London. A nice hotel and genberally a good example of the Sofitel chain.
The Hermes toiletries etc in the bathroom were a lovely touch and the conceirge is more than helpful.

  • Liked — Room quality
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollywood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

What a wonderful hotel. We stayed here for 6 nights over Christmas 2008 and the staff and atmosphere was awesome. Our 18 month daughter was sick all Christmas Day. They were very quick to freshen up our room and after going out on the 26th to see the many attractions, they had left a get well gift for our daughter. Just a little something above and beyond what they needed to do.

The room was great, the staff was very helpful and the hotel is located within a 15 minute walk from all of the major sight seeing attractions.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rsterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

Stayed for one night on a weekend visit to London for a theatre performance.
The hotel is a 3 minute walk from Piccadilly Circus underground station at the end of Lower Regent Street.
We arrived at 1.pm but our room was not available until after 3. We were, however, given a voucher for tea (and, a scrummy mince pie!) in the Rose Lounge (we can stll smell the roses) which was a nice touich.
Staff on Reception and throughout the hotel were friendly yet professional and the room was lovely overlooking the road at the front of the hotel yet with no noise from it. As with other Sofitel hotels the bed was truly wonderful.
As others have said the hotel has many French staff and visitors (so handy if you wish to practice your French!) and the breakfast (included in our good value Weekend rate) had some nice French touches (wonderful pastries).
We enjoyed a drink in the bar which had a pleasant restful ambience. The complimentary nibbles were very tasty.
So, overall, the hotel has no gimmicks, nor flashy ingredients but it provided all required for a truly pampered feeling at least for two of it's guests!

  • Liked — The feeling of calm yet a stones throw away from Piccadillly Circus and Trfalgar Square
  • Disliked — Leaving it!!!!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

this is absolutely a gem. it has the most brilliant location (2 minutes from the Picadilly Underground--also the line to Heathrow, 2 minutes from the National Gallery, 2 more minutes to the theatre district and just in the middle of the "happening"), the customer service is wonderful, and the actual accommodations are top notch. the bed (featuring a delightful featherbed), the size of the room (comfortably sized, high ceilings, large windows), the amenities (robe, slippers, soaps, etc.), the housekeeping (prompt, effective and just spotless) are all part of what makes this hotel so fantastic! a bit pricey, yes, but worth every single penny. book here and enjoy being pampered and so close to most entertainment venues.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WorldEventPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

This was a special trip to celebrate my sister's forthcoming 70th Birthday and the Sofitel was outstanding.
Reception was very friendly and efficient and our room was most inviting and spotlessly clean. I do like their smart muted colour schemes and the beds are sooo comfortable!.
( We had no view to speak of from our window but to be honest we did not miss that as we had so much to see and do )
All the staff seemed genuinely pleased to greet you - none of this pretentious nonsense you get in some hotels. They left us with a chocolate cake decorated for my sister's birthday and it was all so beautifully and thoughtfully presented as well as being delicious!
Everything was done so discreetly and professionally it ensured my sister had a special time. Thanks Sofitel.

  • Liked — Service was friendly and professional with good location to theatres and art gallery
  • Disliked — No view from bedroom window
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

This hotel was in a really fabulous location-three minutes walk from Picadilly Circus or Trafalgar Square. Yet hotel was quiet. The staff were largely French, as were many of the guests. I almost felt I was in Paris, not London. The hotel was nicely decorated. The lobby was small, and not really set up that you could converse- just wait. The Rose Lounge was a sweet place for afternoon tea and they did a lovely job with the offerings and the service. We also had a drink in the bar- about the same wildly expensive prices we experienced at the Marriott Park Lane earlier this year.

The very tall doorman was charming and incredibly helpful and friendly. I wish I had got his name to compliment him to management

The room itself was teeny-tiny, with a "view" of an opposing set of windows. Neither the size nor the decoration was what I would expect in a 5* hotel. The room was so small that the door to the armoire had clearance slightly smaller than the span of my small hand. Even a child could not fit between the open door and the wall. The armoire could hold two coats and a few items in the three very small drawers. The remainer of the armoire was filled with an extra bathrobe, blanket, pillow, safe, and tea service. That's because there was NOWHERE else in the room for them. The nightstands were cubes of wood, with no shelf or drawer- just a slide out tray. The table/desk had a vanity and mirror, but the chair could not be aligned to the mirror due to lack of room. The desk had a drawer, but it could only be opened 4 inches due to backing up on a night stand. There was no luggage rack, nor was there room for one, even if they had left one in the room. At turn down, the housekeeper had to throw the plaid on the floor under the standing lamp as there was no other place for it. That would have been the case even if the room had been empty. Lest you think we travel heavy, we each had one carry on bag, so the lack of space was not for what we brought with us.

There was a full length mirror by the armoire. In order to use it, you had to move the floor lamp that was behind you. Otherwise, you were too close to the mirror to be of much use.

There was an iron/board in the room. There was a tea service, which was replenished daily. I missed the shortbread the other hotels I've stayed at also included with the tea/coffee. There was also a pricey mini-bar. TV with chanels in many languages.

The bathroom was lovely- beautiful and roomy enough. It had a great shower head, but it was a bit hard not to shower the room, too. We had a few puddles, which housekeeping took care of. I did not like the doors to the bath (which were two small doors that opened in the middle because one door would have been too wide for clearance into the room.) Part of the bath was visible between the doors- not nice for privacy. There was no ventilation in the bath. Towels were large and plentiful. They were not fluffy- dried without fabric softener, which is how I like them, but others might complain. There was a second robe in the bathroom. Beautifully shined chrome, and black stone surfaces. Hermes toiletries were a lovely touch. There was no place in the bathroom to plug in the hair dryer!!!

Housekeeping was very, very discreet. Never a cart, just an occasional young woman with a basket of cleaning supplies. They clean with the room closed, and a small note on your door so you don't walk in surprised. Housekeeping did an excellent job. The room and bath were immaculate.

Although the hotel staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable, basically, all the amenities and good will in the world will not make up for tripping over your own feet in the room. I am a "tiny" woman, and I felt uncomfortably crowded in the room. Maybe it would have been acceptable for one person; it was totally inadequate for two. I've stayed at other 5 star and 4 star hotels in London, and all were a good bit larger than this room. As nice as this location and hotel were, I'd probably not choose to stay here again.

I did ask if they could give us a larger room but we were told that would cost an extra 50 GBP! The clerk seemed to have heard before that this room was inadequate.

I hope M. Jacque reads these reviews and asks Sofitel to consider space next time they remodel. Until then, just putting drawers in the nightstands, adding storage above the toilet for extra linens to free up the armoire, and adding an outlet for the hairdryer in the bathroom would improve the stay significanly. A 5 star room should NOT be this tiny and crowded.

  • Liked — The Rose Lounge Afternoon Tea
  • Disliked — Teeny Tiny Room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhine-and-Roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#22 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#40 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in London
#11 Family Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing