We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Ranked #183 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel is very new - well designed, clean and tidy. Location is fine, 2 minutes walk to the Tube, 1 stop to Bank station, 4-5 stops to city centre. Room and bathroom were well equipped and decent sized. Food is good also. Only minor gripes were slow-ish dinner service (agree with previous comment about being a bit disorganised - one waitress seemed to be doing most of the work while two guys seemed to be standing around doing not a great deal) and room not being serviced until quite late in the day (after 5pm which is unusual in my experience). Reception staff were very friendly and efficient though and overall I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    354
    56
    11
    11
See reviews for
92
271
41
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, France
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and was upgraded to Executive room.
This was spacious with a small but well equipped bathroom.
The hotel is within easy ealking distance of two tube stations.
There isn't parking at the hotel and on-street parking costs £3.5 per hour, there is private parking but at £10-15 per day.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is a typical Holiday Inn - nice clean and comfortable. It is a little off the beaten track but not much in fairness. its easily accessible for tube stations and the city itself is walkable.

The service was generally good but we did have problems getting understood at the bar and at breakfast. at breakfast I ordered an ommlette which just never arrived. went back to the buffet instead.

have been here before and will go back though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Partying666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed for one night in this hotel as I was in the area at an expo. I could find absolutely no fault with at all with it.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel was very clean and well presented. The room was wonderful, a good size with everything you'd need and considering that I had a room right on the main road, it was incredibly quiet.
If I were looking for a hotel in the area again, I'd book here without looking for an alternative.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Helpful pleasant staff, beautiful modern rooms, that are unexpectedly well appointed, lovely (small) bathroom with raindrop and adjustable shower heads &decent size bath.

Everything you need for a business stop over in London. Best night sleep in ages, very comfortable, quiet despite location, and efficient temperature controls.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank expectsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with this Holiday Inn. Short walk from Shadwell underground station. Lovely modern room (felt new), large shower, comfortable bed. Handy for Excel which is why it was booked. They also have Lowenbrau on draft! Haven't seen that for years! Would stay again if visiting Excel. (DLR)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JaseUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay & chose this hotel as part of a Superbreak 'Stay & Train' deal. It was easy to reach from Kings Cross and was only a short walk from Whitchapel underground station, and was situated behind the London Royal Hospital. It is sited on Cavel street - a residential street. Some people have commented on the dubious area, but my wife and I found that returning very late at night was not an issue.
The hotel is bright, clean and well decorated. The rooms are spacious and modern, with an AC control that actually works quite well. The breakfast catered for all tastes and we found the fresh fruit, yoghurt and the hot choices delicious.
We did eat at the restaurant one night, and whilst the food was OK, the service provided by the 2 staff did lack a professional touch - due obviously to poor training. In fact the waiter seemed totally confused as to what was required of him working in a restaurant.
There was an issue with the bill as on the menu it did state that there was a set 3 course for £20, but our bill did not reflect this and when we questioned it, the manager was sent for who explained that the deal was for groups only. I did point out that the menu did not state this and the waitress had accepted our order on the understanding we were ordering the £20 set course. The manager did change the bill to £25 - total, again I had to point that this was also incorrect - in fact I nearly had to force money onto them!! I believe the whole issue was due to language understanding.
All in all we would stay here again, but would be more careful if eating dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailorJohn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#104 of 1,069 in London
3,076 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#131 of 1,069 in London
665 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#327 of 1,069 in London
3,924 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#113 of 1,069 in London
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel

Property: Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BP, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel (formally known as Holiday Inn London Commercial Road) is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. *Please note we have changed our name to Holiday Inn London Whitechapel from Holiday Inn London Commercial Road* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing