We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there a rating lower than 'Terrible'?”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #522 of 931 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Where do I start? No one working there smiles, a rapist would give a better greeting. Room was dirty, bed was uncomfortable and whole decor is majorly dated.

But there worst thing was the key. Not only was it an actual metal key, it was attached to a metal pole that was literally a foot long. WHY?!? What type of security devise is this? I left the hotel to get food with just my wallet and this key, where do I put it? Can't fit it in my pocket without stabbing myself in the guy with every step, can't hold it in my hand and look like 'that stance guy with the metal pole'

Do not stay here!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, do not pick a single room with a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KweliElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed here in december 2012. It's a simple hotel, okey! But, I have good memories. The more important that you must to know is, this hotel is in a great location. Near to Russel Square tube station, British Museum, Kings Cross...

The rooms was very simple, but very clean. The facilities was shared, but very clean. The room has a small television, a reasonable bed, a kettle, heating, a small wardrobe and a sink.

They has a traditional (and good) british breakfast, the staff were very lovely and they had a free internet acess in the lobby with good couches and chairs, very confortable.

For a few days in London, It's a good option.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabricioMoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had this place recommended as an ideal central location on a budget - definitely not expecting luxury but was pleasantly surprised by how friendly & cosy the county was! Room is basic but clean & bed comfy enough. Shared bathrooms not a problem at all. Staff friendly especially the nice gentleman who greeted us for breakfast. Breakfast was a lovely surprise - tasty, nicely-cooked & plenty of it! You could do a lot worse!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Churlish_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A budget hotel in the center of London. It's clean basic it has shared amenities. It's been done up bit from last year. We've been going there a few years now. We get to London at least once a year. This is the first hotel we try and book.
If you are looking for a budget hotel in the center of London you can't go wrong with County Hotel.
We hope to back next year.
If you do stay there a little tip. For breakfast if you can use the stairs. Lifts are small and it seems that the whole hotel and his brother want to use the lifts at the same time.
My only bug bear is that I wish there was a light above the sink in the bedroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pieoutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd year we've stayed at the county, and would definitely stay again. £88 for travel and 2nights stay in central london with superbreaks is fantastic, you get what u pay for. The twin rooms were a decent size, kettle and telly that worked, however only issue we had this year was no hot water in the shower (which have been refurbished and are always clean) so all had to use shower in bath or walk down the hall. Staff we spoke to all very friendly and helpful.
If you're looking for a hotel in a fantastic location, and aren't fussy that its very very basic then would defo recommend the county!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sw33t25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Was a dubius when i realised it was shared facilites but as i was there for just 2 nights the wash facilkitiesn the room were adequate The room was basic but clean and did have a tv and tea making facilities. Only problem in room was noise at times and the fact that the cold water wasnt running all the time so it was the first time in the UK that I thought it appropiate to us bottled water.
I had been dubious about the breakfast but was pleasantly surprised at the quality and choice which was a lot better than many more expensive hotels I have stayed at
The staff were always polite and helpfull
So if you are wanting a cheap place in central London just to crash out and can live without the frills this takes some beating I paid £64 for 2 nights b&b

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jandiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is perfect for exploring London on a budget. The rooms are dated and shabby, which is a shame, as the architecture and original elements of the building are very interesting. Make sure you check out the vintage London city guide in the lobby, the beautiful ornate staircases and many original 30's-40's features, especially in the dining area. With a little loving care this place could be a gem, however these elements have been neglected and hidden with awful carpets and shoddy decorating. Toilets and shower areas were clean and tidy. The location is perfect, 5 minutes walk from Euston and in a picturesque area of London. Breakfast was yummy, all you can eat, however the staff member who greeted us was rude and I bizarrely got told off for using a tray. Apparently the staff are the only ones to have this luxury, he really needs some customer service skills! All in all, will definitely stay here again, as it is bargain accommodation in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tschock_tschock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#571 of 1,077 in London
2,697 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#455 of 1,077 in London
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#510 of 1,077 in London
3,663 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#561 of 1,077 in London
2,099 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#881 of 1,077 in London
8,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: Russell Square | Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #522 of 931 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The County Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering exceptional value in an excellent central location, the County Hotel is the perfect place to relax after a busy day exploring the city. A short walk from three mainline stations, it's also halfway between world-renowned Oxford Street shopping and the food, fashion and festival atmosphere of Camden Market. Small and friendly, it's become the essential central London choice for sightseers and shoppers on a budget. All 175 rooms have wash-basins and bathrooms are shared between four rooms. But there's more to the County than resting your head - be sure to begin your London experience with our complimentary English breakfast. It's hearty enough to fuel even the most action-packed stay in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing