We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced rathole in Belsize Park”
Review of Haverstock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haverstock Hotel
Ranked #187 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“overpriced rathole in Belsize Park”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were given a basement room despite request made online for higher floor; the receptionist declared 'her colleague said the hotel was fully booked' but 'don't worry, there is no more noise from the air conditioning as reviews say on trip advisor' with a guilty over-enthusiastic tone. Well the reviewers were right unfortunately: noise non stop from the conditioning/heating machine all night - room freezing even though tiny. Window looks onto a wall so no light - really a rathole despite the preposterous HansGrohe fittings in the microscopic bathroom. Staff are as warm and polite as an iceberg. And for 99£ a night just because of the location on Haverstock Hill road. Was really relieved to get out.

Room Tip: if you are obliged to stay here, stay away from basement rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HebaKDubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    33
    28
    18
    10
See reviews for
21
43
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here on valentines day as we were seeing a show at the Roundhouse in Camden wanted to avoid the commute home.

The Pros;

Great location if you are looking to explore Camden, Chalk Farm or Belsize Park. We walked back from Camden which was about 15 minutes.

Efficient Staff

Nicely decorated rooms. VERYclean.

Free Tea/Herbal Tea/Coffee in room. Also Biscotti biscuits and 2 bottle of mineral water

Nice box of toiletries provided

FANTASTIC rainfall shower, could stay in there for an hour and is big enough for 2!

Towels were presented in the style of 2 swans making a heartshape which was a nice touch for Valentines day.

Nice selection of mood lighting in the room.

Reasonable price for location.

Things which could be improved;

Fire doors on floor which bang quite loud, it would be nice if they could make them close slower or prevent from banging as it is loud and could imagine being a nuisance for light sleepers or those who just hate doors banging (that is my category)

Only one pillow provided each, extra pillows would be appreciated and you generally expect them to be provided. Same goes for an extra blanket.

The room temperature was centrally set and you could not change it. This meant the room was quite stuffy and warm - there is the facility to change the temp in your room and it is disabled, unsure why?

The black out blinds are not black out, did meant room was very bright quite early on, Might want to take an eye mask if that bothers you.

If you do have the window open to cool the room the blinds bang loudly if it windy, we happened to stay on a VERY windy night so might have just been bad luck.

The breakfast is consists of basic produce and meats and cereal but does the job if you are just looking for something light.

No do not disturb sign in room.

The cleaners start early, they started at 7:30 on our floor and they are noisy with the banging doors.

All in all, it is a nice hotel but could do with tweeking a few things. We would probably not return just because of the the banging doors and lack of temperature control but if that doesn't bother you or you use earplugs then it won't be an issue, just a personal thing for me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariana r, Manager at Haverstock Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Foard,

Thank you for your detailed feedback.

Our team are constantly working on improving our services- and we very much appreciate your suggestions. We have since rectified the issues mentioned in your review.

With regards to the doors we have since adjusted the closures- so banging doors is no longer an issue. We are surprised to hear that you only had one pillow in the room as every double room has 4 pillows, the same goes for the Do not disturb signs, we even have a couple spare at reception.

We thank you for your custom and hope to see you again for a more pleasant stay

Haverstock Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Still here and love it...small but beautifully formed. Booked in to cope with tube strike which didn't happen.Only down was hotel wouldn't accept cancellation of second night without charge, but that was in on line booking T&C's to get rate (£248 for two nights single room).
Reception desk friendly and a smile. Room small if more than one but immaculate and clean. Very contemporary and in lower ground floor. No window but glass exterior door into passage so wanting fresh air had to leave door open...not good
security at all but air conditioning is available.
No restaurant or bar at all which is a debatable point. I do like a quiet drink without need to go out Need to walk 2-3 minutes along main road to other places if you do not use the Italian restaurant adjacent. Menu limited and expensive (antipasti at north of £12.00- i think not, poshed up spaghetti Bolognese and pasta dishes £15.00, veal £24.00...come.on)

Continental breakfast is also served in same restaurant with use of a voucher from hotel. Bit basic but ok enough if not a big eater.

Had problem with TV that took bit of fiddling with sky box tucked in behind TV so not picking up remote control signal...poorly thought through installation for sake of style.

Bathroom small space to move in but again immaculate, shower cabinet large and best shower i have had in hotel for long time. No shaver socket strangely!

Despite detail shortcomings i liked this hotel and its location, two minutes tube station walk, plenty of eating places within 5-10 min walk. Will come again but would like bigger room if with spouse.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M80KMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The staff at this hotel were friendly and polite. Rooms were small but arranged well. Avoid any ground floor and basement rooms as they are next to the air conditioning units. Very noisy! It also meant on the ground floor the windows didn't open fully and when they did a load of smoke/steam came in I was luckily able to move rooms when I made a complaint to staff.

A colleague of mine who checked in later ended up in my original room and mentioned the fans are switched off from about 1am, which is too late. this also means that overnight there is no heating regulation in rooms - I for one was sweltering and my colleague freezing in their room.

Now for the big downside - the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night - this went on for 55 minutes! The manager was unavailable and not answering calls from the hotel staff or fire brigade which resulted in them not being able to turn off/reset the alarm. This sure did leave us with headaches!

Would stay again provided in an upstairs room and if they have now given all staff their fire training.

Room Tip: Avoid basement and ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjaynec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at the Haverstock Hotel for a few days for work and I have to say it is one of the best Boutique hotels I have stayed in for a while. It is in a very central location, a 2 minute walk Belsize Park station and a short stroll up the road to camden. Surrounded by all kinds of restaurants and coffee shops and right next door to a lovely little Italian Restaurant. On arrival I was greeted by a very helpful receptionist who showed me to my room and carried on being extremely helpful throughout my stay. The room was lovely with very modern decor and a fantastically comfortable bed which led to a great few nights sleep. The rooms are fully equipped with Sky tv and free wifi was free is a massive bonus. The housekeepers would leave bottles of water and chocolates in the room daily. All in all i really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anybody else. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Double room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashainy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the haverstock on the 25th jan 2014
Was a great hotel everything you need for a weekend stay 1.4 miles from the market 25 min walk hotel was clean and fresh plenty of tea coffee in your room nice powerful hair dryer clean crisp sheets and nice clean white towels beds were really comfy pillows were nice and firm and at £119.00 for a night with continental breakfast not bad at all

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maxine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

On the website this hotel looks great, and to be fair to them, the quality of decor in the rooms is of a high standard, and the linen is fresh and clean.
On the downside:
-the double rooms are tiny, even for a single occupant.
-the tv didn't work
-the air con didn't work; seemingly because it was too noisy
-there is no thermostat in the room for adjusting the temperature.
-the sash windows haven't been fitted correctly resulting in draughts and excessive road noise.
-the windowless bathroom smelt stale, with no air freshener available.
-reception did nothing to resolve these issues.
-the cleaners start work at 6:45!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Skiflachau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariana r, Manager at Haverstock Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Skiflachau,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to scratch.
With regards to the TV issue- It was a problem from the TV service provider- which has since been resolved.
The airconditioning unit has now been moved, therefore the noise problem has disappeared- and the units are working just fine. Our cleaners start work from 9 am.

The hotel had just been open a week when you stayed with us so unfotunately we did have some teething problems which have since been resolved.

Our aim is to make sure we provide our guests with the best service possible.

We thank you for your custom.

Haverstock Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
1.0 mi away
La Gaffe
La Gaffe
#456 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camden Lock Hotel
Camden Lock Hotel
#426 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primrose Guesthouse
Primrose Guesthouse
#37 of 556 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Boutique Hotel
Kings Boutique Hotel
#349 of 556 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#301 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haverstock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haverstock Hotel

Property: Haverstock Hotel
Address: 154 Haverstock Hill, London NW3 2AY, England (Formerly Haverstock Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haverstock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Haverstock Hotel, Hampstead, a lovingly restored public house formerly known as The Haverstock Arms, providing very modern, boutique accommodation. The minimalistic hotel is situated on Haverstock Hill between Belsize Park and Camden Town providing unrivalled access to what London has to offer, yet set within the relaxing surroundings, restaurants and bars of Hampstead.Not only are we ideally placed for you to explore all of London on our doorstep, Hampstead Village has a wealth of attractions including Hampstead Heath, Hampstead Theatre and upmarket boutiques. You will be spoilt for choice with London’s fabulous bars and restaurants’ providing the finest dining London has to offer. We have 19 Bedrooms each with Sky on Flat Screen TV’s, Air Conditioning and all the luxuries you would expect in a London Boutique Hotel. Our staff are on hand 24 hours a day and each booking includes continental breakfast and use of Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Haverstock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing