We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting.......”
Review of The Z Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Z Hotel Soho
Ranked #352 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“interesting.......”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

So long as you don't value space, or privacy too much, its great.
We use the room to sleep and shower only. Too much to do locally to spend time in hotel.
Yes the rooms are small, but well appointed, clean and modern.
The hotel offers free cheese and wine from 6pm to 7, which is very nouvelle, and welcome.
Location is brilliant for exploring the nightlife.
probably not too good if you have children with you.

Room Tip: some rooms have no window, which ensures low noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulmusikman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    684
    207
    93
    51
See reviews for
89
748
218
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Having stayed in some pretty spectacular Hotels around the World, this hotel is up there with the best. It does what it says on the tin. It couldn't be in a better, more central site in London, the staff are unbelievably friendly and couldn't have done more for us during our 4 night stay.
Breakfast is perfect - fresh, good quality food - not the Full English, but who wants that 5 days on the trot. The cheese and wine on an evening is unbelievable and would suffice as a meal for many. Our kids were treated to Hot Chocolates and smarties whilst Mum and Dad had wine and cheese, and were made to feel totally at ease by the amazing staff.
Just an example - my son bought a remote control car from Harrods and was desperate to play with it, but it needed a screw driver to fit the batteries - unfortunately that evening the only one in the hotel was too big, but by breakfast the next morning, the staff had provided us with a set of small screw drivers - you wouldn't get that at many hotels in my experience. The personal touch and smiley faces were always visible.
We had a flat / apartment which was comfortably furnished and served a family of four very well. The bedding, beds and towels were excellent quality with fresh bottled water, soap and toiletries every day.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again in the future (and our kids (4 and 6) would be furious if we stayed anywhere else. I would also seek out other Z Hotels in other cities / around London in the future.
Cannot recommend highly enough. Many thanks for a wonderful experience of London.

Room Tip: Its right in the middle of busy London, so if there are quieter rooms, you could ask - but London is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This place is crap with a hard shiny lacquer sprayed on top of it. But just know it's a youth hostel. To call this a hotel is simply a lie.

NOT for a business traveler, NOT for an extended stay. If you need a place to lay your head down for a night or two, I guess it's fine.

There is NO ROOM in this "room." No place to work with your laptop, there's simply no room. No place to hang your clothes, just some bars that swing out from the wall. No dresser, so no place to unpack. Barely enough space to walk.

I see some reviews say how "comfy" the beds are, that's laughable. My mattress is easily the most uncomfortable surface I've slept on, outside of camping.

It's a youth hostel, folks. If you're over 30, avoid it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cwajda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

For the price, the deal could not be better. The location is ideal. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast and evening wive and cheese are terrific. The hotel is spic and span.
We did, however, book the world's smallest room.
Two people of average size could just about negotiate getting dressed simultaneously.
We also made the mistake of booking an "inside" (read windowless) room.
That being said, we would indeed return. This time to an "outside" room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I had a great stay-fabulous staff- particularly the breakfast staff, no pretensions, super wet rooms, wine and cheese, sky tv and an amazing vibrant location The fact that you are so central means that you are in walking distance of everything cultural.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Unfortunately i had nothing to do with the booking of this hotel..He had booked the largest double room they had,but beware this will be the smallest double room you will ever experience.This room was adequate for one person but two i think not!.I asked at reception if there was any other rooms available but they were fully booked.The room has a wet room and toilet area which totally amazed me how they could fit this all in the same room,the bed took up the whole of one wall.I had to sleep in a chair i took from a patio area in the middle of the hotel.On the plus side the staff are all very nice and you are offered free wine and cheese when you arrive.The hotel is ideally placed for theaters and clubs,If alone and staying for one night this hotel maybe an option for you.I must say again this room is the smallest hotel room i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Myself and girlfriend came here for our anniversary present so we could enjoy central London and the bars.
We arrived at the hotel around 11am and asked if we could drop our bags off so we could go around and just relax.
The receptionist was lovely and welcoming and we were surprised when she said "Actually your room has been cleaned and sorted you can check in now if you like?" this was great as we knew we came expecting to have to come back at 3pm (check in time).
Myself and my girlfriend were both given room keys (good bonus), and made our way up to our room.
We passed the courtyard which looked very stylish and well kept.
We entered our room, yes it was small but we didnt need anything big. The shower and toilet area are seperate so thats was another bonus for us.
We were informed of free cheese and ine for guest between 5pm and 7pm. the staff were helpful and were more than happy to help, I popped down stairs knowing we would be out drinkinbg later and asked if I could pay a late check out fee. The receptionist on said we could stay until 12:30 at no extra charge.
Myself and girlfriend ame back suitably refreshed around 2;30am as we entered the hotel the recepionist greeted us agaiun and to our surprise there were free cans of diate coke and fizzy pellegrino orange for the guests to take to their room safter their night out.
This impressed us as we had paid £150 and weren't expectin to get so much from the hotel.
Well worth the money and in a great location!!!

Room Tip: Pick a room without windows as it's cheaper or if you prefer natural sunlight pick one but be aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlatPack_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#182 of 1,069 in London
1,147 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#652 of 1,069 in London
131 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,069 in London
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#138 of 1,069 in London
628 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,069 in London
854 reviews
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#545 of 1,069 in London
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Soho

Property: The Z Hotel Soho
Address: 17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Z Hotel Soho 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel Soho has everything you need for a couple of nights in town. Concentrated style, an out-of-town price and the West End – at your feet the moment you step out the door. No off-central, tourist hotels for you.Space is unimportant. How you use it is vital. You step into your Z Room, and suddenly the price makes perfect sense. You’re staying in central Soho, where space is at a premium. But you’re not paying a premium. We have rooms start from 8 to 14 square meters of compact luxury.Z Soho is a designer conversion of twelve Georgian townhouses. From the outside you see classic architectural proportions, combined with contemporary style. Inside, you find 85 rooms gathered around a central courtyard. And it places you in Moor Street, between the theatre and bookshops of Cambridge Circus and Charing Cross Road – and the vivid cosmos of Old Compton Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing