We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value but can't envisage the market”
Review of The Z Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Z Hotel Soho
Ranked #369 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a bright and imaginative new venture with an enthusiastic staff team. However, the high-concept design would not be to everyone's taste and lacks attention to detail. The rooms are so cramped that it is hard to imagine who would really want to use them except maybe a theatre-goer looking for a crash pad. The rooms are well designed but the bed and the large TV screen take up virtually all the available space. There is no storage for clothes beyond a row of hooks and a couple of coat hangers. Although there is free wi-fi - why should I have to think this is worth commenting on - there is nothing that would serve as a desk at which work could be done on a business trip. The ensuite is a glass box. Travelling solo this is fine but the opaque zone is quite restricted and anyone sharing a room might find out more about their partner's bathroom habits than they would ever have wanted to know. Moreover, it is a wet room which,like every wet room I have met in a UK hotel, floods. However there is very little off-floor space to put anything and no rails or hooks for wet towels - once they are used, where do they go to dry off at all? There are obviously some long pipe runs so the showers can be slow to warm up. Cleanliness was OK but I wasn't impressed by the bin in the bathroom not having been emptied from the last guest. This is also another new hotel where nobody has thought about the usability of the lighting in the bathroom for shaving - or, I suppose, make-up. It's dimly lit from the top and quite useless for either purpose. The street-side rooms are noisy from the square and the adjacent theatre - the double glazing is not adequate to reduce this to an acceptable level. The TV screen is vast but you have to play hunt-the-input-device, which is like a large black slug somewhere in the room but not necessarily anywhere near the TV - I had to point the remote back over my head to change the channels. The night I was there, the house phones had failed, which I would consider a bit of a safety issue but nobody had thought to warn guests that they wouldn't be able to call reception in an emergency. There is a really nice 24-hour cafe on the ground floor - not cheap but good quality. I paid a working-in price, which was fair enough because there were still things being sorted out. In general, though, I think there is better value to be had in the London market by going a few stops out along the tube line to Euston, Paddington or the City fringe. I wouldn't not use this place again but I would have to be very tempted by the price and have a pressing need to be in the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the Charing Cross Road
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,684)
There are newer reviews for The Z Hotel Soho
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

What a find this was. Small rooms, small price, great location and friendly staff. Enough said.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Well we had a double bedroom for one night thank god! When we walk into the room it was a case of me & my husband to be like a roundabout to get passed each other, as for the bed this was too closed to the shower right at the bottom of our bed.... Its seems when this refurb had been done they made everything fit into this small space.
Yeah the room lookes nice but the lay out was no good at all. As for the noise yeah we expected that but never again.
They need to change a double to a single it would work so much more.

Room Tip: If you just want to crash after drinking all night then fine becuse you wont get much sleep if you...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stallion2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed for one night following an evening at the theatre. Our inside room was really tiny, but contained a very comfortable bed, clean and fully functioning shower and toilet. To be sure, if we were staying for any length of time I would not choose this hotel. It is cramped and there was a complete lack of storage. But for one overnight, arriving at 11pm and leaving at 8am it's hard to fault and very good value for this location and the standard of facilities. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. We did not experience any of the teething problems others refer to. Having an inside room with no window takes some getting used to, but this did ensure a very quiet and undisturbed night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The title probably says it all but I'll expand on it a little. We stayed for one night in December to see a show in the Shaftsbury Theatre. It was litterally a five minute walk, even with my wife in 4" heels which can slow us down a bit sometimes and Leicester square, covent garden, Oxford Street, Regent Street etc all within easy walking distance.

It was my wifes birthday and literally everyone seemed to know and wished her happy birthday, we were given a free glass of champange before we left for the theatre and in the morning she was was offered a free cake with her breakfast but she'd already filled up on a loveley egg and bacon roll ! The Room was very small but everything was immaculate perfectly adequate for our short stay. It was a very new room and we may have been the first guests to stay in it so there was a minor issue with the shower leaking into the room which to be fair didn't effect us but did mean they had a lot of wet towells to clean up after we mopped up. I'm sure it will be fixed already. If I had one negative thing to say about the hotel is that it is very very hot, almost uncomfortably so, but thats much better than being too cold so I shouldn't complain.

We will definately use this hotel again on our next trip into central London.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

First and foremost, this hotel is in the perfect central London location. Two minute stroll from Leicester Square Tube station and walking distance to so many iconic tourist attractions (which can save on the surprisingly expensive Tube ticket prices!). As for the hotel, well, I want to be able to give it a 5 star review but due to our personal experience in early January this wasn't possible.

I appreciate that this is a brand new hotel and that a lot of the issues we had are 'teething problems' but during our stay, the standard of the rooms simply wasn't up to scratch. We paid for a queen sized room and although small, was perfectly adequate for a two-day stay. We were surprised by the proximity of the bathroom to the room (one end sectioned off by glass walls) but this modular design is part of the reason why the rates are so reasonable and so is fair enough. However, the frosted glass doors are actually almost transparent so potential for embarrassment is rife - you need to be pretty comfortable with your travel companion! The wet-room design certainly looks appealing but was in fact hopeless - when showering late on our first night the entire bathroom became inch-deep in water that then failed to drain away. After going down to reception (phone in room didn't work??) they provided us with lots of towels to soak up the water and offered to move us the following day. And they did. This time to a room which had a new floor fitted in the bathroom to allow for drainage. However, said new floor meant that the door no longer slid shut, so we actually had to use the toilet with the door wide open! The heating didn't work in this room and neither did the phone again (which was a little unnerving as we were on the 4th floor and it was a long way to reception in case of an emergency. As another reviewer pointed out, it iPhone/iPad charger was hanging on a short cord half way up a wall so impossible to use. It was late on our second day when we got into this room and really we should have complained again but we were tired and going out in the evening and didn't want our trip to be mired by complaining.

I have to say that throughout, the staff were very helpful, polite and apologetic, working at the coalface of a hotel that clearly has issues that are beyond the house staff's control (poor design/building work?). The hotel would be perfect and we would happily return if the owners re-assessed the room functionality and addressed all of the problems that turned what potentially could have been a pleasant stay into a rather uncomfortable one.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the less you notice street traffic - check bathroom drainage before unpacking.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ab36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My partner and I spent a Friday night at the Z in mid-December. The concept of the hotel is fine, if location and price are your top priorities, and if all you really want to do in your room is sleep.

Our room really was tiny; the (very comfortable) bed was built into three of the walls, leaving a small standing area between the bed and the bathroom. Suitcase storage was under the bed, and hanging space was restricted to two coat hangers on a hook, attached to the back of the main door. At the foot of the bed, a super-sized flat-screen TV was built into the wall. There was a UK plug socket, a continental plug socket and a built-in iPhone/iPod charger... but weirdly, and in our experience uniquely, there was no shaver socket, so do make sure your razor is fully charged! (We had failed to do this, so stubble was the order of the day on Saturday.) There was a hairdryer and tea/coffee equipment, which took up much of the space on the very small bedside table.

This was not a room to hang out in for any length of time, unless you're happy just lying on/in the bed and watching TV. But if you're simply looking for a well-priced bolt-hole between Soho and Covent Garden, then it did the job.

The room was internal within the building, so there was no noise from the street whatsoever, although I'd imagine this could well be an issue with other rooms. A small frosted bathroom window overlooked a strange area in the centre of the building, which was semi-al fresco, and looked as if it could be used as a bar in warmer months.

Lack of shaver socket aside, my one big criticism would be the design of the bathroom, which didn't allow water to drain effectively from the shower area. Instead, water from the shower flooded the whole bathroom, right up to the toilet and the wash basin. Not just a minor trickle, but a serious soaking.

The staff seemed pleasant, there was - amazingly! - room to stash our cases with reception for a few hours after checkout, and there was a small bar and a larger cafe downstairs, neither of which we used. (Soho isn't exactly short on breakfast cafes, so we didn't feel the need to hang around.)

The standard of decor inside the room and in the rest of the hotel was high: sleek and contemporary. On the whole, they've made very clever use of the space.

I would probably return, if I was in London for a night out. My partner was a good deal less certain, though...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike-TD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#173 of 1,072 in London
1,183 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#634 of 1,072 in London
155 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,072 in London
2,260 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#140 of 1,072 in London
640 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Soho

Address: 17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £95 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Z Hotel Soho 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel Soho has everything you need for a couple of nights in town. Concentrated style, an out-of-town price and the West End – at your feet the moment you step out the door. No off-central, tourist hotels for you.Space is unimportant. How you use it is vital. You step into your Z Room, and suddenly the price makes perfect sense. You’re staying in central Soho, where space is at a premium. But you’re not paying a premium. We have rooms start from 8 to 14 square meters of compact luxury.Z Soho is a designer conversion of twelve Georgian townhouses. From the outside you see classic architectural proportions, combined with contemporary style. Inside, you find 85 rooms gathered around a central courtyard. And it places you in Moor Street, between the theatre and bookshops of Cambridge Circus and Charing Cross Road – and the vivid cosmos of Old Compton Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Agoda, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing