We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for solo trip!”
Review of The Z Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Z Hotel Soho
Ranked #346 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for solo trip!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Find a affordable hotel in London is a hard work - this one is the nearest "affordable" can be. Great location, really tiny but functional apartment. Hotel services are very pleasant and people very polite.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gui V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    678
    202
    91
    51
See reviews for
85
741
213
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Okay I live in London but going out is a pain if you have to endure night buses or expensive taxis. So if you fancy staying out this extremely basic hotel is great. Noticed a few complaints about the room size on here, it really annoys me when people don't do their research properly and then complain. Just to clarify you literally get a box with a bed and a shower to stay in. Our double was so small it's hard to imagine how they managed to get the bed in the room without damaging the walls, it touched three of them! The TV was huge and the photos' are very flattering to say the least. None of that matters though as it's decent, clean and so cheap.

I'm not sure I could stay here if I had to be in the room for more than a few nights but I didn't so I loved it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkyLdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is very well placed in the west end of London,which I'm afraid is the only thing this hotel has got going for it.
I made the mistake of reserving a room without a window,the room was extremely small for 2 adults which had no wardrobe space for clothes,and no privacy for when you used the toilet! and the price of the room which didn't include breakfast was extortionate.
One night was enough.

Room Tip: Do not reserve a room without a window,even if your not claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Friendly, polite and very helpful staff. Enjoyed the complimentary cheese, biscuits and wine each night. Room was compact but very functional. Location was golden. If you're a big person and/or travel with a lot of luggage or are staying for longer than a weekend, you might find the single room a little tight. It's party central in that area, but I felt safe getting back to the hotel on my own after dark. I'd give it a 5 star if it weren't for smoking being allowed in the shared courtyard.

Room Tip: If you request a 'quiet' room, it'll be adjacent to the internal courtyard which means t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilUgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The best, I don´t know what to say .... the situation, service, wine & cheese .... jejejeje It is true that the rooms are small but very comfortable !! you won´t need anything else. It is soundproof but ..... this does not extend to soundproof windows so... although you will not hear anything from adjoining rooms, you don´t get rid from the noise outside. Our stay would not have been the same without the watchful antención of André, very friendly, providing an extra charm to the hotel. He increased wages deserves !! ;-) the hotel is very recomnedable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AraceliYpunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Awesome location, very close to the theaters, museums and nightlife. The room was great for one person, very comfortable and spotless. The staff was very attentive and professional, especially Andre, who was able to give great advice about things to do in London. He also spoke Portuguese! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STOCKTON ON TEES
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is without doubt the worst UK hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms (we booked a 'Queen') are minute. Whilst the location is good, the noise in our single-glazed room with a broken window panel on the fourth floor overlooking Cambridge Circus was so noisy we were unable to sleep on the first night.

So, don't book this hotel if

a) You would like to get dressed at the same time as your partner because there just isn't enough floor space for the both of you
b) You mind one side of the bed being pushed against the wall
c) You like to be able to see out of the window (ours clearly hadn't been cleaned for some time)
d) You want to sleep
e) You want to be able to plug anything in next to the bed - there's no sockets.
f) You'd like a wardrobe - there isn't one
g) You'd like a free newspaper delivered to your room - you won't be asked if you'd like one

We paid £370 for two nights that we will never forget - for all the wrong reasons!

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MICHAEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#196 of 1,067 in London
1,126 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#635 of 1,067 in London
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,161 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#126 of 1,067 in London
616 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#101 of 1,067 in London
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Soho

Property: The Z Hotel Soho
Address: 17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Z Hotel Soho 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel Soho has everything you need for a couple of nights in town. Concentrated style, an out-of-town price and the West End – at your feet the moment you step out the door. No off-central, tourist hotels for you.Space is unimportant. How you use it is vital. You step into your Z Room, and suddenly the price makes perfect sense. You’re staying in central Soho, where space is at a premium. But you’re not paying a premium. We have rooms start from 8 to 14 square meters of compact luxury.Z Soho is a designer conversion of twelve Georgian townhouses. From the outside you see classic architectural proportions, combined with contemporary style. Inside, you find 85 rooms gathered around a central courtyard. And it places you in Moor Street, between the theatre and bookshops of Cambridge Circus and Charing Cross Road – and the vivid cosmos of Old Compton Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing