We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Ranked #173 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel very clean modern and friendly. The room clean and comfy and warm. The en suite clean and warm.
Tea/coffee making in room. TV in built. Mini bar in room.
Main bar in hotel very nice but recommend go to the bar to avoid service charge.
Breakfast buffet style very nice fresh and warm food. Toaster much to be desired had to put bread through 4 x before toasted. Had to keep asking for coffee which is annoying.
Pancake machine very good and fresh.
The area is well must to be desired but the quickest way to underground is on dlr line which overground and takes you to bank stop underground for central red line.
Staff in hotel very helpful.
Would stay again and recommend

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Gemma W, thank you for your review and recommendation. Its always great to hear feedback from our guests and especially pleasing when they recommend us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

OK so it's a Holiday Inn so you know what you are getting. And we do get a good deal through their 'loyalty' programme but for a variety of reasons we have returned twice in the last six months for business and leisure and have rooms booked in the future: why? The staff are welcoming, the hotel is modern, it is immaculately clean and the rooms are a very good size by London standards. It is a bit of a way out of the city but only a few minutes walk from Shadwell DLR station.
We had breakfast on our last visit - not our best move because the cooked offering was warm/cold. However, the staff tried hard to make things better (supplied a fresh breakfast) and we were not charged.
We appreciate being able to leave luggage at the lobby.
Overall we recommend this place highly and would have given it 5 stars had our brekkie been right first time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaltonSmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear WaltonSmiffs, thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with us. Im pleased to note you have stayed with us before and enjoyed this stay once again. Please accept my apologises over the inconvenience of breakfast. Rest assured it will be looked into.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Have just returned from another great weekend at this fab hotel.
Lovely rooms with exceptionally comfy beds, clean and we wanted for nothing.
Excellent breakfast and evening meals.
Staff very helpfull and friendly, would definatly return and recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. Its great to read you had another great stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

It was one of the best holiday inn's we have stayed so far, good-new product, spacious rooms keeping in mind its in central London, only couple of stops away from downtown London and also half an hour walk to tower bridge, staff friendly and responsive to your needs, food average, bar on the other hand was good from hot drinks to all other beverages. Will recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review. Its always great to hear from guests who have had a great stay and found the hotel to be real value for money. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Was visiting my daughter who has moved to the East End of London and she recommended this Hotel. Booked for two nights arriving on a Sunday - we were fortunate to get a parking space right outside the door and the receptionisht recommended that we park the following day in the car park behind the hotel which we did and it cost £15.00 for the 24 hours which we thought was good for London. Upon check in the Receptionist was friendly and asked us if we were in London for anything special - it was my birthday so he upgraded us to an Executive Room - the room was at the back of the Hotel and very quiet and spacious! ||The room was also very clean!
The location was great for us as our daughter's flat was 5 minutes walk - the DLR was also 5 minutes walk and there was a bus stop across the road.
We did not eat breakfast in the hotel but we did use the bar facility and also grabbed a coffee (Starbucks) each morning!.
The staff were friendly efficient and pleasant - will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REDKR211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your stay with us. I was pleased to read you had a very enjoyable stay and will return in the future. I was also pleased to read you choose us following a recommendation which is always great to hear. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for xmas party nearby, was hoping to walk but area looked a little rough so we got taxi. No parking for hotel but we got parked in the street behind as it was a Sunday. Room was quite expensive but very nice. Average price for the area

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopppppppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking to the time to pass on your comments following your stay with us over the festive period. I was pleased to read you found us to be a lovely hotel and more importantly that you had a good nights sleep, a very key factor in what we do! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were visiting London for a Theatre break and this hotel was not the closest to the action. It only took 20 minutes to get into the centre though. It was clean, smart and the breakfast was absolutely great. We will use this hotel again when in London.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Ian P, thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. As General Manager I was pleased to read you found the hotel convenient for visiting London and that you though breakfast was great. Breakfast is one of Holiday Inn's hallmarks to a great stay so its always nice to hear we have got it right. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#108 of 1,077 in London
3,362 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Whitechapel
The Whitechapel Hotel
The Whitechapel Hotel
#604 of 1,077 in London
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#169 of 1,077 in London
747 reviews
Park Plaza London Park Royal
#135 of 1,077 in London
394 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#95 of 1,077 in London
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel

Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BP, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £66 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel (formally known as Holiday Inn London Commercial Road) is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. *Please note we have changed our name to Holiday Inn London Whitechapel from Holiday Inn London Commercial Road* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing