We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Language problems” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road
Ranked #214 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Language problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is a typical Holiday Inn - nice clean and comfortable. It is a little off the beaten track but not much in fairness. its easily accessible for tube stations and the city itself is walkable.

The service was generally good but we did have problems getting understood at the bar and at breakfast. at breakfast I ordered an ommlette which just never arrived. went back to the buffet instead.

have been here before and will go back though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Partying666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    330
    53
    11
    11
See reviews for
81
253
39
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed for one night in this hotel as I was in the area at an expo. I could find absolutely no fault with at all with it.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel was very clean and well presented. The room was wonderful, a good size with everything you'd need and considering that I had a room right on the main road, it was incredibly quiet.
If I were looking for a hotel in the area again, I'd book here without looking for an alternative.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Helpful pleasant staff, beautiful modern rooms, that are unexpectedly well appointed, lovely (small) bathroom with raindrop and adjustable shower heads &decent size bath.

Everything you need for a business stop over in London. Best night sleep in ages, very comfortable, quiet despite location, and efficient temperature controls.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank expectsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with this Holiday Inn. Short walk from Shadwell underground station. Lovely modern room (felt new), large shower, comfortable bed. Handy for Excel which is why it was booked. They also have Lowenbrau on draft! Haven't seen that for years! Would stay again if visiting Excel. (DLR)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JaseUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay & chose this hotel as part of a Superbreak 'Stay & Train' deal. It was easy to reach from Kings Cross and was only a short walk from Whitchapel underground station, and was situated behind the London Royal Hospital. It is sited on Cavel street - a residential street. Some people have commented on the dubious area, but my wife and I found that returning very late at night was not an issue.
The hotel is bright, clean and well decorated. The rooms are spacious and modern, with an AC control that actually works quite well. The breakfast catered for all tastes and we found the fresh fruit, yoghurt and the hot choices delicious.
We did eat at the restaurant one night, and whilst the food was OK, the service provided by the 2 staff did lack a professional touch - due obviously to poor training. In fact the waiter seemed totally confused as to what was required of him working in a restaurant.
There was an issue with the bill as on the menu it did state that there was a set 3 course for £20, but our bill did not reflect this and when we questioned it, the manager was sent for who explained that the deal was for groups only. I did point out that the menu did not state this and the waitress had accepted our order on the understanding we were ordering the £20 set course. The manager did change the bill to £25 - total, again I had to point that this was also incorrect - in fact I nearly had to force money onto them!! I believe the whole issue was due to language understanding.
All in all we would stay here again, but would be more careful if eating dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailorJohn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

After reading several bad reviews on trip adviser after booking this hotel we were very apprehensive as what to expect however experienced wonderful service - arrived an hour prior to check in and staff kindly allowed us to check straight in.. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Nice clean room.. Slightly dated but spotless. Breakfast good. Overall a good hotel - great value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horbat1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

One night stay using reward points. Best rooms I have stayed in, in London. Wifi was easy and fast. Good tv channel choice. Very comfy bed and pillow choice. Hard to fault. Evening beer proved tricky at c.11pm. All bar one beer ran out and communicating with staff for whom English is not a first language was tricky. Had that gone smoothly it would have been a five star. I'll stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank andnevlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#119 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road

Property: Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road
Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the newly built Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our brand new hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing