We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, good nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Ranked #187 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, good nights sleep”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for xmas party nearby, was hoping to walk but area looked a little rough so we got taxi. No parking for hotel but we got parked in the street behind as it was a Sunday. Room was quite expensive but very nice. Average price for the area

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopppppppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking to the time to pass on your comments following your stay with us over the festive period. I was pleased to read you found us to be a lovely hotel and more importantly that you had a good nights sleep, a very key factor in what we do! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    354
    56
    11
    11
See reviews for
92
269
41
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were visiting London for a Theatre break and this hotel was not the closest to the action. It only took 20 minutes to get into the centre though. It was clean, smart and the breakfast was absolutely great. We will use this hotel again when in London.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Ian P, thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. As General Manager I was pleased to read you found the hotel convenient for visiting London and that you though breakfast was great. Breakfast is one of Holiday Inn's hallmarks to a great stay so its always nice to hear we have got it right. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montferrand du Perigord, France
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were visiting family close by, so initially chose this hotel for its convenient location. We chose to stay again because it is actually excellent value for money and very smoothly run. Staff are excellent, rooms are very good, and although situated on the very busy Commercial road, sound is kept to a minimum. If u have a car, parking can be a little challenging, but is achievable with patience. If u are using public transport, it is perfect. Loads to see and do and most things are within good walking distance. It is an area which is changing, and is stimulating and vibrant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Janis P, Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback follow your stay. As General Manager I was pleased to note you found the team to be excellent throughout your stay and overall the hotel offered good value for money. Once again thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylam, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Arrived late due to severe train delays and didn't check in till about 11.30pm - called ahead to tell them this and to hold room, no problems. Checked in fast and efficient by friendly reception staff (Noor) and was surprised to be upgraded to Executive Double so thanks!!! All in all just as good, if not a bit better than last time - great breakfast and pancake maker was fab.

We love the location and would still chose this hotel for any future visits to London - all in all a great all round package.

Room Tip: Executive rooms and spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubles2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Rubles2010, Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again and also for passing on your fantastic comments. As General Manager, its always nice to hear great feedback from our guests and more importantly to hear they have returned, which is a true sign we have got service right. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel once more and once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Review for a stay on Sat 9th Nov 2013.

I had paid for an executive / deluxe room (I think it was £164) I was expecting it to be of a good standard as there were cheaper hotels not far away.

The room was lovely but I discovered the new looking double shower (one normal shower and one large over head rain type shower head in the celling) was faulty and that you had to hold the shower head because the bracket on the wall had broken. So long story short I ended up being late for my friends. Then the next morning I discovered that after being told breakfast was till 11 am I went down at 10.40 the breakfast is only served till 10.30.

I would stay again because I think the way they handled the problems was very much satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Saff2013, Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following you stay with us. As General Manager, I was disappointed to read you experienced a problem with both the shower and incorrect information given to you regarding breakfast times. While a little while has passed since I believe you stayed I will review both points you raised with the team and take any corrective actions needed. I hope you will not let these points put you off choosing to stay with us once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

As a Christmas surprise for my wife and son I decided to take them to London for the weekend, we stayed at this hotel and whilst it is slightly out of the mainstream tourist areas and in perhaps not the best of areas, it shone out like a beacon. Very new, clean and smart, the rooms were fantastic, large and spacious and the staff were always out to help. My son fell in love with the fresh pancake making machine at breakfast. The is a bus route right outside and the nearest tube station is only a couple of minutes walk meaning that we were in the city centre very quickly.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are worth paying that little extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_N_CRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Alan_N_CRedditch, thank you for taking the time to pass on your comment following your stay with us. I trust your wife and son had a great weekend as the feedback you left was great, so thank you for that. I hope you will once again choose to stay with us next time you plan a trip to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanur, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Location is fine for me, two minutes walk to DLR station, to reach anywhere on DLR and tube throughout Greater London. Room rates is acceptable.

Taxi cost from Paddington Railway Station is around GBP 20, since I have a suitcase.

Room at this Holiday Inn is design very thoughtful, and functioning perfectly, the mirror, safetly box, working desk, every inches has been perfectly design.

Spotless clean. Perhaps my suggestion are the tea and coffee brand in the mini bar must be up graded into some thing more premium.

Breakfast is nice, restaurant in located in lobby level and spacious.

Bar and lobby seating area is also in lobby level.

Internet is fast, and not complicated, with several gadgets can log in at the same time. Need more? Just ask Reception People, they will provide another access code with no hassle.


To go up to the room will need the room key, which is good for more security.

The area itself, there is not so much to walk around, use the most the DLR and tubes.

Love to stay in this hotel, twice already for days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanafi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Hanafi S, Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your last stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel location suitable for you. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#104 of 1,068 in London
3,065 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#131 of 1,068 in London
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#327 of 1,068 in London
3,915 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel

Property: Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BP, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel (formally known as Holiday Inn London Commercial Road) is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. *Please note we have changed our name to Holiday Inn London Whitechapel from Holiday Inn London Commercial Road* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing