We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab location, below average hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #484 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fab location, below average hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

First off, the hotel has a great location only two minutes walk from Euston station. If you're stay in London is solely based on location and price, this hotel is perfect.
We checked in and were given the keys to our rooms. Neither of which were ready when we went up to them. Usually you would be told this upon checking in, but at this hotel we were given the keys and only found out when we got there. One of our rooms was in the process of being cleaned and the other hadnt been started yet. We waited for one room to be cleaned, dumped our cases in and left for the day.
The beds are actually very comfy and the linen was very clean and fresh. The carpet was quite dirty, lots of hairs and fluff balls that stuck to any item of clothing that came into contact with it.
There isnt really much storage space in the rooms and there is quite alot of road noise through the night, but it didnt cause too much problem. We pushed our twin beds together but they were both a different height so werent really very good to be used as a double.
The general decor around the hotel is very tired and needs a refurb. There are toilets and showers between each four rooms, but on the last day two of the loos were filthy all morning. Other guests hadnt flushed them which meant only one loo was usable and noone had been in to check them from early morning when we got up, until afternoon when we next needed to use these facilites.
The breakfast although not fantastic, was okay and had a nice selection. The staff werent very entusiastic and the tables were quite dirty when sat down, but the food was okay.
On the day of departure we checked out and left our cases with the porter until collection later in the day, this service costs 50 pence per suitcase.
Overall, this hotel is in a fantastic location, but is poor in cleanliness and general standard. If you're on a solely budget orientated trip then it's well suited because it does what it says on the tin, but please don't go expecting any sort of luxury.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    144
    195
    100
    123
See reviews for
68
149
152
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel has a good location.It is very close to London University and British Museum. The Oxford Street and Soho are also within walking distance. For London it is one of the cheaper options. There are shared bathrooms, but very clean. The single room was small and I didn't like very soft mattress. But for a few nights ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meresanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Not of the luxury class as many of its neighbours but it does the job. Rooms adequate but I would suggest that one ask for one at the back to avoid traffic noise.

A great place to stay and very central. Staff both pleasant and efficient and there is an excellent breakfast to see yiou on your way. Great to see that senior management conduct control visits. Have now seen what I assume to be a director walk into the kitchens at around 08:45 on three seperate occasions. That's 12/10 in my book

A great place to base oneself and at a cost that does not break the bank. Certainly plan to use it on a regular basis

Room Tip: As said ask for a room at the back as it avoids the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerwentWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

what can i say, we paid 1100 euros for 4 nights here, room was something out of a time warp and filthy, 2 seperate beds one broken, filthy carpet, oh and the smell too, 1970's tv, windowsill outside covered in broken glass, cigarette dog ends, and the first morning for breakfast told we could not have a cooked breakast by a rather irate apu, no no no you must pay £4 each or eat the continental, i use the word loosely, muesli, what looked like stewed apples, prunes, stale rolls with jam suffice to say i walked out and told them to stick it, dont go there the place is a dump with nonchalent staff, next time for me holiday inn or premier.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank byronsprophet .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place was disgusting. the room had damp stains all over the place and a damp smell to go with it. we had requested a quiet room which we did not get due to there being a huge air-conditioning unit outside the window. The bed and room in general were crawling in bugs. We checked out within an hour of getting into our room after seeing the state on it. When I told the lady on reception she didn't seem bothered, she reacted like it happens all the time. Unfortunately after seeing the bed crawling with beds I just had to get out of there and didn't get the chance to take pictures, but I just wanted to get out of there and to another hotel so I could have a shower.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel every year over the past 10 years and have found it excellent value.
The staff are very helpful and very friendly
The full breakfast is excellent value
I will continue staying at this hotel for another 10 years

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterGrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

A colleague and I stayed here for two nights for a course. It was close to the course venue and by far the cheapest hotel in the area.
We booked a twin, but were pleasantly surprised to be asked if we would like singles for the same price. The rooms are basic - bed, sink, desk, wardrobe, tv, tea & coffee making facilities - but everything was clean and neat. Beds were made each day and towels changed, which was a nice touch.
The communal bathrooms were clean, and although the toilets could have done with a more frequent cleaning, they were not rank.
Breakfast was plentiful and self service.
All in all, what more could you ask for, for somewhere to lay your head?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#580 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#637 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#449 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#534 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#52 of 575 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: Russell Square | Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #484 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The County Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering exceptional value in an excellent central location, the County Hotel is the perfect place to relax after a busy day exploring the city. A short walk from three mainline stations, it's also halfway between world-renowned Oxford Street shopping and the food, fashion and festival atmosphere of Camden Market. Small and friendly, it's become the essential central London choice for sightseers and shoppers on a budget. All 175 rooms have wash-basins and bathrooms are shared between four rooms. But there's more to the County than resting your head - be sure to begin your London experience with our complimentary English breakfast. It's hearty enough to fuel even the most action-packed stay in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Superbreak UK and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing