We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dogs and banger racing - better get it before its gone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wimbledon Greyhound Stadium

Wimbledon Greyhound Stadium
Ranked #529 of 1,568 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dogs and banger racing - better get it before its gone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

What an experience, get up close to the dog and banger car racing. A fun night out with the boys, very average food and awful beer but I guess that's what makes the experience. Can bet on the dogs but not the cars, some interesting characters about. Better get in there soon before they redevelop the site into a football stadium, boo!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    43
    23
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Half hearted attempt at running a dog track”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I enjoy greyhound racing and have been to several tracks, but Wimbledon is by far the worst. Very, very run down stadium, both inside and out...to compound matters my friend backed a dog that won and was priced at 8/1 when race went off...he was paid out at 7/2 ...I had the forecast in the same race ...an 8/1 and a 12/1 which paid £120 off track..I was paid just under £40....we both felt like we'd been mugged!!! In summary you can have a good evening, but Romford stadium is much better...if you must go Wimbledon I would recommend that you put your bets on with a bookmaker before you reach the track as you will get much better value

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Should be great but needs improvement- dont take small toddlers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Firstly the staff were very busy in the restaurant and it was very hot but our waitresses worked hard and were very helpful - food quite good but £27 for 3 course pub food was pretty steep

The biggest problem was the races promoted as child friendly - under 2 free - kids menu - lovely baby change room but no buggys allowed in restaurant ( but wheelchair ok ???) and no highchairs

Try keeping a 15 month old amused in a hot restaurant on a bench seat - we just let her run about to prove that this is more of a health and safety issue than her asleep in her buggy !!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try and be a bit nicer...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Went to the dog racing Saturday evening. Excellent overall, but spoiled a bit by the miserable faces and unhelpful attitude of the ladies behind the tote betting desk. What on earth is wrong with them? It costs absolutely nothing to be nice to people and has the spin off benefit of making your own life nicer as well! Come on ladies, give it a try - or let some younger girls have your jobs...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank jeffbutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good night but food and temperature needed some improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Came for 3rd round of the derby in the granstand restaurant. Good night overall and friendly tote and raffle staff who were helpful. Some food was very good particularly the mushroom crumble and seabass. However the burger had too much onion (almost a chutney) and the chicken needed a salsa. It was very busy but the waiting staff could have been at least smiley. It was also very humid and because it was an hour between our main and dessert, we didnt want to go outside. Drink selection was poor - no ale (i dont count worthingtons smooth - at least Crayford has courage) and limited wine selection. Its still worth it but these little things could have made it even better.

Helpful?
Thank Busker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wimbledon Greyhound Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Wimbledon Greyhound Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing