We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful anniversary”
Review of The Hari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hari
Ranked #11 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My partner bought me here to celebrate our anniversary. The staff on check in were delightful, and we had a good chat about local things to do while we were there. The concierge Violetta was most informative, helpful and booked us a beautiful seafood restaurant only a few minutes away from the hotel for our evening meal that night. The room was spacious, the bathroom beautiful and the gift of a small champagne bottle sent up from the reception ladies is exactly the sort of thoughtful gesture that inclined us to return for a second visit only a few weeks later. Overall a excellent stay, will be returning for many years to come.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear DCamilla, Thank you for your lovely review, kind words and for recognising Violetta, our Concierge. We are delighted that you and your partner enjoyed your stay and your anniversary champagne and the team look forward to welcoming you both back to Belgraves soon. Warm regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

New hotel, a full makeover to the former Sheraton. Tasteful interiors. Perfect location. Excellent concierge.

However small rooms & low ceiling - not the level I expected from a 5 star hotel, but most importantly - no view whatsoever. When asked for another room, got a different one, but still no view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kristaps K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Kristaps K, Thank you for reviewing your stay at Belgraves. Whilst we are delighted that you enjoyed the location, interiors and the service from our Concierge team, we are sorry to hear that the size of the room and ceiling height were not to your liking on your most recent stay. Please do let me know when you are returning to the hotel and we will do our best to allocate you a room on a high floor with a view of the London skyline. Warm regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

this was the second time my son and myself stayed here, and it certainly won't be the last. Ideal spot when travelling with a wheelchair user, as my son is. the staff could not be more helpful and the room we were given was perfect for the wheelchair with a huge shower and toilet area. once again many thanks for everything to all staff, can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmf1667kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear johnmf1667kl, Thank you very much for your kind review. It's great to hear that both you and your son enjoyed your second visit to Belgraves and that you can't wait for your next visit. All of the team look forward to welcoming you both back very soon. Warm regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for four nights with my wife. The hotel is in a quiet location in Knightsbridge, an easy walk to Sloan Square and or Knightbridge tube station so it is well located. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful . The standard room is small but in good condition. It was very hot and humid in London and the air conditioning cooled the room well. We had a rattling sound emanating from our room fridge and requested for the room fridge to be switched off. The maintenance staff promptly arrived and advised us there was a problem with the aircon unit and not the fridge. The maintenance man contacted reception who were able to upgrade us to a small suite late that evening after we had returned from dinner. This was well handled and made a negative issue into a positive issue.

We also had excellent, knowledgeable and friendly assistance from the concierges Ben and Violetta who advised us on how to get around to places as well as made us reservations for excellent restaurants either for pre or post theater dinners.

The hotel is has excellent restaurants in its vicinity which is a major plus. If you like boutique hotels this is a good place to stay .

Room Tip: a standard room is very compact so would recommend you upgrade to a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank EliR255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear EliR255100, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for highlighting Ben and Violetta from our Concierge team for their excellent knowledge and restaurant recommendations. We're sorry that you experienced an air-conditioning issue but pleased to hear we were able to resolve it to your satisfaction and hope to welcome you back to Belgraves on your next London trip. Warm regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Being a New York City resident it's easy for me to understand why any major international city hotel room can limited on space, so I wasn't surprised at the tight quarters of their "Standard" room with King Bed. Yes, the standard rooms are small-esque, but they are also perfectly lovely, comfortable and well appointed thanks to the designers of this new-to-London hotel. The Belgraves gets my 5 circle top rating. If you are traveling on a business expense account and USD $1000/night won't break the bank simply "pay up" for one of their suites. The Belgraves' suites and Penthouse will certainly give any business executive the luxury and extra space you'd expect in a 5-star experience. A few more tidbits to round out my personal experience ~ The hotel property is located in an affluent neighborhood and is quite convenient to morning walks in Hyde Park and not too far from Buckingham Palace. Get out and walk around. You'll never feel unsafe strolling the streets as you pass by the numerous Aston Martin, Bugatti, Ferrari, Mercedes, Bentley and Porsche cars parked on the streets adjacent to many a foreign embassy. If you are traveling to the city center for business walk to the Sloan Square or Knightsbridge tube stop. Each is less than a 10 minute walk from the front door of the hotel. My young son and I ventured out to the tubes every day of our stay and found it easy to get to every destination we picked in under 45 minutes via public transport. Overall ~~~ It's a "feel good" feeling staying here and the management team delivers a high end experience. The hotel restaurant is fabulous if you want don't want to leave the premises for dinner. I give the bar staff a big "thumbs up" for mixing great classic cocktails and the serving staff kudos for delivering with a smile every time. What makes a good day staying at the Belgraves in London? Try this routine and tell me if you agree---> Go out and explore, shop and adventure in London. Then come back to this mini oasis and venture to the outdoor terrace for cocktails. Ask for a menu as you finish your time on the Terrace. Try chef, Sophie Michell’s, worldly creations at Pont St. (the hotel restaurant) and then adjourn to the comfort of your room where you can shower in opulent marble under a rain-like shower head before donning your Frette robe and crawling into a bed with nicely fitted with 400 thread count sheets. This one is a keeper for my future London trips.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are tight but well appointed & comfortable. If you are traveling on a business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear david b, Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic and comprehensive review of your stay at Belgraves. We are delighted that you and your son had such a great stay including dinner in Pont St Restaurant and cocktails in the Bar and on the Terrace. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London, be it business or pleasure. Warm regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed for a week with my wife, we were torn between Soho and Belgravia, however, having visited Soho during our stay we were happy with the decision we made as the location of this hotel is a 5 minute walk from either Knightsbridge or Sloane Square.

Staff are attentive, sharp and eager to help with anything. A special thanks to Diego the concierge officer who felt more like a friend that a concierge officer.

One particular aspect that I appreciated came when I had asked the hotel to move my dates around due to an unforeseeable circumstance. Ultimately, the hotel completely obliged despite the reservation being non-cancellable, no-changeable and non-anything-able.

This time of empathy and consideration is not something that you would not find everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mosari8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Mosari8, Thank you for your kind review and for highlighting Diego's impact on your stay with us. All of our team are delighted that you enjoyed the both the service provided as well as the hotel's great location and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Belgraves on your next trip to London. Warm regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place is a pleasant change from other stuffier hotels in this neighborhood. Attractive lobby and great breakfast served on ground floor. Loved the suite, the bathroom projects from side of building so the bath is surrounded by 3 sides of glass- it is like having a bath in a tree house! Very friendly staff, great location. We will be making this our regular London hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the suite with great bathroom- it is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Matt H, Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the delights of our Studio King Suite, especially the bathtub, and that you will coming back regularly. All of us look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves soon. Warm regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
1,525 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,917 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,396 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#4 of 1,077 in London
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hari

Address: 20 Chesham Place | Belgravia, London SW1X 8HQ, England (Formerly Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £225 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hari 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quintessentially British neighbourhood of Belgravia, The Hari is moments away from Sloane Square, Knightsbridge and Victoria, connecting guests to London's most popular shopping districts, sites and iconic landmarks. All 85 designer bedrooms, of which 14 are luxury suites, emanate the distinctive modern glamour created by British interior designer Tara Bernerd. Complete with plush velvet window seats, bespoke wooden flooring, Italian marble bathrooms and views of London's skyline, our sophisticated rooms ignite the feeling of a private residence - a home away from home. Our social spaces exude eclectic cool, from the members club style bar to the secret garden terrace with a window to the stars. A contemporary Italian restaurant embellished with traditional warm hospitality and humble cuisine completes The Hari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing