We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #24 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2009

The Sofitel St. James is fantastic.

My arrival was excellent - the staff was attentive, friendly, and professional - even though it was shortly after midnight when I arrived. My room was ready and waiting and included a nice arrival gift of chocolates and a bottle of still water.

My room was nicely sized by London standards. The bathroom had a very large tub and a great shower - a low volume nozzle with adjustable height and direction, and an overhead deluge that was great to just stand under and relax. The towels are hung on a heated bar.

Strangely, the room is dark despite numerous light fixtures. The desk area is comfortable and has a (free) wired internet connection. Small bottles of water were replaced daily.

As others have mentioned, the location is convenient to the National Gallery and other central London locations. The Piccadilly Circus Underground station is a quick two block walk away. Numerous restaurants are available. The breakfast in the hotel is quite good.

My rate included a picnic lunch which was delicious.

A touch of class was provided in the evening via a Pianist playing quietly on the balcony above the lobby.

My departure was just like my arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcmanke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,504 - 2,510 of 4,120 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2009

St. James is a great small elegant hotel with a lot of taste and excellent service. Definately has met our expectations to all levels. The restaurant maybe is a bit overpriced, but i wouldnt argue for the quality of the service and food. All in all a very tasteful hotel on a great location that reflects its prices.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrintScreenPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

The hotel staff definitely know how to deliver excellent customer service. They are attentive and helpful. The rooms were well appointed, absolutely clean, and very comfortable. The beds are very plush and roomy, and the rooms quiet, so sleeping was sound . This hotel is centrally located and most of the major tourist destinations are with walking distance. This is the best hotel experience I have had in London.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onelookn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We chose the Sofitel mainly for the location. It is close to so many London sights, including National Gallery and Buckingham Palace so we were able to walk to many places. Both the rooms (we had connecting rooms for our 2 kids) and the service were top notch. We ate at the hotel restaurant once for dinner, it was very good.
This was our first time staying at a Sofitel, but definitely not our last.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolynk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We have stayed at Sofitel many times and the service has always been exemplary. All staff are polite and housekeeping do an excellent job keeping rooms clean and dust free (my wife suffers from asthma). Our last stay was in a Prestige Suite which was spacious and contained a good range of technology, e.g. Internet TV, IPOD docking station. Room service is quick and the quality of food is very high. While the hotel can be expensive some good deals can be found by prepaying in advance. We throughly recommend a stay at the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllyPotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stayed at the Sofitel Saint James for 3 days before embarking on the Queen Mary 2 for our 20th anniversary. We had a blast and the French touches made it a very romantic stay. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable with great ammenities (Hermes products in the bathrooms). The service was excellent, polite, capable and always determined to please you and address your requests. It is also the perfect location to visit the city and discover London, only minutes from Buckingham Palace, Covent garden, Soho, Picadilly Circus, Saint james park and the London theater district. Brasserie Roux is a wonderful place for lunch or dinner. The newly open SPA is incredible and a peace haven after a busy day. Little known in the city they also offer afternoon tea in a lovely tea salon, where you can discover the most beautiful and delicate blossoming teas you have ever imagined while listening to enchanting music of the harp. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Loved this hotel very comfortable immaculate rooms would highly recommend this one!! although did book it as a present from relatives so may be quite expensive!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janis17656harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,076 in London
820 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,076 in London
1,184 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,932 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#53 of 1,076 in London
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £279 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing