We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hari
Ranked #12 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We recently spent several days at this hotel and it was thoroughly enjoyable for all of our family members, ages 17-55. The staff was warm, friendly and knowledgeable, the atmosphere was sleek yet warm, the neighborhood a quiet London gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HillaryRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear HillaryRose,
Thank you very much for your kind review! Its always nice to hear when we are able to please a family! We pride ourselves on adapting to the needs of our guests, and are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you (and your family) back to Belgraves very soon!
Warm regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    132
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
125
318
53
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Coveniently located in a quiet area of Knightsbridge. Close to tubes stations, Kings Road Sloane Street and Harrods and Harvey Nichols. The staff were friendly. Loved the bathroom. The lighting was too poor for reading but the staff immediately put in an extra lamp for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaylahis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear zaylahis,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are looking at improving our bedside lighting and value your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon.
Kind regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I can only agree with many of the other reviews about this hotel, it sets standards of service that you will struggle to find anywhere else...at any price.
When i booked i mentioned that it was for my wifes birthday, which was obviously taken note of as they had kindly left a delicious personalised birthday cake and a bottle of champage in our room.
The room itself, a Thompson suite, was on the 10th floor and afforded us magnificent views across London. It was very tastefully decorated, and the bathroom was big and luxurious.
The staff were fabulous at every level, and we were always addressed by name whenever we entered or left the building...which is always a very nice touch.
We found the location to be really convenient for us, it was a few minutes walk from some great restaurants and bars, 10 minutes walk from Harrods, and 5 mins walk from the nearest tube station. This meant we could get to the west end in under 15 minutes, much quicker (and cheaper) than a cab!!
Because we like getting out and about while we are in London we didnt eat in the hotel very often, but we did have a snack in the bar on one occasion, and room service on another. I couldnt fault the food on either...and the club sandwich was delicious!
Its hard to find enough nice things to say about this hotel, but we were thoroughly looked after from the moment we arrived, and i am certainly looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear James B,
Thank you very, very much!! We love to hear stories like this. I will be sure to share with team and, we look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon!
Kind regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My business partner likes this hotel very much, to the tune of staying about 100 nights per year.

He likes the location of the hotel, smack in the middle of the nicest residential area of London, relatively quiet, but with easy access to close by luxury retail, good restaurants, etc.

It is the old Sheraton that was bought out by Thompson Hotels, and redesigned to be hip, now attracting a bunch of hipsters hanging around the second floor bar in the late evening.

Hipsters reject the culturally-ignorant attitudes of mainstream consumers, and are often be seen wearing vintage and thrift store inspired fashions, tight-fitting jeans, old-school sneakers, and sometimes thick rimmed glasses.

For me, I have had bad experiences at the hotel but I am assured by the young, relatively inexperienced, but friendly staff at the front desk that neither incident had happened before.

One stay, in the middle of the night, there was an electrical surge and all the lights, including the TV went on startling me from my sleep. Things did not go back to normal for an approximate hour.

The second incident, again happening in the middle of the night, involved a blaring fire alarm going off with flashing red light, non-stop, for a period of about 30 minutes. It was a false alarm and could not be ceased for too long a period.

The other negatives? Rooms are very dark with little natural light, and ceiling heights very low. Shower area is very small and confined. Elevator going to the rooms is the same way. I am a lover of the typical English breakfast, and the breakfasts here are a letdown, and they simply don't deliver.

I do like the small, intimate high-tech fitness room, but when I have been a visitor in the past, I have gone for an early workout, and have been the only one in the room. I don't know if I would like it so much if another one or two people would be working out at the same time. It might feel too overpopulated.

Be prepared to pay for Wi-Fi on a daily basis.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tesmoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear tesmoscow,
Thank you very much for your review. My sincere apologies if we fell short of your expectations. I would very much like to continue a conversation offline if you could provide my office with your contact details so I can reach out to you. We would love to have you back!
Kind regards.
Joseph email infobelgraves@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

This hotel sets standards that others should look to follow! Israel, our doorman was just wonderful from the moment we arrived and greeted us by name each time we returned. All other. Front office staff always had a friendly and genuine smile for us as we walked by and couldn't have been more helpful. The decor on he lobby, bar, corridors and rooms is warm and inviting, and the rooms are both superbly appointed and very comfortable. Food and service in the restaurant was also outstanding though the decor was not as inviting as the rest of the hotel. Frankly that didn't matter as the food and service more than made up for it. This hotel is the best I have ever stayed in and I can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: Choose a king room if you want a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Shelagh M,
WOW! Thank you very much for the glowing review! We truly appreciate you taking the time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon.
Warm regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

We would come back to the hotel after going out and be greeted by the doorman who remembers your name. This hotel is taking the concept of service to a new level. Every aspect was spot on. The rooms are new, modern and tastefully decorated. How good is this hotel? I was sad to leave because all the people working at the hotel treated us like friends not clients.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RvO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear RvO58,
We are so happy to hear that you feel this way! Creating a "Home away from Home" is our goal for all of our guests, I'm please that we have succeeded with you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon.
Kind regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Awesome experience the moment we got out of the taxi to the moment we got our bags to leave London. Very helpful, pleasant doorman. We added a member to our party mid trip and changed rooms; they couldn' have been more accomodating or helpful in the move. The room was clean, mattresses firm, plenty of pillows, good temp control. The room had a nice little sitting area, large windows overlooking a little park. WIFI was pretty good, easy to plug in US power cord.

Sabin at concierge desk was super proficient giving advice, making dinner reservations. And another member of the front desk saw us on the Eurostar to Paris and spent 30 minutes to provide a detailed itinenary of must see/eat places in Paris. She couldn't have been sweeter and her recommendations were spot on. Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Mike O,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you soon!
Kind regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hari

Property: The Hari
Address: 20 Chesham Place, London SW1X 8HQ, England (Formerly Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hari 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quintessentially British neighbourhood of Belgravia, The Hari is moments away from Sloane Square, Knightsbridge and Victoria, connecting guests to London's most popular shopping districts, sites and iconic landmarks. All 85 designer bedrooms, of which 14 are luxury suites, emanate the distinctive modern glamour created by British interior designer Tara Bernerd. Complete with plush velvet window seats, bespoke wooden flooring, Italian marble bathrooms and views of London's skyline, our sophisticated rooms ignite the feeling of a private residence - a home away from home. Our social spaces exude eclectic cool, from the members club style bar to the secret garden terrace with a window to the stars. A contemporary Italian restaurant embellished with traditional warm hospitality and humble cuisine completes The Hari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing