We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
57
163
209
107
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
163
209
107
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathrooms and toiletsimperial hotelsrussell squarecentral londontea and coffeefull english breakfastwest endrail
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First off, the hotel has a great location only two minutes walk from Euston station. If you're stay in London is solely based on location and price, this hotel is perfect.
We checked in and were given the keys to our rooms. Neither of which were ready when we went up to them. Usually you would be told this upon checking in, but at this hotel we were given the keys and only found out when we got there. One of our rooms was in the process of being cleaned and the other hadnt been started yet. We waited for one room to be cleaned, dumped our cases in and left for the day.
The beds are actually very comfy and the linen was very clean and fresh. The carpet was quite dirty, lots of hairs and fluff balls that stuck to any item of clothing that came into contact with it.
There isnt really much storage space in the rooms and there is quite alot of road noise through the night, but it didnt cause too much problem. We pushed our twin beds together but they were both a different height so werent really very good to be used as a double.
The general decor around the hotel is very tired and needs a refurb. There are toilets and showers between each four rooms, but on the last day two of the loos were filthy all morning. Other guests hadnt flushed them which meant only one loo was usable and noone had been in to check them from early morning when we got up, until afternoon when we next needed to use these facilites.
The breakfast although not fantastic, was okay and had a nice selection. The staff werent very entusiastic and the tables were quite dirty when sat down, but the food was okay.
On the day of departure we checked out and left our cases with the porter until collection later in the day, this service costs 50 pence per suitcase.
Overall, this hotel is in a fantastic location, but is poor in cleanliness and general standard. If you're on a solely budget orientated trip then it's well suited because it does what it says on the tin, but please don't go expecting any sort of luxury.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel has a good location.It is very close to London University and British Museum. The Oxford Street and Soho are also within walking distance. For London it is one of the cheaper options. There are shared bathrooms, but very clean. The single room was small and I didn't like very soft mattress. But for a few nights ok.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meresanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Not of the luxury class as many of its neighbours but it does the job. Rooms adequate but I would suggest that one ask for one at the back to avoid traffic noise.

A great place to stay and very central. Staff both pleasant and efficient and there is an excellent breakfast to see yiou on your way. Great to see that senior management conduct control visits. Have now seen what I assume to be a director walk into the kitchens at around 08:45 on three seperate occasions. That's 12/10 in my book

A great place to base oneself and at a cost that does not break the bank. Certainly plan to use it on a regular basis

Room Tip: As said ask for a room at the back as it avoids the traffic noise
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerwentWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place was disgusting. the room had damp stains all over the place and a damp smell to go with it. we had requested a quiet room which we did not get due to there being a huge air-conditioning unit outside the window. The bed and room in general were crawling in bugs. We checked out within an hour of getting into our room after seeing the state on it. When I told the lady on reception she didn't seem bothered, she reacted like it happens all the time. Unfortunately after seeing the bed crawling with beds I just had to get out of there and didn't get the chance to take pictures, but I just wanted to get out of there and to another hotel so I could have a shower.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel every year over the past 10 years and have found it excellent value.
The staff are very helpful and very friendly
The full breakfast is excellent value
I will continue staying at this hotel for another 10 years

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterGrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews