We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small - but perfectly formed”
Review of The Z Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Z Hotel Soho
Ranked #351 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GB
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small - but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I read the reviews and have stayed in similar Urban hotel so the room size was neither a surprise or an issue. You have to accept this. However compared to similar hotels (M) I found the location, service, hospitality and overall enthusiam of the staff a huge huge plus! The hotel is modern yet quaint and the views to the back and from the roof are worthwhile. All this and complimentary cheese and wine. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAdamFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    684
    207
    92
    51
See reviews for
88
748
217
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

I knew the room was going to be small, but I wasn't quite prepared for HOW small. Some wardrobes are bigger. They are not rooms to relax in, or to stay in for more than one night, and are better if there's only one of you in there as there's no room to get ready and there's no privacy if you're on the loo etc! Plus the aircon isn't powerful enough and our room was stifling even though it was at best 17 degrees outside. The windows aren't double glazed either so it can get quite noisy.

Having said all that, there was a certain cosy charm to the rooms once we got used to it, and I would stay again, but maybe only in the Queen sized room. The iPod charger in every room is a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Great location and good value compared to London hotels, very clean, mostly helpful and pleasant staff. Rooms well appointed and well insulated against noise but very small; their website is up front about this, so they don't try to mislead you. But if you want to spread out, or have a lot of luggage, this is not for you. BUT the showers all flood, there's nowhere to hang your damp towel or wet coat. My room flooded on the second day (from the air conditioning in the room above) and they have refused to reduce my bill for that night. They don't agree that they should do and I had a row with the manager. They shouldn't be allowed to get away with this. They offered me a free breakfast which is scant recompense for a flooded room and I am not going to stay again. It's an insult to get offered a free breakfast when this has happened.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HilaryMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

If you are looking to experience London and want to stay central the Z Hotel Soho is the right choice. Fantastic location in the heart of Soho, bars, restaurants, theatres and shopping. The hotel is quite unique with a small court yard on the first floor. The rooms are build around the court yard and on the top floors offer some amazing views onto London. Some of the rooms can be very small, but comfortable. Breakfast is served downstairs in the bar and enough.

Room Tip: Check out the size of the room before you take it. Some rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tirol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

have just stayed at the z hotel in Soho. Location, right on Cambridge Circus was perfect. Z hotel is nestled into a wedge of space, cleverly designed to maximise what is available around them.
Modern, clean, and very friendly staff, with great added touches like free wine and cheese between 5pm an 9 pm, which was very unexpected and much appreciated!!
Our room 402 was extremely compact, but as we just wanted a base for the night, it didn't matter. Getting ready required a bit of ingenuity, but i am sure there were other rooms with a bit more elbow room. One big plus for us, was that it was quiet. Unlike many london hotels, we experienced no emptying of bins in the early hours!
Breakfast - equally as good, and providing all what we needed, and bags could be left for collection later in the day. Would be happy to return.

Room Tip: check where your room is situated - facing out onto road, or in courtyard, which would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greystones, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

There's very little not to like about the Z Hotel, but you need to know what you've booked and it clearly doesn't suit all guests.

This is a "pod" hotel. The rooms are compact, this is the whole point. If you want a huge room in which to spread out and lay your stuff out all over the room, this is NOT for you. If you want a high quality room and don't need space to sprawl then this is perfect.

The hotel is located adjacent to the Strand Theatre, two minutes walk from Leicester Square tube, which means you can get the tube from Heathrow airport directly, if you wish. It also means it's perfectly located for Theatreland, the west-end, chinatown and the shopping of Oxford Street and Regent Street. A lot of sightseeing can be done on foot from here if you're so inclined too. Trafalgar Sq is less than five mins walk away, for example.

On arrival, there is a bar just inside the door and this can lead to confusion as many guests just arriving (myself included) mistake it for the reception desk! The whole ground floor has the feeling that you're just in a long corridor, and for all intents and purposes this is precisely what it is, bar the cafe at the end. Having been directed to the actual reception desk, the check-in is quick, efficient and very friendly. When my colleague and I arrived (work trip) we were invited to have a freshly made iced tea or a complimentary glass of wine and some cheese in the cafe, which we did once we'd dropped our bags into our rooms and freshened up a bit.

My room was on the first floor and is accessed through a well furnished courtyard. I'm told that when the weather is good, the aforementioned iced tea, wine and cheese is offered here instead. As it turns out, the weather for my stay was typical July in London and it poured rain the whole time. Apt so that the show in the Strand is "Singin' in the Rain"!

The room itself is tiny, as expected. The floor is a high quality laminate (presumably for ease of cleaning) and everything in the room screams quality. on the wall there are three hooks and hangers which serve as your wardrobe and next to this is a HD LCD TV with Sky TV offered, so there's a decent selection of channels. As my room was a single, I wasn't expecting a big bed, but there was a standard double (4'6") and it was extremely comfortable, firm but not solid, with a lovely duvet and plump pillows. Under the bed is a space to put your bag, so unless you really like living out of a suitcase, this is why it's only really suitable for a night or two. At the end of the bed was a smoked glass wall, which separated the room from the wet-room, in which is your toilet, sink and an excellent shower. The complimentary toiletries are by Thierry Mugler, no less!

The breakfast offered is included in some rates, but not all. If you have the option not to pay for it, then don't because this is where the hotel loses a point. It's probably the worst coffee I've ever tasted and the selection of pastries, cold meats and cheeses is just okay. It was a shame as it was the only let-down. There's much better value to be had in one or two of the excellent patisseries on the walk between the hotel and Leicester Sq tube.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the first floor are ideal because of the courtyard which leads to most of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedragon32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews stating the rooms were small, I thought to myself how small is small I'm only goimg to be there for 2 nights, WOW small is very small - great for a one night stop over only ! No ideal place to put your clothes apart from coat hooks with hangers on, so I had to keep them in my suitcase which took up more room, no towel rail

Having said all of the above
Very clean
Staff greats
Location superb
Huge flat screen with full sky listings

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PaulRVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#181 of 1,068 in London
1,143 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#652 of 1,068 in London
129 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,068 in London
2,195 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#165 of 1,068 in London
627 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#99 of 1,068 in London
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Soho

Property: The Z Hotel Soho
Address: 17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Z Hotel Soho 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel Soho has everything you need for a couple of nights in town. Concentrated style, an out-of-town price and the West End – at your feet the moment you step out the door. No off-central, tourist hotels for you.Space is unimportant. How you use it is vital. You step into your Z Room, and suddenly the price makes perfect sense. You’re staying in central Soho, where space is at a premium. But you’re not paying a premium. We have rooms start from 8 to 14 square meters of compact luxury.Z Soho is a designer conversion of twelve Georgian townhouses. From the outside you see classic architectural proportions, combined with contemporary style. Inside, you find 85 rooms gathered around a central courtyard. And it places you in Moor Street, between the theatre and bookshops of Cambridge Circus and Charing Cross Road – and the vivid cosmos of Old Compton Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing