We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Italy on Hammersmith” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villagio Restaurant

Villagio Restaurant
Ranked #2,610 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Little Italy on Hammersmith”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Visited it for several times. Very attentive staff, especially administrator - Italian guy! He is ready to tell you everything about his native country. He adds more Italian atmosphere to this restaurant. They have the most tasty pizza!!! All other dishes are tasty too. Prices a little bit high (except from pizza 10 pounds for eat in and 6.50 for take way), but such tasty food deserves it. This restaurant became my one favorites. Thank you guys!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Volodymyr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    137
    44
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, service, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

this is located opposite the L'Oreal building and the food was good, price was good, service good, no complaints, would go back

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Villagio - our final visit .........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Villagio in Hammersmith has been a regular dinner venue for our party of 10 or so - 9 on this occasion - for the last 4 years or so but, sadly, no longer. Whether there has been a recent change of chef or not, I am unsure. However, the increasingly downward quality of the food has led us to relocate for our next and future dinners to the nearby and newly opened Bill's Restaurant later this year. I would start my review by commending the waiting staff who were very friendly and attentive without being obtrusively so. We were very well looked after by our two waitresses. For them - 10 out of 10 - no question! They are a real asset to Villagio. However, meagre portion sizes were collectively disappointing and, in some cases, completely devoid of any taste. Waitress-suggested garlic breads and focaccia and ciabatta nibbles were delicious, indeed for some, the highlight of the meal! My starter of baked mushrooms and a 'spicy' tomato sauce consisted of 8 carefully arranged mushrooms and a pot of what appeared to be shop-bought sauce at a vastly overpriced £5.35. A colleague's tiger prawns were equally devoid of flavour - we shared! - quite an achievement in a relatively absorbent base ingredient. Calamari was limp and overly greasy - again, we shared. On to the mains. My chargrilled lamb steak, my favourite red meat, carefully requested as 'pink', was incinerated to crispness and a real challenge to the knife. Spaghetti Bolognese, a staple dish for any Italian restaurant, was virtually tasteless with overcooked, almost slimy spaghetti. Desserts of ice cream were considered fresh and flavoursome. House wines and draught Peronis were reasonably priced. Had it been down to one or two disappointing dishes, we might have chalked this visit up to a bad night. This previously encouraging restaurant has definitely taken a downward path over our last two visits. Villagio may rely too heavily on the nearby theatres and concert venues for its trade but, on a relatively warm Thursday night in summer, it was certainly not overly busy. My final review of this former 'quality' restaurant. Nothing stands still, I suppose ...........

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank taurustime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst place yet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Terrible service.basic food!waited 30-40 mins for main course.when we ordered a drink they never came back with it.food came out Luke warm!when it came to paying they never made any conversation such as how was your meal!i would discourage anyone from going there

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

It was a hot Friday evening, before a concert at the Hammersmith Odeon, so we had booked a 6.30pm bowl of pasta here. We'd been once before, years ago, but it hadn't stood out as anything special. Well, what a transformation. A great, buzzy room, light and airy. The service, right from the greeting was very good. The girl who looked after us all evening was exceptional. Friendly, attentive, carefully noting my wife's chilli allergy and checking with the kitchen for every dish. The food was outstanding. Fresh, succulent calamari, delicious pasta and an amazing vanilla cheesecake. The Valpollicella was delicious, as was my wife's Pinot Grigio Blush. A really great meal. We will be going nowhere else in Hammersmith, in future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NiallJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villagio Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Villagio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing