We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service”

The Quality Chop House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Quality Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,339 of 22,692 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$8 - US$56
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
Description: The Quality Chop House has a long history as a provider of hospitality. Once a working men’s ‘eating house’ it offered nourishment and respite for the weary. It is in this spirit that we’d like to welcome you back through our doors. We are now offering three different dining experiences in surroundings reflecting the beauty and history of The Quality Chop House. The first is our Dining Room, For lunch the menu is simple, small and set. For dinner, we want to feed you. Give us your coat, pull up a pew (quite literally) and we’ll take care of the rest. We’ll be offering a 5 course set menu, a progressive feast of our favourite things. You can pick the bottle (but we’ll have some magnums open to pour you a glass while deciding). Our Wine bar & Shop is open all day for on- and off-premises enjoyment. Our wines are fine but our prices are fair. A hand-picked selection from some serious cellars without the serious price tag. And we’ll have charcuterie, cheese and smaller plates on hand too. For tastings, feastings and meetings we offer our Upstairs - A private room for up to 10 people.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“excellent service”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is a nice little restaurant in a buzzing London neighbourhood. The menu is short and inventive and the service is excellent. There are two options for seating: one is the wine bar which was not the one we went to, the other room has the notorious wooden benches, a bit uncomfortable but mainly OK. In the wine bar one can have an a la carte menu, while in the other room you are offered a menu of starters-main-pudding: all of those were excellent, however I think next time I'll try the wine bar for more choice. all in all a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna123s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    84
    38
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brilliant again!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Two excellent lunches on subsequent days at The Quality Chop House. Same consistently high standard as earlier visits. Admirably looked after by Will and the team. Delicious wine focussed food, highlights this time included the pigeon & girolles and the whole roast partridge, being game season. Knowledgeable and educational wine list including interesting fairly priced specials to try by the glass including a 1936 French fortified!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller110412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“smashin”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Went here with 6 pals the other week. Sat on the notorious wooden benches. Uncomfortable. Luckily the food made up for my poor posture. Starter wise the dover sole mini steaks and carpaccio-esque duck were a dream. The main course of venison etc washed down with the house red ( cracking value at £19) likewise. cheese option much better than desert. Quite steep at £35 a head set menu but am guessing the produce is top notch.Will return but maybe with less pals and more back support - perhaps requesting the room next door which looked more cosy. Knowledgeable staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oliP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staveley
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service & Ambience”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Visited last night for dinner with an old friend. Farringdon is such an easy area to visit by tube and this is a truly great, 100-year old restaurant that is full of character & heritage. A prompt, warm, welcome and we were quickly seated in a bench seat booth and offered still & sparkling water. Great wine followed, together with an attentive but relaxed progression through an excellent fixed menu of the day comprising four taster starters, lamb main course and cheese to finish - all comprising fresh British ingredients. The evening was skilfully orchestrated by the owner, who spoke passionately about his food & wine. A great night.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really fantastic & highly recommended.”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Had a birthday meal here last night, been looking forward to visiting the QCH for ages and it did not disappoint. The set course dinner with wine pairings was fantastic, beautiful simple and seasonal food served at an appropriate pace. Very much looking forward to returning to try the bar menu. Only minor quibble was with the service by one individual in particular...dour and insincere come to mind though it didn't detract from a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1980JamesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Quality Chop House also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Quality Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing