We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time @ The Sofitel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #25 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great time @ The Sofitel!”
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We decided to book the Sofitel after reviewing it on Trip advisor and getting an excellent price, so i would advise shopping around as the price ranges greatly from site to site!

The welcome was warm and efficient, the hotel is decorated to a really high standard and you are made to feel like a celeb from entering the front door!

The rooms are what really sets this apart from other 5 star hotels i have stopped in, beautifully decorated and spacious. Bathrooms and showers can be a bit hit and miss in hotels but @ the Sofitel, it was done to a really high standard. The incuded toiletries were really nice as well (bonus!!!!)

P.S Try the Bloody mary at the bar!!!!

  • Liked — Everythiing!
  • Disliked — Price of cocktails
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Big_R1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,135
    599
    121
    45
    22
See reviews for
950
1,682
265
612
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

I was very happy with the room, the bed, the staff, the food, and the unbeatable location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WilliamNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Beautiful old building on a quiet street, yet only a few minutes walk to west end, SOHO and Westminster. Basic Room itself was large by london standards, elegantly decorated in modern french style. Great value for money, however all the extras (breakfast, room service, the bar etc) are very very expensive.

Only issue we had was the hotel was overheated, even our room. Despite aircon being switched on high 24/7, was always stuffy unless we opened the window.

Concierge knew what they were talking about, and recommended some excellent restaurants.

Overall highly recommend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overheated room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BFGMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

My husband and I recently stayed four-nights at the Sofitel St James as part of our European holiday to celebrate his 60th birthday. Because of our overnight flight from the states, we arrived at the hotel by 7:30 am. Exhausted from our flight we expected to be told the room would not be ready until mid day. Imagine our surprise when we were enthusiastically informed at check-in that not only was our room ready but that we had received a complimentary double room category upgrade!

The hotel is not only beautiful but also just as important, it is impeccably maintained throughout. Our 4th floor corner suite was well insulated from any possible street noise and fabulous in design with a long hallway, large separate living room, a spacious bedroom with an unbelievably comfortable king-size bed, and a separate bath and shower. First-class accommodations all the way!

When we arrived back at the room our first evening after dinner, we were greeted with an unbelievable delight: two slices of decadent chocolate mousse cake surrounded by fresh strawberries. Along the top of the plate, handwritten in chocolate was 'Happy Birthday'! What made this all the more amazing was that at the time of making the reservations over the telephone with Accor Hotels I had mentioned only in passing that it was my husband's birthday.

The location is perfect because you are walking distance to tourist attractions, museums, theaters, restaurants, shopping and multiple forms of transportation (e.g. buses, tube) in addition of course to cabs just outside the hotel's doors. With so many restaurants nearby, we only had one lovely lunch at the hotel's Brasserie Roux and after dinner drinks at their St James Bar. Just like the hotel, the service was attentive but never intrusive.

As most travelers well know, hotel employees' inevitable interaction can greatly influence the guest's overall experience and subsequent memories. That said it was the service provided by the staff from the moment of our arrival and throughout our entire stay that has made a lasting impression. From the curbside attendants to the doormen, front-desk to the concierge, restaurant staff to housekeeping to room service, each person displayed genuine warmth and took sincere pride in doing their job well.

With our son and daughter-in-law now living in London my husband and I hope to visit a minimum of twice a year. I could not imagine not staying at, or recommending to family/friends, this hotel. Yes, in a city full of hotels to choose from, the Sofitel St James is that wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LMP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

The hotel is in a great location just of Trafalgar Square but not in the middle of all the hustle and bustle.
At reception the staff were warm and friendly, a little on the slow side but there were no other guests waiting. My partner and I were told that the superior room that we booked was not ready; a few alarm bells rung, fearing we'd be left waiting for hours. Nevertheless we sipped our complimentary earl grey in the bar - best pot of tea I've ever had - the bar staff were also pleasant. About half an hour later, the clerk came to give us our keys along with the news that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room as we'd been waiting - couldn't complain!
The room was spacious, and well kept with all the amenities you'd expect. My favourite was the bathroom - i like my bathrooms.
The bed was great, my back approved and little things like the complimentary newspaper and the free wifi were great additions.
Definitely one of the better hotels I've stayed in in London.
Wish we could have stayed longer and experienced the other things the hotel had to offer.

  • Liked — Attentive staff, spacious room, great tea!
  • Disliked — If I had to say something ...the shower cubicle could be bigger
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AugustInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2009

The Sofitel St James has one of the best locations in the city. A few minutes walk from it all, Picadilly Circus, Regent Street and Bond Street for shopping, Trafalgar square and its museums, St james Park for long walk and Bukingham Palace for sight seeing. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere, without beeing too stuffy or over the top. The staff is courteous and welcoming. The rooms are so quiet and beautifully appointed. We were told flat screen TVs and a luxury Spa were coming in the next few months. Great bar, and we loved the Rose Loounge for afternoon tea. All in all the perfect place for business or a nice week end get away in London. highly recommended.

  • Liked — amazing bed
  • Disliked — tv
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ecfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

As a Accor Gold Member we booked online and found the communication to be excellent. Upon check-in we were delighted to hear we had been upgraded from a queen room to a deluxe king room. We were also told that breakfast was included when i knew my originalbooking excluded breakfast in the rate, so I confirmed this with the front desk again and this was confirmed. we then went to our room and the bags followed in a timely manner. A very warm and welcoming room with the usual Sofitel qualities and luxuries. There beds and pillow options are the best in the industry in my opinion and that's worldwide.
After a few moments of getting comfortable we received a call to say that upon check-in our address was needed back home for there records. I found this a little odd and was instructed when free to contact the desk and give my information. we did not do this and it was never asked for again, even at check out.
The following morning we had breakfast as informed and upon leaving was handed a bill for 52 GBP (CRAZY) and I said we were informed that this was now included. they cvhecked twice with two different people and it was confirmed that this was not the case I would have to pay. I refused and seeked a discussion with the front desk manager who became involved and said there must have been a communication error and he would cancel the charge. I said thankyou for your understanding, but it shouldn't have got to that level and i found the breakfast room attendants to be lazy and a little rude. The rest of the staff and the hotel is great and the LOCATION is fantastic for getting around London. A nice hotel and genberally a good example of the Sofitel chain.
The Hermes toiletries etc in the bathroom were a lovely touch and the conceirge is more than helpful.

  • Liked — Room quality
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollywood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,067 in London
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,658 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,067 in London
2,940 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#47 of 1,067 in London
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#25 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing