We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pizza outside Naples”
Review of San Gennaro

San Gennaro
Ranked #3,527 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best pizza outside Naples”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Unassuming from the outside this family run Italian restaurant is authentically Italian - simple decor, tables grouped close together, bustling with hungry diners and plenty of waiting staff this is a real Italian Pizzeria They obviously have a really talented pizzaiolli as the pizzas are simply the best I have ever eaten and I am the daughter of a Neapolitan so I have tried a few over the past 50 years - I am not 100% sure but pretty secure in the knowledge these pizza's are cooked in a wood burning oven. If you want to taste a real Italian pizza then head to St Gennaro - you really won't be disappointed. They also do takeaway pizza too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SylviaTH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    24
    11
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Little Italian”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Excellent choice of restaurant. Good food and not badly priced. We didn't book but I reckon if we turned up much later than 7.30pm we would have struggled for a table. Lovely setting, not pretentious, very authentic rustic feel and great ambience. We all ate different dishes, munched on olives and bread, this in itself was generous portion; while we waited for our main course to arrive.. House wine was delicious and all in all a great find. Thanks to previous trip advisor comments which helped us chose this restaurant. Keep up the comments - it really is a great way to recommend good places.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable friendly eating”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A nice friendly unpretentious smallish local Italian eatery run by genuine Italians. The menu is simple with adequate non-pizza choices. Wide range of large well cooked pizzas. The staff are efficient & friendly. The wine list is fine - their Sicilian wine is decent value and very tasty.

We have not been there for some time as we do not live in London but visit relatives - the meal & service we had was as good as ever. We went fairly early evening mid-week so there was plenty of room. My memory is that it can get busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 79Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Buonissimo"”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal,the antipasto sangennaro was amazing and big,the Chianti was great and my Pizza was divine.I felt I was in Italy again !!!
Very friendly staff

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stellaxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fillet”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Must the cheapest fillet steak in London! Restricted menu, great service, the Octopus Carpaccio was great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelixAgencies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Gennaro also viewed

 

Been to San Gennaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing