We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique possibly at its best”
Review of The Hari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hari
Ranked #12 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Boutique possibly at its best”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed at the Belgraves last week for work and thoroughly enjoyed my stay based mainly on the service provided by the staff. Upon check-in, I was provided with a thorough description of the hotel's amenities and benefits in a way that encouraged me to feel very welcome. I even received a follow up phone call about 30 minutes after check-in to confirm that everything in my room was to my liking. Throughout my stay, I was greeted by my last name and asked about how my day was going or if I needed any additional assistance.

The room itself had all of the little touches that you would expect at a great hotel, including an fine REN toiletries, high threat count towels and bedding. The wifi and in-room technology (tv, stereo, lighting) worked consistently without fail and was clearly designed with the user in mind. The only drawback to my room is that the view was directly next to other windows in the hotel and adjacent buildings, so I never felt comfortable leaving the window open due to lack of privacy. However, other rooms did appear to have superior views and even a bit more space though even my room never felt crampt since it seemed to be very well and efficiently appointed.

I enjoyed the service at the bar, and my colleagues told me the restaurant and room service often exceeded expectations in terms of speed as well as the quality of the food and beverages provided. I only wish that I had time to take advantage of other amenties, including the fitness center or the outdoor patio, but came back from work later than they were open or sensible for me to use.

Though this place is much more tolerable if you have an expense account rather than coming out of pocket, I would recommend if you want a small but welcoming luxury filled experience in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upgrademe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear upgrademe81,
Thank you very much for your sharing your experience! We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon.
Warm regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    139
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
145
374
56
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surf City USA
Level 6 Contributor
788 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel in the Westminster area. Clean, modern & efficient. Comfortable rooms, however, are rather sparsely appointed. Convenient to many embassies, Hyde Park & government offices. Top notch restaurant (reviewed separately). Good breakfast. Great staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg3arrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear jg3arrow,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon.
Kind regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Having stayed at the Roosevelt in LA and The Thompson in NY, I know this chain, so was keen to try The Belgraves. I booked directly from Sydney and spoke to a delightful French girl called Camille. She was the first person I met when I arrived at 6am on a Wednesday morning. From the moment I walked into the hotel, nothing is too much trouble for this groovy, young, but very professional group of staff. Everyone remembers your name from reception, down to the young guys at the main entrance. The two young waitresses in the bar are just a delight and everyone has a really friendly demeanour about them.
I opted for the Deluxe room and wasn't disappointed, although I stayed in one with only a shower for the first week, the second one had a bath, which I preferred. My room had one of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in, even the house keeping staff are a delight.
The hotel is so central, with Sloane Square tube 5 minutes to your right or Knightsbridge the same distance to your left.
I will be going to London again at the end of the year and this is the only hotel that I would stay at in the future.
This hotel is definitely an added bonus to The Thompson chain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear GillSydney,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are thrilled that you had such a nice stay. Sounds like we will be seeing you again soon! We cant wait!
Warm regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We really enjoyed the stay and every detail of the hotel. The hotel is located very central and close to almost everything, but situated at a calm spot. I can fully recommend the hotel and the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Christophe D,
Thank you very much for the kind words! We truly appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon!
Kind regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerport, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Greeted with smiles by everyone,my husband and I felt welcomed and comfortable from Day 1.Concierge and staff made arrangements,suggestions and gave info that made our week flow flawlessly. Delightful morning breakfast started our day of sightseeing and we returned to the Belgraves to relax in the stylish lounge over drinks and enjoy wonderful nights sleep. The quiet elegance of Belgravia added to the overall atmosphere. The staff's attentiveness, professionalism and friendliness truly made staying at Belgraves and our week in London memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear mary w,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon!
Warm regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Belgraves is a perfect example of excellence. From the crisp, clean and contemporary decor through to the clear customer orientated team, we can highly recommend. My husband and I visited recently for a weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was a fantastic experience from beginning to end. The staff are very friendly and personable without being insincere or intrusive, this balance can be difficult and they had it just right. The suite was perfect. The space was nicely laid out, plenty of room to move around, the views through two aspects were incredible and the bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Vanessa0801,
Thank you SO much for writing such a nice review! We are thrilled that you and your husband had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Warm regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Ive stayed in this hotel on business and for a romantic anniversary. For business I wouldn't really recommend it but otherwise it is a great hotel with the following benefits:
- incredible location
- good value for its proximity to things
- friendly staff
- views are nice if you ask for the higher floors
- funky hotel lounge/bar with a great outside terrace
- good food at hotel restaurant/room service

Disadvantages:
- rooms are small (dont be fooled by the way they name each room. i.e. standard room is called "King Superior")
- they charge for internet!!!
- not very generous (we were celebrating our anniversary and they had promised to take care of us, i did not get an upgrade nor any gift, bottle of wine, roses, chocolate, nothin!!)
- they add service charges on your final bill that are "optional", thus beware of them and ask them to remove to not pay.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors, floor 8-10
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nader S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Nader S,
Thank you very much for you review! We appreciate the kind words. Also, please accept my sincere apologies for not sending a little something to celebrate your special day. It is our practice to do so. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon!
Warm regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,758 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,390 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#8 of 1,069 in London
510 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hari

Property: The Hari
Address: 20 Chesham Place, London SW1X 8HQ, England (Formerly Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hari 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quintessentially British neighbourhood of Belgravia, The Hari is moments away from Sloane Square, Knightsbridge and Victoria, connecting guests to London's most popular shopping districts, sites and iconic landmarks. All 85 designer bedrooms, of which 14 are luxury suites, emanate the distinctive modern glamour created by British interior designer Tara Bernerd. Complete with plush velvet window seats, bespoke wooden flooring, Italian marble bathrooms and views of London's skyline, our sophisticated rooms ignite the feeling of a private residence - a home away from home. Our social spaces exude eclectic cool, from the members club style bar to the secret garden terrace with a window to the stars. A contemporary Italian restaurant embellished with traditional warm hospitality and humble cuisine completes The Hari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing