We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Ranked #187 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with this Holiday Inn. Short walk from Shadwell underground station. Lovely modern room (felt new), large shower, comfortable bed. Handy for Excel which is why it was booked. They also have Lowenbrau on draft! Haven't seen that for years! Would stay again if visiting Excel. (DLR)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JaseUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    354
    56
    11
    11
See reviews for
92
269
41
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay & chose this hotel as part of a Superbreak 'Stay & Train' deal. It was easy to reach from Kings Cross and was only a short walk from Whitchapel underground station, and was situated behind the London Royal Hospital. It is sited on Cavel street - a residential street. Some people have commented on the dubious area, but my wife and I found that returning very late at night was not an issue.
The hotel is bright, clean and well decorated. The rooms are spacious and modern, with an AC control that actually works quite well. The breakfast catered for all tastes and we found the fresh fruit, yoghurt and the hot choices delicious.
We did eat at the restaurant one night, and whilst the food was OK, the service provided by the 2 staff did lack a professional touch - due obviously to poor training. In fact the waiter seemed totally confused as to what was required of him working in a restaurant.
There was an issue with the bill as on the menu it did state that there was a set 3 course for £20, but our bill did not reflect this and when we questioned it, the manager was sent for who explained that the deal was for groups only. I did point out that the menu did not state this and the waitress had accepted our order on the understanding we were ordering the £20 set course. The manager did change the bill to £25 - total, again I had to point that this was also incorrect - in fact I nearly had to force money onto them!! I believe the whole issue was due to language understanding.
All in all we would stay here again, but would be more careful if eating dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailorJohn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

After reading several bad reviews on trip adviser after booking this hotel we were very apprehensive as what to expect however experienced wonderful service - arrived an hour prior to check in and staff kindly allowed us to check straight in.. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Nice clean room.. Slightly dated but spotless. Breakfast good. Overall a good hotel - great value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horbat1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

One night stay using reward points. Best rooms I have stayed in, in London. Wifi was easy and fast. Good tv channel choice. Very comfy bed and pillow choice. Hard to fault. Evening beer proved tricky at c.11pm. All bar one beer ran out and communicating with staff for whom English is not a first language was tricky. Had that gone smoothly it would have been a five star. I'll stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank andnevlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

good value, modern clean hotel near London. Not best locations but fine for a base to explore & close to transport. Rooms modern and comfy beds. Breakfast was fine if a little disorganized, we were offered a prepay deal which was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWBayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I'm a Priority Club member using points and this was the only Holiday Inn property available. I booked a double room for 4 nights. The hotel was a quick 10 minute walk via Cavell Street from the Whitechapel tube stop. The hotel appears brand new. Check in was efficient and friendly, I was upgraded to an Executive room. The room was huge: king bed, large flat screen TV, nice bathroom, hot water pot with tea and coffee. The first night I couldn't figure out the complicated heating system but the front desk manager quicky came up and got it going. Room was very quiet and comfortable. Oddly the room was very large but lacked storage. The room needed a dresser to store clothes. The closet was good sized, but oddly placed by the bathroom door so the closet and bathroom doors were always hitting each other.
Lobby was spacious and comfortable although I didn't use the restaurant or bar. A Tesco is just up the street to purchase all types of food items.
The area is not a tourist area at all but not unsafe. In the evenings there are few places to eat, but the Turkish restaurant, Efes, is very good.
A must is to visit Brick Lane on a weekend. Skip the restaurants and look for the indoor food markets with fabulous food fresh-cooked from all over the world, amazing! Also shops and stalls selling art and clothing.
If you are a first time tourist, I would choose a hotel right in the center of London. But if you are a bit adventurous and don't mind using the bus and tube a lot, this is a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to an Executive room, they are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following you stay. As General Manager I was very pleased to read you found the hotel and the team excellent and your recommendations for local places to eat are great. Brick Lane is a must for anyone staying in East London!. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

New with modern style and conveniences. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was very clean. The breakfasts were also good. We really appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff! It is a great place to stay in East London.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKA2978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and recommending us a great place to stay in East London. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#104 of 1,068 in London
3,065 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#131 of 1,068 in London
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#327 of 1,068 in London
3,914 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel

Property: Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BP, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel (formally known as Holiday Inn London Commercial Road) is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. *Please note we have changed our name to Holiday Inn London Whitechapel from Holiday Inn London Commercial Road* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing