We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St George Hotel
Ranked #675 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Very nice hotel, clean, great location - between Oxford Street in one and Regents Parks in other direction, friendly staf, rooms small but comfortable, all in all - no major complaints. We dont know about car parking because we didnt take a car.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

I last stayed here for one night on Saturday 26th January and it was my third visit.

The twin room room was at the top of the stairs on the first floor and front facing, Immaculately clean, good room temperature. Downstairs reception staff have always been helpful and polite (one evening they lent an umbrella because it was pouring with rain).
I normally book on line and get a good service and I think the rate is good value for London.

Have also stayed in a front facing triple room on the lower ground floor near to the dining room and that room was fine too.

The location is the best thing. Easy distance on foot to Regents Park in one direction and for Oxford Street in the other direction.

There is a pleasant conservatory type sitting area with WI FI but I havent seen anyone sitting in there. I dont know about car parking because I didnt take a car.

I'm not sure about 4 star - I would say its more of a bed and breakfast/guest house than a hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel havent liked to commit to a specific room in advance beyond saying that they can offer a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keentotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel,room quite big ,has styles,warm,clean,comfortable bed.I was in the -1floor,no view but quilt...service is good,near the center,10minuits walk to all shopping place,will come back again for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ViVianzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Average hotel- definitely not 4 star in my eyes. I stayed in room 16 on the top floor, as another reviewer has mentioned, many flights of steep stairs and no lift. When leaving in the morning, I opened a fire door expecting a corridor on the other side, and almost fell down the flight of stairs immediately on the other side of the door. Were I a child, or pensioner, I could have had a nasty fall. Pay a bit more and use hotelsdirect to book a room in the Thistle around the corner. The differential was about £25 and the latter is a 'proper' 4 star hotel with lifts and a nice cooked breakfast, not the continental style breakfast at the St George. I won't be coming back.

Room Tip: go for a room on a lower floor, not at the top as there are no lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank andypin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed early December with four other friends for a xmas shopping trip. We will be back...... the rooms were spotlessley clean, all staff were most helpful and hospitable, making coffees and teas, booking taxis, directing us for buses to Knightsbridge ( or else we may have been walking aimlessly to find the right bus stop).

So many many thanks all of you for making us so welcome, fingers x we will see you very soon

Room Tip: Whereas the higher floor is very quiet, it is a hard climb when you have alot of shopping,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoe a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

If you feel like going on a fitness camp this is great. There are loads of stairs, quite steep and narrow, and no lift. We were not impressed! On top of this the place needs total redecoration. The carpets are threadbare and it could all do with a lick of paint. Our toilet did not flush so we used the shower to get water into the bowl. The bathroom was tiny enough to allow this! Virtually sat in the bath on the toilet. Also the shower had a massive leak so the bathroom flooded in about 10 seconds. We paid £85 for a double room, saturday night. I couldn't believe the sign by reception saying the usual rate was £185 and you have to pay extra for English breakfast.
We were kept waiting when we arrived and again on checkout because the girl was busy chatting with a collegue. We were then spoken to very rudely as if we were idiots because she didn't believe we paid when we arrived even though she had the reciept. Very unprofessional.
All in all we will not be coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZaraAndAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St G, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Zara and Andy,

I have recently read your review and was very disappointed to find our that first of all, you have criticised the building, which is a town house, more over a class 2 listed building that cannot be modified or adjusted much to people's needs of space and extra comfort, like large bathroom and lift, all in line with keeping the heritage intact. This is something typical to the great majority of town house hotels in central London, which are converted buildings. What you get in return is the location. Secondly, no leak from the shower was reported to us, we keep everything in good working condition, flushing the toilet should not have been a problem either, different toilets work in different ways, you have probably never tried to push the lever all the way. As for the checkout, we were in the middle of staff handover, and turned our attention to yourselves straight away. Only queried the fact that you had paid, as it is not typical to pay at check-in and our system did not show it either. I admit the shortcoming was ours, but we were not rude, we merely wanted to be sure as many guests assume they had paid, without actually having had done so, only because we have their card details. We apologised there and then. As for your rate, you had a special low rate due to the Paralympics and due to London not being very busy. Our typical rates for standard rooms are usually £115.00 and above.
Hope this helps and we wish you further happy travels.
Regards,
Laura Gub
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The very central location compensates for the lack of facilities like elevator and air condition. Value for money B&B during the Olympics, helpful staff and clean. English breakfast should however not be subject to extra charges on a B&B in London.

Room Tip: 19 rooms counted from #1 on groundfloor up to 5th floor. rooms on the backside get very warm on sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#245 of 1,077 in London
235 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#432 of 1,077 in London
686 reviews
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#797 of 1,077 in London
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#781 of 1,077 in London
672 reviews
Marylebone
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#705 of 1,077 in London
418 reviews
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Address: 49 Gloucester Place | Marble Arch, London W1U 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #675 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £94 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St George Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George Hotel is a beautiful grade II listed Town House with 19 bedrooms (en suite bathrooms and WIFI) in London's West End -a short walk to Oxford St. shopping and near Paddington's Heathrow Express. A traditional "bed and breakfast," we offer delicious food in our Breakfast Room. The Conservatory Lounge is perfect for meetings or a coffee break. With the service of a 4 star hotel, we were recently awarded the sparkling Diamond award for housekeeping by the RAC and runner up of London B&B Of The Year, awarded by the AA. This is a gem on the famous Gloucester Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George London
Hotel St George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing