We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8/10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #24 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“8/10”
Reviewed 27 November 2009

I struggled to find a top quality hotel in London for my honeymoon night as everywhere seemed to be booked up or the hotels were ridiculously priced at over £500. Having only previously stayed in one top central London hotel a few years ago, which was Swissotel, The Howard on the Embankment, that would prove to be the benchmark for this hotel stay. I paid £320 in 2004 for a top quality room at Swissotel, overlooking the river with a separate living room area and had a massive bathroom. So paying £500+ for a 5* Luxury Hotel in London seemed pretty silly, seeing as they were only standard rooms, offered no breakfast and the rooms looked tiny on the photos.

In the end, I decided to go through last minute.com secret hotel option and coincidentally Sofitel was selected with its luxury rooms. I was quite happy with my luck as the day before I rang Sofitel directly who told me they all luxury rooms were fully booked for my dates but when I rang them back to confirm my reservation the day after, they said that they had had a last minute cancellation............hmmm!

Anyways, I told them it was a special occasion and when we arrived, the receptionist had informed me that we had been upgraded to a junior suite to the delight of me and my wife.
We were taken upstairs and shown the room where there was also champagne on ice and a letter from the management, welcoming us......when I say letter, i mean compliment slip but it is the thought that counts.

The room and bathroom was smaller than I thought it would be for a Junior Suite. What would a luxury room be like I wonder?

Toiletries were Hermes which were brilliant and so was the rain shower too. The bed was incredibly soft and just as those other reviews have described it to be.
We ordered room service, which was again, as expected, overpriced - club sandwich was £16 + service charge but it was very delicious almost justifying its price tag.

As we stayed one night, we said no to breakfast option....I know you're thinking "it's this guy's wedding night...what a cheapo" but then you would think again for £26 per person for breakfast......Starbucks does just the same job only for £3 a pop and there's about 500 in central London.

Sofitel did the simple things well: staff were friendly and helpful, room was exceptionally clean, bed was brilliant and so was the food. However, it begs belief that top central London hotels cost this much and I hate to think what tourists think of the prices when they choose to book. I guess less is more, especially for these hotels bang in central London.

Yes the hotel is bang in the central of London, just a minutes walk from Piccadilly but yet £450+ for a room (remember I had booked a luxury room and got a free upgrade) is astronomical - I don't think my stay would have been as good if I was given a smaller, luxury room.

However, you get what you pay for; there is no question this is a top quality hotel in terms of the service you receive, the food and the cleanliness of the rooms but the rooms are not just big enough so don't expect too much on the basic accommodation options.

I have come to the conclusion that the large proportion of what you pay for is the location. This is why everything is so damn expensive at this place but yet you should not have anything to complain about while you're there as you will be treated so kindly and made to feel so welcome.

Would not stay there again though as I think there are a better hotels, which offer you better room space and luxury for your money.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajbabyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,171
    600
    122
    45
    23
See reviews for
961
1,697
266
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Stayed at the Stylish Sofitel St James on a Saturday night, From the moment we walked into the hotel, greeted by Pauline till we checked out we were treated soooo well. The location is fab, our room a standard dbl was lovely, warm, comfortable and spotless. Everyone should experience sleeping in a Sofitel bed, you will want to buy one.I had a slight problem using the in room interenet as im not very technical and nothing was too much trouble for Oliver the consierge, who spent half an hour on a busy Saturday night making sure I knew how the use it. Thanks Oliver. I highly recommend this hotel could not fault it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

There is no doubt that the Hotel is very good,despite the fact that some staff hardly speak any English,originating most of them in France or Eastern Europe.
However,with all the unreasonable praise they get here,in two years they increased their rates x4.
Chesterfield in Mayfair is far superior,at half the price
Thanks

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nonos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Last month we went to London and spend a great weekend. We were lodged at the Sofitel London St James. We have stayed at other fine Sofitels in Paris and Marseille, but the St James was the best. With a perfect location near theaters, shops and good restaurants, the Sofitel at the heart of London offers great service and very fine rooms. We will certainly go return to this true luxury hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel London St. James for 4 nights the end of September 2009. We reserved the classic room, but were upgraded to a somewhat larger room. We were in room 526. We loved the location of the hotel - perfect for walking to restaurants, the subway and right in the middle of all the wonderful sights of London. The lobby was beautiful, and the spacious room was luxurious and decorated in subdued colors. The bed and linens were so comfortable. Bathrobes, a daily newspaper, a bathroom mirror that does not steam up and treats in the room were nice amenities. It was very relaxing. We did not try the restaurant since it seemed too expensive, and had a perfect breakfast at Apostrophe just a block away down the street. The hotel is right across from the tourist information center, which was also a nice convenience. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expense
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PamMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

The Sofitel St James is located at the crossing between Regent Street and Pall Mall, ideal for business and leisure. I have stayed there more than in any other hotel in London and absolutely love it.
The hotel is set in a beautiful 19th century building, with a double height entrance hall. The reception gives an impression of grandeur, especially around 6pm when the piano is played on the mezzanine and the bar on the far right is buzzing with activity – don’t miss the excellent cocktails. The hotel also has a pink tearoom that the ladies will adore, a recently refurbished gym, sauna and hammam and a restaurant (I have only tried room service, and the quality is good).
The rooms are quiet and spacious (even the smallest rooms have space for a double bed, a desk, a shower/bath and a flat screen TV), elegantly decorated in dark/grey tones, and often feature a « reading corner » with a comfortable armchair, side table and lamp. There is ample space in the cupboards to store all the luggage and clothing away. Finally, rooms have been recently upgraded with Yamaha ipod docking stations/radio which is really great.
But what makes the big difference is the hotel staff attention to detail and willingness to please: they remember your preferences, will bring you your selected choice of newspapers in the morning (even if you don’t have breakfast or room service there), find you a table in whatever fancy restaurant you want to try (and help you with good alternatives if they can’t get a table), and make the extra effort for a particular event.
In my last visit, I brought my wife to London for her 35th birthday – the hotel gave us a great upgrade (at least 2 room types up from the one I had booked), and every evening they had prepared a little surprise for us (I remember fondly the divine chocolate birthday cakes the evening we arrived).
All this at a very reasonable price: from experience, this quality costs 30-50% more in other London hotels. I actually found the Sofitel better than the Mandarin or any Hilton in town.

In one word, don’t miss it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JackfromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

This is one the few "proper" 5 star hotels in London. The location is great - right at the bottom of Regent Street. Inside the staff are excellent and rooms are big for London with everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Prices do reflect that but if you have the money then you should stay here!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank battirider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,068 in London
790 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,068 in London
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,711 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,068 in London
3,012 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#42 of 1,068 in London
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing