We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking, not bad at all”
Review of The Z Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Z Hotel Soho
Ranked #369 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here as a last minute booking and only for one night. Reception staff were very happy and the checking in process very efficient.

I wanted to stay in and take advantage of the free cheese and wine (!!!!) between 5 and 8pm as the people in the restaurant area all looked fairly happy with what they had - however we went out to eat as the location of this place is right in the middle of everything.

Room wise, this hotel has a very unique offering, I knew what to expect so wasn't put off but you do not get much space at all. What space you do have though is well laid out and very functional. The bed was comfortable and the shower hot.

The great location does mean that the noise from outside continues until the early hours and I had a room which faced this. After a fairly unsettled night the breakfast was a pleasant offering, the staff at this place are all really happy it seems.

Same efficient check out process and I was on my way - I'd go back for sure, the price for the location was superb and aside from what might have been an unlucky room choice, the stay was good.

Room Tip: A room not on Charing Cross Road might be a bit quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinPhilips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,684)
There are newer reviews for The Z Hotel Soho
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Booked a last minute deal for a friday night in March.
The Z Hotel is located in a superb location on the edge of Soho and just a few minutes walk from Leicester Square station.
I really just needed a base for the night and wasn't too concerned with the quality of the accommodation but pleasantly surprised by the Z hotel and would highly recommend.
The rooms are very small and no door to the bathroom but as a single traveller this wasn't an issue for me. Also not too good for the claustrophobics as a very small window in the room.
However, the bed was extremely comfortable. The room was stylish and it more than suited my needs.
The complimentary cheese, wine and biscuits was fantastic. £17.50 to non residents!!!
The staff were extremely attentive and very welcoming. Even supplying chocolate cake at midnight...thank you!!!
Would highly recommend this hotel for location and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Perfectly located for our needs. We had been expecting the rooms to be on the small side as we had read previous reviews and because of this chose to opt for the larger room size,we were still slightly surprised by its compactness. The frosted glass partition to the bathroom area ( at the end of the bed) looked good but did leave something to be desired with regards to privacy. Having said that it was smart, clean and had everything we needed. The complimentary cheese and wine was excellent - a nice touch. Staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdctew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights at this pleasant hotel in a fantastic location. You can literally stumble out of the door and you're in the heart of theatre land.
Perfect location and no noise to disturb us, as we stayed in one of the inside doubles. It was quite warm on the first night, however, once we got the hang of the air conditioning and opened the tiny inside window to the corridor, it was much more comfortable.
Great value when you consider how many attractions are literally on your doorstep.
Please be aware that despite the frosted glass, you can still see through to the bathroom area and particularly if someone is sitting on the toilet, so make sure you're very comfortable with your travelling companion! Overall great stay and worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki832014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Was our second time staying at the hotel, absolutely loved it the first time and didn't disappoint the second.
Staff members were very kind and very helpful!
Stayed in a double room the first time was very very modern with comfortable colours, every channel on sky+HD for free, walk in shower and toilet. Only thing was a little cramped but like a mentioned very comfortable.

Second time we stayed we had a queen room was also very nice! And very comfy! Had 2 windows this time and a flat screen with all sky+HD again. Also had cheese and wine for free in the evening, very good to get your self ready to have a browse at londons night life.

There was some construction going on at the hotel as we was there the second time but we was assured that they wouldnt be going off when resting and to be fair we didn't hear a peep. Could of been to the fact that the room was completely sound proof haha.

Would highly recommend this hotel if staying in the area!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent, staff is nice, the cheese and wine offered between 5PM and 7PM is nice.
Several bad points
- The room is very noisy ! Window on the street, you have noise of people partying, screaming, cars up to 3 AM. I had the choice between a large window or very small window, I didn't expect to have a noisy room choosing large window. Hope there is calmer room
- The bed is right in front of the window and takes all the width of the room, there is a draft throught the window
- The room is very small ! No place at all to move, impossible to sit on the desk, no place to put the luggage except behind the door.
- There is no phone in the rooms

Even if the design of the room is nice, the bad points spoil the average good points, I wouldn't experience it again

Room Tip: Insist to have a room with window not facing the street
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johan_WALTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a small hotel in the heart of Soho, just minutes walk from Coventry Garden, Picadilly Circus and Trafalgar Square as well as countless bars, restaurants and theaters.

I was there for week and had a terrific time. Upon arrival I was upgraded to a flat-style room because I pre-paid through Booking.com. The flat had a kitchen, with stove, sink and refrigerator and clothes washer/dryer combo. It was brand new and very nice. My only complaint would be the odd way the flat was decorated with almost no shelving in the bathroom for towels or toiletries.

The staff was terrific: attentive and friendly. Cheers to Andre, Hegi and Ricardo who made my stay especially memorable.

There was a complimentary cheese and wine event from 5-8 PM for guests and an English breakfast in the morning for £9. We had the breakfast one time, but with restaurants within feet of the hotel, I wanted to try something different each day.

I would highly recommend this hotel, it had everything you need and the price (at least on Booking.com) was hundreds of dollars less than other hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#173 of 1,072 in London
1,183 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#634 of 1,072 in London
155 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,072 in London
2,260 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#140 of 1,072 in London
640 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Soho

Address: 17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £95 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Z Hotel Soho 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel Soho has everything you need for a couple of nights in town. Concentrated style, an out-of-town price and the West End – at your feet the moment you step out the door. No off-central, tourist hotels for you.Space is unimportant. How you use it is vital. You step into your Z Room, and suddenly the price makes perfect sense. You’re staying in central Soho, where space is at a premium. But you’re not paying a premium. We have rooms start from 8 to 14 square meters of compact luxury.Z Soho is a designer conversion of twelve Georgian townhouses. From the outside you see classic architectural proportions, combined with contemporary style. Inside, you find 85 rooms gathered around a central courtyard. And it places you in Moor Street, between the theatre and bookshops of Cambridge Circus and Charing Cross Road – and the vivid cosmos of Old Compton Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing