We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of The Hari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Hari
Ranked #11 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I booked a last minute London and have never been. I did some research but not much due to time constraints. I had a 12 hour flight and checked in exhausted. The staff was extremely polite and professional the entire stay. I sat down with the concierge for 30 minutes and she gave me so many options and keyed in on what she thought I would like. Everyone on staff was nothing but helpful and made my first few days so easy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you for writing such a kind review! A good concierge can make all your troubles go away. We are lucky and proud to have the team we do. We look foward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    138
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
144
373
56
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Great hotel, staff are exceptionally friendly and attentive, remembered by name the whole time.

Not cheap of course but you get what you pay for.

Good location close to about 3 tube stations. Walking distance from Knightbridge and Hyde Park but the area itself it quite quiet.

Decor is superb, espcially in foyer. Great lighting, nice carpets.

Bathroom is very well designed. Nice fixture and fittings in the room. Comfortable bed.

If I were being picky I would mention the specks of paint on the desk in the room that were out of kilt with everything else.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We pride ourselves on using the guest names, I'm glad you noticed! We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon!
Kind regards
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed at Belgraves Hotel for one night (after enjoying a private reception at Buckingham Palace which is nearby). Very friendly staff in all areas of the hotel. It is a very cool hotel where I felt very welcome and relaxed. Delicious dinner and breakfast in HIX. Highly recommend and I shall return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and felt so comfortable! We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon!
Kind regards
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Although I am a fan of more traditional boutique hotels, I was very impressed with the Belgraves which has a 60s-ish New York-style vibe. The service level is outstanding, the staff addressed me and my husband by our name, we were greeted every morning in the lobby and at the front door by the young doormen in their cool plaid shirts and black jeans. Our room was very comfortable, clean, quiet despite its proximity to the lift, and the bed was heavenly. Check-in was courteous and helpful with a smile. We are very frequent travelers and have stayed at the best hotels in the world. This new hotel is a success and should strive to maintain its service level which is the first quality all guests expect but unfortunately do not always encounter. My only criticism is the low lighting in the corridors (meant to add to the coolness but a bit uncomfortable) and its warm temperature due to the same lighting, can surely be corrected). Overall, kudos to the Belgraves...

Room Tip: Ask for high room looking over Pont Street or Chesham Place for lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussybear55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We love to hear that guests are having such a great experience. We will work on our lighting in the corridors albeit warm and fuzzy! We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon!
Kind regards
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough! I felt like i was in an uber cool hotel in new york!! Check in was quick and efficient, very friendly staff.. The doormen were excellent, the barmen amazing-cocktails were out of this world! The room was comfy and modern. Room service was great- prob one of the best ive ever had-our cooked breakfast was actually hot when it arrived still and tasty!! The whole stay was perfect and faultless and i will definitely be staying here again! Thank you very much to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephmck1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
We love to hear from guests that experienced our "NYC roots"! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. The team at Belgraves are very proud to have had such a positive impact on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon.
Warm regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed for 3 days while attending the London Book Fair. Very nice newly opened hotel so all the interior is very modern. The rooms are not very big but very well laid out and look great. The beds and mattresses are very comfortable. Bar and lounge area look great and the outdoor smoking area is very well designed which is very unusual. Breakfast was good. The location for my purpose was not good but overall it´s fine. Bought the stay on www.jetsetter.com and it was a great deal for a 4/5 star hotel. Would not buy at the regular rate but for what I paid it was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okbistroservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay during the Book Fair. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon!
Kind regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed at the Belgraves Hotel for 8 days and 7 nights for the Olympics. It is located in the heart of Knightsbridge, one of the most exclusive areas in London. We had reserved a car to pick us up but they were late and could not find us. So we took a cab which turned out to be the cab ride from hell from Heathrow. To say the least, my husband and I were not in a great mood to begin our hotel stay given a long flight from the U.S. coupled with the cab incident. We arrived about 10 am at the hotel and were greeted by two very nice young doormen. They took our luggage from the cab and open the door to the hotel for us. This was the beginning of a very wonderful stay.

From the time we set foot in the hotel until the day we left, we were treated like royalty. The concierge Mauricio and the front desk staff enthusiastically welcomed us to the hotel. An early check in was no problem and we were immediately shown to a room with a king size bed. After we checked in, the staff greeted us by name each time we interacted.

This hotel is a small boutique hotel in every respect. It’s the kind of hotel you want to stay in to get away from work and the hustle and bustle of a big city. This is not a hotel for the budget conscious as it is a true “5” star hotel with “5” star prices. But you truly get what you pay for. The hotel seems to have a mixture of clientele from American and European tourists to business executives to the “rich and famous”. For example, during our stay, Carmelo Anthony’s wife LaLa was staying at the Belgraves with her production crew filming for a television show. But what is so wonderful about the Belgraves, everyone is treated with the same with the upmost respect and highest level of service, irrespective of your background or reason for staying at the hotel.

The rooms may be on the small side by American standards, but most in London are, even at the “big hotels”. Each room at the Belgraves depending on the class has its own unique features including an IPhone charger which was great given I lost my phone charger. My husband I found our rooms to be quite satisfactory. We always felt like we were coming home after being out and about in London most of the day. I say “rooms” because we had 2 different rooms. After our first night, there was a housekeeping issue. When we notified the hotel of the situation the next morning, we were upgraded for a slight cost to a different room and given free Wi-Fi for the duration of our stay. They sent us a bottle of wine and platter of nuts to our room the first night after the incident with a handwritten note of apology. A few days later, fresh hot chocolate chocolate chip cookies were left in our room with another note to make certain everything was fine with our stay. We did have to get use to the lighting in the rooms. However, the hotel is environmentally sensitive and the lights operate to minimize wasted use of electricity.

The hotel bar is nice and cozy in a most positive way with one of the most unique and extensive cigar selections I’ve seen. Do not worry “non-smokers” as the Belgraves has a very comfortable cigar patio for the smokers to go to. We befriended one of the bartenders “MoMo” who fixes a great drink and exemplifies “customer service”. On our first day, he noticed how stressed we were after our check-in. He poured me a small glass of Moet on the house to calm me and assured us we were at the right hotel for rest and relaxation and to not worry about anything else. He and my husband really bonded and actually went out once to a local pub together.

There is no business center. In retrospect, a business center in this hotel would take away from the ambience. My only recommendation to the hotel is make Wi-Fi free since a business center is not available. Belgraves is not as close to the underground as we would have liked but it is so close to Hyde Park, Sloane Street, Harrods, certain embassies, Victoria etc. The short walk to the underground allowed us to explore Knightsbridge and its surroundings.

We dealt with Mauricio the concierge often regarding the Underground, getting Olympic tickets, theatre tickets, where to eat, or just to chat. He is by far the best concierge I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. We discovered that he is well known and respected in London by his peers. It was obvious to us as to why this is.

The hotel restaurant Hix is managed by Simon who we swear never went home. His middle name has to be “at your service”. It is a very expensive restaurant frequented by Knightsbridge residents. Again the service is absolutely remarkable with good food. For example, I do not eat beef or pork and requested turkey for breakfast and lunch. Since they had none, twice they sent someone to the local market to pick up fresh sliced turkey to ensure I had what I wanted. We did not have dinner at the restaurant as we typically did not return until late in the evening. The continental breakfast is good and the staff will bend over backwards to accommodate your food request. My American palate really appreciated the fresh coffee with steam milk on the side.

I can’t say enough wonderful things about the hotel and its staff like the young doorman who chased us down several blocks to correct directions he had given us. My husband and I were choking up as we checked out as we felt we were leaving a great group of new friends. I actually started to cry. This hotel really helped make our visit for the Olympics exceptionally special. Will we stay there again? Absolutely and without any hesitation!!!

The Sweeneys
Los Angeles

Room Tip: upgrade your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zivia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
WOW! What can I say...thank you! We of course remember you and what amazing guests you were. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves (your home away from home) very very soon!
Warm regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,068 in London
2,755 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,068 in London
1,386 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#8 of 1,068 in London
509 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,171 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hari

Property: The Hari
Address: 20 Chesham Place, London SW1X 8HQ, England (Formerly Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hari 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quintessentially British neighbourhood of Belgravia, The Hari is moments away from Sloane Square, Knightsbridge and Victoria, connecting guests to London's most popular shopping districts, sites and iconic landmarks. All 85 designer bedrooms, of which 14 are luxury suites, emanate the distinctive modern glamour created by British interior designer Tara Bernerd. Complete with plush velvet window seats, bespoke wooden flooring, Italian marble bathrooms and views of London's skyline, our sophisticated rooms ignite the feeling of a private residence - a home away from home. Our social spaces exude eclectic cool, from the members club style bar to the secret garden terrace with a window to the stars. A contemporary Italian restaurant embellished with traditional warm hospitality and humble cuisine completes The Hari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing