We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, Wanna Be Hip, in a Great Location”
Review of The Hari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hari
Ranked #11 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My business partner likes this hotel very much, to the tune of staying about 100 nights per year.

He likes the location of the hotel, smack in the middle of the nicest residential area of London, relatively quiet, but with easy access to close by luxury retail, good restaurants, etc.

It is the old Sheraton that was bought out by Thompson Hotels, and redesigned to be hip, now attracting a bunch of hipsters hanging around the second floor bar in the late evening.

Hipsters reject the culturally-ignorant attitudes of mainstream consumers, and are often be seen wearing vintage and thrift store inspired fashions, tight-fitting jeans, old-school sneakers, and sometimes thick rimmed glasses.

For me, I have had bad experiences at the hotel but I am assured by the young, relatively inexperienced, but friendly staff at the front desk that neither incident had happened before.

One stay, in the middle of the night, there was an electrical surge and all the lights, including the TV went on startling me from my sleep. Things did not go back to normal for an approximate hour.

The second incident, again happening in the middle of the night, involved a blaring fire alarm going off with flashing red light, non-stop, for a period of about 30 minutes. It was a false alarm and could not be ceased for too long a period.

The other negatives? Rooms are very dark with little natural light, and ceiling heights very low. Shower area is very small and confined. Elevator going to the rooms is the same way. I am a lover of the typical English breakfast, and the breakfasts here are a letdown, and they simply don't deliver.

I do like the small, intimate high-tech fitness room, but when I have been a visitor in the past, I have gone for an early workout, and have been the only one in the room. I don't know if I would like it so much if another one or two people would be working out at the same time. It might feel too overpopulated.

Be prepared to pay for Wi-Fi on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tesmoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear tesmoscow,
Thank you very much for your review. My sincere apologies if we fell short of your expectations. I would very much like to continue a conversation offline if you could provide my office with your contact details so I can reach out to you. We would love to have you back!
Kind regards.
Joseph email infobelgraves@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

This hotel sets standards that others should look to follow! Israel, our doorman was just wonderful from the moment we arrived and greeted us by name each time we returned. All other. Front office staff always had a friendly and genuine smile for us as we walked by and couldn't have been more helpful. The decor on he lobby, bar, corridors and rooms is warm and inviting, and the rooms are both superbly appointed and very comfortable. Food and service in the restaurant was also outstanding though the decor was not as inviting as the rest of the hotel. Frankly that didn't matter as the food and service more than made up for it. This hotel is the best I have ever stayed in and I can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: Choose a king room if you want a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Shelagh M,
WOW! Thank you very much for the glowing review! We truly appreciate you taking the time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon.
Warm regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We would come back to the hotel after going out and be greeted by the doorman who remembers your name. This hotel is taking the concept of service to a new level. Every aspect was spot on. The rooms are new, modern and tastefully decorated. How good is this hotel? I was sad to leave because all the people working at the hotel treated us like friends not clients.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RvO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear RvO58,
We are so happy to hear that you feel this way! Creating a "Home away from Home" is our goal for all of our guests, I'm please that we have succeeded with you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon.
Kind regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Awesome experience the moment we got out of the taxi to the moment we got our bags to leave London. Very helpful, pleasant doorman. We added a member to our party mid trip and changed rooms; they couldn' have been more accomodating or helpful in the move. The room was clean, mattresses firm, plenty of pillows, good temp control. The room had a nice little sitting area, large windows overlooking a little park. WIFI was pretty good, easy to plug in US power cord.

Sabin at concierge desk was super proficient giving advice, making dinner reservations. And another member of the front desk saw us on the Eurostar to Paris and spent 30 minutes to provide a detailed itinenary of must see/eat places in Paris. She couldn't have been sweeter and her recommendations were spot on. Excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Mike O,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you soon!
Kind regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel and I wanted to share what a wonderful experience it was. Everyone there, from the front desk staff to the concierge, to the bartender made me feel welcome from the moment I stepped through the door. As someone who travels extensively for work, Belgraves is now my home away from home when traveling to London.

The location as well is perfect for walking, window shopping, dining options and just enjoying the neighborhood.

Room Tip: The corner suites are extremely comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolores_S493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Dolores_S493,
We are so pleased that you shared such a great review, THANK YOU! I speak for the entire team at at Belgraves when I say we look forward to welcoming back your "Home away from Home" very soon.
Warm regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My husband and I recently spent a perfect night at The Belgraves. We loved the location of this hip little gem - easy to walk, cab or tube to many great dining options as well sight's and shopping during the day.

We loved how the neat little location made it feel like we were living as locals in a chic London neighborhood.

We'll definitely be back on our next visit to jolly'ole London and will recommend this hotel to friends and family!!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe King overlooking the square - loved the little couch nook by the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandabblakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Amandabblakley,
Wow! we love to hear stories like this. Thank you very much for sharing your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Belgraves very soon!
Warm regards
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I recently stayed at the Belgraves and had a wonderful stay. From the moment I checked in the staff were very friendly and welcoming. It is a very modern hotel and the bar was really buzzing when we had a drink before dinner. The food in the restaurant was also excellant, just a shame the restaurant was a little quiet. I would really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The room we have was on the corner so had 2 big windows with lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Nicola H,
Thank you very much for your kind words! We truly appreciate the feedback. I hope you to welcome you back to Belgraves very soon!
Kind regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
1,497 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#9 of 1,077 in London
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hari

Address: 20 Chesham Place, London SW1X 8HQ, England (Formerly Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £195 - £546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hari 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quintessentially British neighbourhood of Belgravia, The Hari is moments away from Sloane Square, Knightsbridge and Victoria, connecting guests to London's most popular shopping districts, sites and iconic landmarks. All 85 designer bedrooms, of which 14 are luxury suites, emanate the distinctive modern glamour created by British interior designer Tara Bernerd. Complete with plush velvet window seats, bespoke wooden flooring, Italian marble bathrooms and views of London's skyline, our sophisticated rooms ignite the feeling of a private residence - a home away from home. Our social spaces exude eclectic cool, from the members club style bar to the secret garden terrace with a window to the stars. A contemporary Italian restaurant embellished with traditional warm hospitality and humble cuisine completes The Hari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing