We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Satisfied Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Ranked #200 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied Stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

A clean, comfortable and worth for money hotel. Welcomed by friendly staff. Good breakfast and lunch. It is situated at a convenient place, near to railway station. The hotel allowed early and late check-in without charge. It is highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank echungyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    343
    55
    11
    11
See reviews for
89
261
39
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Wonderful hotel, reception staff extremely efficent even when busy. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Lovely spotless rooms. Location convenient to underground. Great value. Staff in general were vey helpful and made us feel most welcome. Breakfast was delicious. We liked how the staff no matter how busy dealt with us quickly and without any problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippy688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

New hotel, with comfortable and clean rooms.

Friendly and helpful staff make your stay enjoyable.

Close to underground and other transportation options, including Barklay bicycle station nearby.

Free WiFi with good speed lets you handle your business and stay connected with family as well.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IhorKostiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed for a 5 nights. Yes it is close to both Shadwell and Whitechapel stations but it is not in a very nice neighborhood which is one of the reasons I would not stay again. I had to make sure i ate before taking the tube home because other than McDonalds and the ridiculously expensive hotel restaurant there really are no nice places to eat nearby.

I will agree the hotel was clean and tidy but i had to switch rooms because the toilet was not working properly. In fact i was told that maintenance had fixed it but when i got to my room it was still the same. I doubt anyone did anything so i asked for another room. Manager did not even offer me a cup of coffee or anything for the inconvenince. Front desk could not tell me how much hey charge fo international calls. Instead they asked my to go through the menu on the TV to find out. really?

Bottom line average service, average room and TERRIBLE location. You can do much better for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Dominic C,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize for the disappointment you had with your room accommodation, the service you received and our location. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel is very new - well designed, clean and tidy. Location is fine, 2 minutes walk to the Tube, 1 stop to Bank station, 4-5 stops to city centre. Room and bathroom were well equipped and decent sized. Food is good also. Only minor gripes were slow-ish dinner service (agree with previous comment about being a bit disorganised - one waitress seemed to be doing most of the work while two guys seemed to be standing around doing not a great deal) and room not being serviced until quite late in the day (after 5pm which is unusual in my experience). Reception staff were very friendly and efficient though and overall I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and was upgraded to Executive room.
This was spacious with a small but well equipped bathroom.
The hotel is within easy ealking distance of two tube stations.
There isn't parking at the hotel and on-street parking costs £3.5 per hour, there is private parking but at £10-15 per day.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is a typical Holiday Inn - nice clean and comfortable. It is a little off the beaten track but not much in fairness. its easily accessible for tube stations and the city itself is walkable.

The service was generally good but we did have problems getting understood at the bar and at breakfast. at breakfast I ordered an ommlette which just never arrived. went back to the buffet instead.

have been here before and will go back though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Partying666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#107 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#123 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#102 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel

Property: Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BP, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel (formally known as Holiday Inn London Commercial Road) is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. *Please note we have changed our name to Holiday Inn London Whitechapel from Holiday Inn London Commercial Road* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing