We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best, poor if ordering anything but pizza”
Review of Gioberti - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gioberti
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Average at best, poor if ordering anything but pizza”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Went to this Italian after friends recommending. As others have commented staff friendly and efficient. However, only the people on our table who ordered pizza had a good meal. Thankfully one was me. Other items such as the zucchini where poorly prepared and cooked. In fact I think it's the worst zucchini I've ever had so I doubt the main kitchen chef is Italian.
Besides the food, the hard wooden bench seating could do with a few cushions.
A little pricy for the qualit

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susi-of-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly and accomodating”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Ate here in a very large family party for a diamond wedding anniversary celebration. Staff were friendly and accommodating, made a real fuss of the couple who were celebrating and were lovely with the babies. Food was good - old fashioned Italian restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food ,super friendly staff”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We ate twice at this gem mid may. Both nights good numbers present so I suggest booking. Quality and quantity of fare was exceptional but the staff were beyond belief. The family owners made us feel as if we were relatives and the waiters were attentive and numerous. The beautiful lady owner made my heavily pregnant daughter relax and nothing was too much trouble. I've travelled the world as aircrew for 40 years and was still gob smacked! The pizza is traditional southern Italian and the veal main tender and succulent. The wine list is extensive but will not damage your wallet. Liquor coffee is a must . The only negative is you don't want to leave! The venue is one minute from wanstead tube.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“amazing food”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Amazing food and my No1 local restaurant
Have always had a lovely time here for dinner
The staff are pleasant and very helpful with lovely service too
Wonderful menu and always have a good range of special's too

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Little Italy in E11”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Great, no nonsense food with excellent service. Very busy at the weekend, so booking recommended. An intersting table d'hote and a specials menu too. sea food risotto is great but be warned it has lots of lovley garlic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gioberti also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing