We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, Fantastic Staff, Fantastic Break!!”
Review of The Z Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Z Hotel Soho
Ranked #370 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We came to this wonderful hotel and stayed for 2 nights last weekend for my birthday and were amazed by how great this hotel was! We were fully aware of the "compact rooms" as the hotel clearly states this on their website & actually we were pleasantly surprised by the size of our room, with independently controlled air conditioning, a 40" smart TV at the foot of our comfortable double bed, and near silent ambience (sound proofed rooms). We really do not understand why other reviewers have complained about the room size as we came to London to see LONDON, not to sit in our hotel room for 2 days? Our aim for a hotel in one of the most vibrant capital cities in the world was to spend as much time as possible out of our room soaking up the culture of this diverse city, and then having somewhere to lay our heads at the end of each long day. Every member of the staff team was so polite & helpful, they went over and above their roles to make my birthday one that I'll never forget - a couple of glasses of Prosecco on arrival, time spent with us explaining how to get to different parts of the city, always asking us how our day/ evening had been. We couldn't have wished for nicer, professional people to make our stay so enjoyable. With regards to the location of the hotel, it is nestled right in the heart of Soho, theatre land and it's never ending supply of retail areas - short walking distances to Oxford Street, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, underground stations - we'll never stay anywhere other than The Z Hotel Soho ever again when staying in London.
Little extras at this hotel include a roof top terrace, a superb courtyard area (we are smokers so great for us!) and a cafe/bar that offers breakfast in the morning (although sorry to say - we were never up in time for this - too many late night bars and clubs which kept us partying until the early hours!!) and from 5pm to 8pm each night the hotel offers it's residents complimentary wine and cheese boards (which change each day) in this area which is very relaxing and romantic. They even offer complimentary soft drinks from 11pm through until 6am. This must be unheard of in London?? Seriously, unless you are boring/ weird and choose to go to London to spend all of your stay cooped up in your hotel room, you truly cannot go wrong with this hotel.
Thank you so much to all of the staff at The Z Hotel Soho, you made such a memorable stay for both my partner and I, on my birthday! See you all very soon (unfortunately we both think we've got the London bug now!!)

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Nickn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights. The location cannot be beat. The rooms are very nice, although small. The hotel hosts a wine and cheese thing every night, it more than makes up for the room size. We highly recommend this place. Worth every pound! We will stay here again

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Monkeyboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergiu P, General Manager at The Z Hotel Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your lovely comments.

I am so happy to hear that the hotel has met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Z Soho!
Please contact me directly if require any assistance (sergiu@thezhotels.com)

Best Regards,

Sergiu Puscas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Let's get the "Swall" issue out of the way first.The rooms are not just tiny, they are teeney weeney.Think of a small ship cabin or a two man tent.
Also share only with someone you are very comfortable with because the dividing wall between the loo and shower and the bedroom is see through.
That said, it is amazingly central and a very short walk to all the West End, Trafalgar Square etc.
The staff are lovely. The design is stylish (except for basic errors like the mirror being in the darkest part of the room and there not being enough space between the wash basin and the shower so that a man cannot shave without hitting his elbow).
We were blown away by the offer of three hours of free wine and chese each evening 5-8pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a real window, not a tiny porthole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergiu P, General Manager at The Z Hotel Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for making the time to review our hotel.

I can only say that your constructive feedback is highly appreciated and was sent to our Team for future improvements.

Great to hear that you had the time to try our cheese and wine buffet, and our staff delivered a high customer service!

Best Regards,

Sergiu Puscas
Operations Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed one night only and was prepared for small room from other reviewers comments. However, overall it was a pleasant stay in a Queen room at the front so therefore noisy but it didn't bother us. Particularly liked the courtyard but as with pub gardens in the UK it was spoilt by smokers. Staff were friendly and efficient. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodslindyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergiu P, General Manager at The Z Hotel Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Is a pelasure to see that you have chosen Z Hotels in Soho for your accommodation in London.
Also I am happy to see that you enjoyed our cozy courtyard and that our staff members were efficinet and made your stay pleasant.

Wish you a lovely day!

Best Regards,

Sergiu Puscas

Operations Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is not a hotel,it is a flashed up hostel..the rooms are so small to the point of ridiculous. Chlostraphobia plus,water pressure shocking as are showers,cheap shower fittings,poor lighting,but most of all it's hard to believe they can expect human beings to stay in rooms ...cabins..the size that they are..very unhealthy and poor despite the attempt at decor.staff are great..building..should NOt be advertised as a HOTEL at $300 Australian a night...disgusting.
Whoever owns this company is into making $ at the expense of customers and it's good staff...corporate obviously.
Very disappointed

Room Tip: Don't stay here...very noisy as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergiu P, General Manager at The Z Hotel Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Z Hotel in Soho.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.
We are very transparent and honest in regards to the room sizes and advertise those on our website and third party booking channels, with no hidden extras. We also include a number of pictures to ensure that our guests are not being mislead in any way. Should you have had any doubts about the room size prior to your arrival, we would have had happily explained to you pros and cons of staying in the heart of Soho.

Here, it is not only the Thierry Muggler toiletries that we offer for "10sq meter space" we also offer complimentary Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities in the room, a bottle of water, free full SKY TV package and complimentary unlimited cheese and wine between 5 and 8pm. Also our mattress is hand made in Devon Uk, the duvet is 100% wool and duck down pillows.

Please let me reassure you that we take all guest feedback very seriously and have addressed the maintenance issues indicated by you.

Please contact me directly via e-mail at sergiu@thezhotels.com and I will happily discuss this further with you.
Meanwhile have a wonderful day and I do hope to welcome you to the Z in Soho in the future.


Best Regards,

Sergiu Puscas
Operations Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

the best location! great stuff, so helpful. clean.Tiny rooms, so don't bring big suitcases :-)
wine & cheese every night and my husbend loved it. we had 2 room. one with 2 18 yr girls & one mature couple and we loved it. will definitely come back!

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room get the one that is suitable for handicap, if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yardena50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergiu P, General Manager at The Z Hotel Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with other readers.

I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and had the chance to wnjoy our cheese and wine buffet.

Hope that in the future I will have again the chance to welcoming you in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Sergiu Puscas
Operations Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Really can't fault this place, its exceptional. Great staff, immaculate rooms, breakfast 5 * inclusive wine and cheese in the evening, best location ever, very high standard rooms, towels showers, you name it. Attentive staff, just ideal for a night or two in Soho but maybe not suitable for families or long stays, I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Don't look anywhere else, you won't beat this hotel guaranteed !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergiu P, General Manager at The Z Hotel Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the site following your stay with us this month and I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and that you thought the location was excellent, the staff were really lovely and attentive and that you were well looked after even though your stay was short.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed breakfast with us and you had the chance to enjoy our unique cheese and wine buffet.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.


Sergiu Puscas,
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#548 of 1,076 in London
211 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#187 of 1,076 in London
1,264 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#41 of 1,076 in London
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#518 of 1,076 in London
622 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Soho

Address: 17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £85 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Z Hotel Soho 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel Soho has everything you need for a couple of nights in town. Concentrated style, an out-of-town price and the West End – at your feet the moment you step out the door. No off-central, tourist hotels for you.Space is unimportant. How you use it is vital. You step into your Z Room, and suddenly the price makes perfect sense. You’re staying in central Soho, where space is at a premium. But you’re not paying a premium. We have rooms start from 8 to 14 square meters of compact luxury.Z Soho is a designer conversion of twelve Georgian townhouses. From the outside you see classic architectural proportions, combined with contemporary style. Inside, you find 85 rooms gathered around a central courtyard. And it places you in Moor Street, between the theatre and bookshops of Cambridge Circus and Charing Cross Road – and the vivid cosmos of Old Compton Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing