We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient for the west end and soho, compact and bijou”
Review of The Z Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Z Hotel Soho
Ranked #369 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have stayed here twice, and it is very convenient for the west end and Soho, but that convenience comes at a price. The concept is tiny rooms at an affordable price in a great location... and it achieves that goal.. The first time I stayed in a queen room, very smart, but facing onto Shaftsbury avenue which made it rather noisy. On my second stay I had a double room, which was internal without windows and rather small, I hadn't appreciated quite how small when I booked. Having said that, I got a good night's sleep. The staff were brilliant, they were friendly and helpful - very professional. The conversion work to create the hotel is impressive, the internal courtyard is a great piece of design.

If you want a convenient hotel with good service and style, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an internally facing room to avoid the street noise which goes on all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabingtonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

My sister and I stayed in this small central London hotel last week. Our double room was tiny, but that's to be expected for such a central location. The hotel's bang in the middle of theatreland, which was perfect for us. They offer free pre-theatre cheese and wine to guests - a wonderful treat if you don't have time for dinner before going to a theatre. The architecture is quirky and interesting and the place is lovely and clean. The staff are friendly and service is good. Although a little pricey, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband booked an absolute bargain - a room here last minute, for one night; superb location in Soho, stylish and comfortable room with a funky interior. The room was very small with space for suitcases under the bed but since we were just there to sleep it didn't matter. It was novel and modern - minimalistic with a quasi maritime-japanese feel. There was even a complimentary gourmet cheese and wine spread available which was absolutely delicious. I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was very small without a window. I am sure there are other options for other prices. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 157Anna157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Z hotel is exactly as its described on there website. The rooms are compact, but have everything you need and really modern. I had arranged the break as a surprise fro my friend for her birthday and the staff surprised her with a box of chocolates and a birthday card which I felt was a lovely touch.

The hotel has the most beautiful roof terrace, with stunning rattan furniture, hanging chairs and even a BBQ to the corner.

As a group we had a fabulous weekend and this was topped of by the staff at Z who really couldn't do enough for you.

We will return again soon.

THX again Z team.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 247review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Really wanted to stay in the heart of Soho to be close to the sights and theatres - and this place could not be better situated. Two mins from the Tube and close to many sights. The staff - every single one of them - were utterly delightful. They are a young bunch and mostly from other parts of Europe...and they could not have done more to make us feel welcome. The rooms are small - but you know that when you book. The standard of cleaning was very good....... and the beds were comfy. We werehad two rooms on the fourth floor. Nice place to be - apart from the non stop noise from the air con/heating. Only managed to sleep with use of ear plugs - but this is normal for me in city hotels. The free chesse and wine is a great idea..... served between 5 and 8 in the cafe area. We enjoyed a couple of glasses each night and it was never so busy we could not get a seat. It is a lovely gesture and the wines and cheese are good. All in all this is a very good hotel with a high standard of customer service. The staff are clearly happy and could not have been any more welcoming.

Room Tip: Yes the rooms are small but they are all you need...... we got rooms facing the courtyard.......quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadaques12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Ok, the rooms are tiny, but I wasnt there to spend time in my room. There is no room for your luggage so better if you there for a weekend away not on a big European trip from Australia with huge suitcases!! Saying that, we loved the feel of the hotel, very modern rooms, friendly, helpful staff, and great value with a fantastic breakfast with complimentary afternoon wine and cheeses which was just lovely! The location is great - close to chinatown, covent garden, and leicester square and the West End.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at Z hotel and could not have been happier - yes the rooms are small but spotless and perfectly formed, with a large built in plasma and free wifi. The bed was very comfortable, crisp bedding and nice hot shower. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. One of the best stays in London. They also served free olives, cheese, bread and wine in their courtyard one evening. Reasonably prices and Recommended

Room Tip: Go with the Queen size, it's the largest of the rooms and still very reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#565 of 1,076 in London
211 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#184 of 1,076 in London
1,263 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#42 of 1,076 in London
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#525 of 1,076 in London
622 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Soho

Address: 17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £85 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Z Hotel Soho 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel Soho has everything you need for a couple of nights in town. Concentrated style, an out-of-town price and the West End – at your feet the moment you step out the door. No off-central, tourist hotels for you.Space is unimportant. How you use it is vital. You step into your Z Room, and suddenly the price makes perfect sense. You’re staying in central Soho, where space is at a premium. But you’re not paying a premium. We have rooms start from 8 to 14 square meters of compact luxury.Z Soho is a designer conversion of twelve Georgian townhouses. From the outside you see classic architectural proportions, combined with contemporary style. Inside, you find 85 rooms gathered around a central courtyard. And it places you in Moor Street, between the theatre and bookshops of Cambridge Circus and Charing Cross Road – and the vivid cosmos of Old Compton Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing