We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but a few things to point out .......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #26 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice but a few things to point out .......”
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Firstly as anyone will know London is an extremely expensive city to stay in, especially in the central locations. The St James is a magnificant building and the location couldnt be better. The lobby area and front desk is quite small, maybe not quite what you would expect for such a pricey and respected hotel.

We stayed in a classic room for one night which was fine. The room was a lot smaller than expected but then again rooms in central london generally are. If you are staying more than a couple of days you might feel uncomfortable. You also cannot see out of the windows unless standing on a chair as they are so high up so not a huge amount of natural light gets in to the room particulary well. But this is obviously not the fault of the hotel as it is a dated building.

Personally for what Sofitel charge for a nights stay you will probably expect more of a room than what you will actually get, but hey ho, thats London!

If money is no option, sure go ahead and stay here. If the cost does need to be somewhat controlled you WILL find just as good for cheaper at some other hotels in the area. Remember just because its expensive doesnt mean its great!!

In conclusion, a great hotel. But just remember you probably wont see £250-300 pounds worth of a hotel room for the night!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,093
    596
    121
    44
    22
See reviews for
936
1,664
262
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I stayed there for a week end with my girlfriend and I can only recommend it. The location is superb, you can easily walk everywhere and the rooms are top notch.

I really think the hotel is worth the extra price compared to others.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank totoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, UT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

My stay at the Sofitel, St. James was the highlight of my trip to London.
The room was so comfortable with quailty furnishings and a beautiful
marble bathroom. It was a terrific location, helpful staff and a quiet
perfect retreat.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I have stayed there for a business conference, and I have to say it's one of the most perfect hotel all-in-all. Rooms are clean, staff are (extra) friendly, and location is in central London.
2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilalhouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We stayed for six nights and enjoyed our stay very much. I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel as quiet as the Sofitel St James. No noise, period. Housekeeping was impeccable and prompt.
For the first time we didn't say "Oh its so nice to be back in our own bed and shower" because the shower has a mach 10 force and the bed was sublime.
The Hermes toilteries were devine.
We had the Sunday brunch and all I can say is to bring a huge appetite because there is a lot of food. And all of it excellent.
There was free internet and I used the computer in the business services often and even printed our boarding passes at no additional charge.
The flowers in the lobby are stunning. This is simply the best hotel we have stayed in when in London and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We stayed here with 2 young children.The service was exceptional, and location was fantastic. 2 min walk to trafalgar square and only short walk to Buckingham palace.
The hotel was quiet, and anything we needed was dealt with very quickly. They even left chocolate cake in the room for my son's birthday. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaguarMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Wow what a find! It's not really surprising considering the cost of the hotel- it did cost £220 per night (for a deluxe room which I think is slightly more expensive than the standard, but with a larger room) and we stayed for 2 nights. This was my Birthday treat and we don't do this kind of thing often! But how lovely to feel that for your money you're getting the first class service you would expect and all the little touches to make your stay special! I've stayed in £150 per night London hotels that have been far inferior, both in location and in quality to this one, and personally I would rather pay the extra for the experience we had! Sofitel St James is located at the end of Pall Mall and very close to Regent St, also just around the corner from Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery. It is back to back with Her Majesty's Theatre where The Phantom of the Opera is showing! So location wise, it just couldn't be better! Everything about the hotel is luxurious and classy, from the grand reception with it's floral displays and professional staff to the quality of it's sausages at breakfast! All the little touches are in place, from the umbrella in your bedroom to 'Rose Lounge' just off reception, equipped with bowls of rose pou pourri and vases of fresh roses so that the lounge really did smell of roses!! Our beds were turned down at night and slippers put by the bed for us and the service was second to none. Everything we touched was of the highest quality and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in! The breakfast was the best I have ever eaten. It will be a while before we next book such an exclusive hotel but I would recommend this to anyone willing to pay these prices who would like the perfect hotel in the perfect spot for sightseeing in London!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#25 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#48 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#49 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing