We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St George Hotel
Ranked #671 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel,room quite big ,has styles,warm,clean,comfortable bed.I was in the -1floor,no view but quilt...service is good,near the center,10minuits walk to all shopping place,will come back again for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ViVianzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for St George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

Average hotel- definitely not 4 star in my eyes. I stayed in room 16 on the top floor, as another reviewer has mentioned, many flights of steep stairs and no lift. When leaving in the morning, I opened a fire door expecting a corridor on the other side, and almost fell down the flight of stairs immediately on the other side of the door. Were I a child, or pensioner, I could have had a nasty fall. Pay a bit more and use hotelsdirect to book a room in the Thistle around the corner. The differential was about £25 and the latter is a 'proper' 4 star hotel with lifts and a nice cooked breakfast, not the continental style breakfast at the St George. I won't be coming back.

Room Tip: go for a room on a lower floor, not at the top as there are no lifts!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank andypin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed early December with four other friends for a xmas shopping trip. We will be back...... the rooms were spotlessley clean, all staff were most helpful and hospitable, making coffees and teas, booking taxis, directing us for buses to Knightsbridge ( or else we may have been walking aimlessly to find the right bus stop).

So many many thanks all of you for making us so welcome, fingers x we will see you very soon

Room Tip: Whereas the higher floor is very quiet, it is a hard climb when you have alot of shopping,
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoe a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

If you feel like going on a fitness camp this is great. There are loads of stairs, quite steep and narrow, and no lift. We were not impressed! On top of this the place needs total redecoration. The carpets are threadbare and it could all do with a lick of paint. Our toilet did not flush so we used the shower to get water into the bowl. The bathroom was tiny enough to allow this! Virtually sat in the bath on the toilet. Also the shower had a massive leak so the bathroom flooded in about 10 seconds. We paid £85 for a double room, saturday night. I couldn't believe the sign by reception saying the usual rate was £185 and you have to pay extra for English breakfast.
We were kept waiting when we arrived and again on checkout because the girl was busy chatting with a collegue. We were then spoken to very rudely as if we were idiots because she didn't believe we paid when we arrived even though she had the reciept. Very unprofessional.
All in all we will not be coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZaraAndAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St G, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Zara and Andy,

I have recently read your review and was very disappointed to find our that first of all, you have criticised the building, which is a town house, more over a class 2 listed building that cannot be modified or adjusted much to people's needs of space and extra comfort, like large bathroom and lift, all in line with keeping the heritage intact. This is something typical to the great majority of town house hotels in central London, which are converted buildings. What you get in return is the location. Secondly, no leak from the shower was reported to us, we keep everything in good working condition, flushing the toilet should not have been a problem either, different toilets work in different ways, you have probably never tried to push the lever all the way. As for the checkout, we were in the middle of staff handover, and turned our attention to yourselves straight away. Only queried the fact that you had paid, as it is not typical to pay at check-in and our system did not show it either. I admit the shortcoming was ours, but we were not rude, we merely wanted to be sure as many guests assume they had paid, without actually having had done so, only because we have their card details. We apologised there and then. As for your rate, you had a special low rate due to the Paralympics and due to London not being very busy. Our typical rates for standard rooms are usually £115.00 and above.
Hope this helps and we wish you further happy travels.
Regards,
Laura Gub
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The very central location compensates for the lack of facilities like elevator and air condition. Value for money B&B during the Olympics, helpful staff and clean. English breakfast should however not be subject to extra charges on a B&B in London.

Room Tip: 19 rooms counted from #1 on groundfloor up to 5th floor. rooms on the backside get very warm on sunn...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I was in london for a shopping site seeing trip . We stayed in a triple room at the hotel in room 17. From other reviews I was expecting the worst!
On our arrival we were given the choice of 2 rooms . The room was clean and the size of the room is the normal London hotel size . Breakfast arrived every morning at around 8:15 . Nothing special but eatable. The kettle in the room is a great bonus . My only complain is the limited amount of hot water,no matter what time of the day you had a shower .
The location is great a cab from Oxford street costs about 10 sterling . And the train station is 2 main walk .walking distance from Hyde park .
At the end of the day its a small central hotel ,great value for money !!! Will definatly return.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs do not use this hotel as there are no lifts !
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maltagirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed at St George Hotel for one night, we arrived just after 1pm and were checked in and were able to go straight to the room.. This is a relativley small hotel but is clean. The room we had was at the front of the hotel, it was small but we were only sleeping in there! tea/coffee and packet of cookies were on the side as was a hairdryer and book with lots of local information in.. The bathroom was clean, with a toilet, sink and shower unit. The staff were pleasant, we didnt wake up in time for breakfast which was only until 9.30am even on a sunday!
check out is 11am... was an ideal hotel to stay at for the concert as it was a 10 minute walk back after... I would stay again if we had a concert but maybe not include breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank splat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#202 of 1,072 in London
219 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#754 of 1,072 in London
658 reviews
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#792 of 1,072 in London
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#444 of 1,072 in London
678 reviews
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#583 of 1,072 in London
242 reviews
Marylebone
Durrants Hotel
Durrants Hotel
#581 of 1,072 in London
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Address: 49 Gloucester Place | Marble Arch, London W1U 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #671 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £91 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St George Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George Hotel is a beautiful grade II listed Town House with 19 bedrooms (en suite bathrooms and WIFI) in London's West End -a short walk to Oxford St. shopping and near Paddington's Heathrow Express. A traditional "bed and breakfast," we offer delicious food in our Breakfast Room. The Conservatory Lounge is perfect for meetings or a coffee break. With the service of a 4 star hotel, we were recently awarded the sparkling Diamond award for housekeeping by the RAC and runner up of London B&B Of The Year, awarded by the AA. This is a gem on the famous Gloucester Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George London
Hotel St George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing