We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #27 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This was the fourth hotel I've stayed at in London in two years and by far the best. Try to book online because the rates are better than those you get from the hotel direct. The location is perfect. Two minutes from both Trafalgar Square and Piccadilly Circus and with most sights no more than by 15 minutes away by foot. More significantly, the hotel is very quiet for the location. Superior rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean. My son's room did have noise from the air conditioning vents outside but it was nowhere near as intrusive as at other hotels we've visited. We arrived early but our rooms were already available. The bar is a little small for a hotel of this size and getting a seat at busy times could be a problem. The waiting on staff in both the bar and restaurant were friendly and efficient. It was never a problem getting their service, even at busy times. As with most hotels of this standard it is expensive but overall you get value for money. Anyone looking to limit expense can avoid the cost of (the enjoyable) breakfast and choise to go elsewhere for drinks

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acontributor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,216
    608
    123
    45
    24
See reviews for
979
1,719
271
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Grove
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I'm a AClub Platinum member and used the Accor reservations system to book my reservations to assure that I received the Platinum benefits. I had to call back three times to get the reservations straighten out.

Upon arrival our room was not ready and we received no accomodation whatsoever . The front desk staff had a "not to be bothered" attitude. Our room was finally ready 4 hours after arrival.

The hotel itself is nice and as many have pointed out has a great location.

Finally on our last day we did get a few nice things left on our room but overall the hotel didn't recognize what I was entitled to as an elite status member of their loyalty program.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrackFast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

It was such a pleasure to spend an evening surrounded by such elegance. The restaurant was booked to celebrate a special birthday with friends and it was extremely enjoyable, good service, good food etc. but the only thing wrong was, whilst we had detailed information regarding the sourcing of the food, when it was served to us, both starter and main courses were just barely warm and by the time I took the last mouthful of the main meat course, it was cold. We were guests of friends, and whilst I did make a comment at the end, I didn't want to make any more of it but I do hope the hotel will take note. It would not stop us going back as it was a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank VulcanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed here at the end of a trip to Denmark and Norway on our 8th trip to London. I can only echo the other reviews and say our stay was superb from beginning to end. It started when we walked through the door long before official check-in time, and staff apologized to us because our room would not be ready for 15 minutes. They made sure we waited in comfort, to the point of treating us to coffee and tea. When we were waiting to speak to the concierge, another staff member rushed over to see if she could help so we would not need to wait. Everyone staying there remarked on the quality of the service.
Our room was a basic room booked at a really good rate on the internet. It was lovely, with every comfort. You felt as if you were in a cocoon with no noise from any direction. We had the picnic package, but weren't sure what that meant. The first night we were there we got a call from room service to arrange our free picnic. I was shocked when I looked at the room service menu and saw it cost 95 British pounds, and included foie gras and a bottle of wine. Again, they thought of everything, with a picnic hamper and a blanket to spread on the ground. There was enough food for 6, and we returned some items so as not to waste.
The location was ideal, handy to everything, 5 minuted from Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, and Leicester Square. We didn't have breakfast included, but there are a number of places nearby. However, we ended. up eating at the Pret a Manger just north of the hotel every morning as it was quite good. (That is one chain that has vastly improved since we first started traveling to London!) For Canadians, we found a Tim Horton's nearby on our last night, at the SPAR one block over on Haymarket. We had dinner one night pre-theatre at a Lebanese restaurant just north of the hotel and just south of Piccadilly on Regent Street. that was very good. We took a day trip to Cambridge, where took a 2-hour walking tour of Queens and Kings Colleges offered by the Tourist Information Centre, and really enjoyed it as the guide was great. They are offering a tour of the Parker Library once a week, but it was full th day we went, so book in advance if you would enjoy that. I also wanted some British children's books for toddlers for our granddaughter, and had been disappointed by the selection at the bookstores we went to in London. There was a great bookstore in Cambridge on King's Parade where i was able to find just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Service Brilliant, Rooms stylish and of top quality, Food excellent, everything you require from a hotel and more! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This hotel was absolutely awesome. From the minute the doorman opened the door to the taxi, we knew we were somewhere special. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The room was absolutely superb, boasting a towel warmer, ipod speakers, great TV, electronic safe, a huge bath tub and shower system, free wi-fi, robes, slippers, and turn down service at night. It was absolutely amazing to be in such a great city with such great service. Anything we needed was always just a call away from the front desk and the fitness center was very nice too. It was nice to have a place to get on the computer and print things out without getting charged to print off boarding passes. We had a very early departure but everything was so smooth: our taxi was already waiting and muffins as well as coffee and juice were given to us upon departing. It was one of the best places we have stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frecklez101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vatican City, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

excellent location * though it has some minuses normally associated with big hotels, pluses are more * very helpful service, especially the concierge Oliver * everybody working there actually knows what to do, big bravo for the whole team and for the management to pick such skilfull people * good design * good breakfast
we had rooms with windows to the rear, which were probably the worst in the whole hotel, but i can easily imagine other rooms are perfect

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,069 in London
795 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,069 in London
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,786 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#45 of 1,069 in London
1,251 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#52 of 1,069 in London
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing