We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A low budget hotel in good location”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #463 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Prague
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A low budget hotel in good location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel has a good location.It is very close to London University and British Museum. The Oxford Street and Soho are also within walking distance. For London it is one of the cheaper options. There are shared bathrooms, but very clean. The single room was small and I didn't like very soft mattress. But for a few nights ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meresanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    149
    197
    101
    122
See reviews for
69
151
153
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Not of the luxury class as many of its neighbours but it does the job. Rooms adequate but I would suggest that one ask for one at the back to avoid traffic noise.

A great place to stay and very central. Staff both pleasant and efficient and there is an excellent breakfast to see yiou on your way. Great to see that senior management conduct control visits. Have now seen what I assume to be a director walk into the kitchens at around 08:45 on three seperate occasions. That's 12/10 in my book

A great place to base oneself and at a cost that does not break the bank. Certainly plan to use it on a regular basis

Room Tip: As said ask for a room at the back as it avoids the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerwentWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place was disgusting. the room had damp stains all over the place and a damp smell to go with it. we had requested a quiet room which we did not get due to there being a huge air-conditioning unit outside the window. The bed and room in general were crawling in bugs. We checked out within an hour of getting into our room after seeing the state on it. When I told the lady on reception she didn't seem bothered, she reacted like it happens all the time. Unfortunately after seeing the bed crawling with beds I just had to get out of there and didn't get the chance to take pictures, but I just wanted to get out of there and to another hotel so I could have a shower.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel every year over the past 10 years and have found it excellent value.
The staff are very helpful and very friendly
The full breakfast is excellent value
I will continue staying at this hotel for another 10 years

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterGrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A colleague and I stayed here for two nights for a course. It was close to the course venue and by far the cheapest hotel in the area.
We booked a twin, but were pleasantly surprised to be asked if we would like singles for the same price. The rooms are basic - bed, sink, desk, wardrobe, tv, tea & coffee making facilities - but everything was clean and neat. Beds were made each day and towels changed, which was a nice touch.
The communal bathrooms were clean, and although the toilets could have done with a more frequent cleaning, they were not rank.
Breakfast was plentiful and self service.
All in all, what more could you ask for, for somewhere to lay your head?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor N.I.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having read several not to flattering reviews of the county hotel I was a bit wary when booking, but there was football to watch and the tube strike made it impossible to return home the same night. The reception was clean and spacious the check in was efficient and easy. the twin room with shared bath was clean warm and exactly what you need for one night. We returned after the game and the porter was pleasant and gave us our key with minimal fuss. we had a decent nights sleep and the complimentary breakfast was warm and tasty. I cannot understand some of the complaints on this site about this hotel. my experience was positive and for £66 for a twin room with breakfast in the centre of the most expensive city out there was a bargain.

Room Tip: the higher the better for traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bangorgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the county hotel .the staff where helpful & friendly the room was clean & plenty of towels . the breakfast was lovely its been a long time since I have seen smoked haddock on a breakfast menu & all of it nice & hot We thought it was very good value for money will be back later this year. To all the hard working staff keep up the good work & Thank you for helping to make it a great weekend.

Room Tip: Higher room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazzacleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#639 of 1,067 in London
2,107 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#472 of 1,067 in London
2,040 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#243 of 1,067 in London
1,727 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#509 of 1,067 in London
3,416 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#58 of 557 in London
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: Russell Square | Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The County Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering exceptional value in an excellent central location, the County Hotel is the perfect place to relax after a busy day exploring the city. A short walk from three mainline stations, it's also halfway between world-renowned Oxford Street shopping and the food, fashion and festival atmosphere of Camden Market. Small and friendly, it's become the essential central London choice for sightseers and shoppers on a budget. All 175 rooms have wash-basins and bathrooms are shared between four rooms. But there's more to the County than resting your head - be sure to begin your London experience with our complimentary English breakfast. It's hearty enough to fuel even the most action-packed stay in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Nozio Netplan srl, Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing