We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, relatively good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #28 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location, relatively good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

two blocks south of picaddily circle. easy access to tube station. pleasant rooms and service, and (for London) relatively reasonable room rates.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank platinummedallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,022
    588
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
911
1,635
257
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

I stayed at the sofitel on waterloo place with my girlfriend for 4 nights at the end of september 2009. Our room was very comfortable, quiet and clean with everything you could possibly need. The breakfast was excellent especially the buttermilk pancakes served with chocolate sauce and maple syrup. The staff were very helpful and courteous but not obtrusive. The location of the hotel is ideal for seeing all the sights on foot as well easy access to good restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl_in_Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Va
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms are big enough, well equipped, the bathroom was very roomy. The tub was a bit high -- i can see how someone older might have a problem stepping out of it. the rooms were very clean, turn down service at night. The hotel staff was extremely friendly. We stayed here for 5 days. I really liked the bar and the drinks were great. Free internet in the business center as well. I think the money was well spent.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenandTomandMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Our rating for this Hotel is quite unfortunate, simply because it could easily have been a very good one.

After a great day out in London my wife and I walked into the Hotel bar to sit down and have a drink. But on arrival the male bartender just stare intensely and unfriendly at us and did not return the good evening greeting. After being seated by a very friendly waiter the bartender picked up 2 menu cards and came aggressively walking towards our table and handed over the menu card without saying a word. When he gave the menu card to my wife he did not say anything either but just made a unpleasant theatrical performance to her.

It was extraordinary to experience such behaviour, because everything else about our stay was very good and the other Hotel (and bar) staff was genuine friendly and professional.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mataranka_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

My parents and I were visiting London and Paris for their first time in celebration of my mothers birthday. We'd spent 4 wonderful nights at the Sofitel St. James London and encountered the General Manager as we departed. .
My father mentioned to the General Manger at the St. James this excursion was part of a birthday celebration and that we'd be heading to their affiliate hotel in Paris.

When we arrived at Hotel Scribe in Paris, my mother was greeted with complimentary flowers, pastries and a bottle of champagne in celebration of her birthday. The hotel General Manager at the Scribe explained the GM at the St. James had contacted them on her behalf. thank you so much, this made the birthday and the overall experience quite memorable. This type of courtesy and generosity is seldom seen in todays economy, when In London and or Paris we will definitely stay at the Sofitel St. James and the Hotel Scribe.

a very satisfied guest,

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodney9663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

Service was excellent and that's what matters when you're staying at this class of hotel. 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naisarg73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for six nights. The hotel staff is attentive, the rooms are large, and the locations is central for attractions, restaurants, and nightlife. The rooms were cleaned twice a day, and all of the amenities of home were provided....including slippers. My husband loved the internet service in the room. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotmommyoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#22 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#40 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#11 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing