We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied Return to Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Ranked #148 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Satisfied Return to Premier Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We wanted a hotel near to my Mums, in the centre of London for a Mother's Day visit. A little time since we last tried Premier Inn but the recent adverts convinced us to try. We are very pleased that we did. Everything about this 'budget' hotel stay was as we would expect or exceeded our expectations.
Booked easily on their website; clean and smart room; bathroom was typical but very well presented and fabulous shower etc; TV with Freeview channels; air con was responsive to the control; terrific view over the City; staff happy to help and they smiled; breakfast (all you can eat) was very very good and all the foods you would want from a European selection; check-in and out was easy.
This hotel is new, opened November 2011 so everything is still fresh.
If i have to give some criticism it would be about parking. No hotel parking, just a few spaces down the road that you need to buy a permit for every 4 hrs from 8.30 - 6pm. There's an NCP park 15mins walk away for which they give you a voucher. But this is the centre of London and so this does not really figure in our assessment of the hotel.
We were genuinely convinced that Premier Inn is now providing a value-for-money (upper) budget hotel service that is not just a marketing exercise. We will only consider Premier Inn in future (my Mother may even see more of us!).

Room Tip: Ask for high level room. We were on top floor, 12, facing the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we exceeded your expectations.

I will definitely be passing on your comments to the rest of the team.

Kind Regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    812
    167
    35
    18
See reviews for
1,091
535
89
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here on business last week for 3 nights. Hotel staff are a delight and should be commended. Slept so well in a lovely new , fresh room. Superb breakfast!
Only draw back is the area isnt great so wouldnt stay if you wanted local nightlife, area seems to be on the up though.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMcMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback on our hotel .

I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Chose to stay at this hotel based on its previous positive reviews, its location and for a good nights sleep! It certainly didnt let me down! Location was ideal with it being just a 3 minute walk from old street tube station. I cant remember for certain but i think you use exit 1 to be on the right track to the hotel. Next to the hotel was some building works which hid the hotel but luckily as we walked nearer there was a sign to point it out. First impressions were off putting due to the building works but upon entering the hotel all of those first impressions were out the window. This hotel inside looks brand new, it was spotless and extremely quiet. My 2 nights stay here provided me with the best nights sleep ive ever had in a hotel in London. I didnt hear anyone on my floor, and even better so, I didnt hear anyone banging about above me. I would most deffinately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

I am happy to hear that your first impressions were quickly changed once you entered our hotel, and that you had a comfortable stay with us. "Best Nights Sleep in a London hotel” what more could we ask for from a review.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty manager.
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We recently stayed here for one night. It started off well, the hotel's location is excellent, a few minutes walk to Old Street Station. The hotel is new so everything looks new and modern. The reception desk was busy so we used the check-in machine, which was quick and straightforward. The receptionist came over to ask if we needed any help, she was polite and friendly and offered her assistance via the reception desk if we needed anything else.

Our room (on the 9th floor) was immaculate, everything was clean and new. The only thing that wasn't as good as some other Premier Inn's I've stayed at was the tiny window, which did not open. This would explain the disenfectanty new smell you get as you enter the room. But other than that the room was spacious and comfortable.

We were woken a few times by drunken guests passing our room during the night - this was ok as it passed quickly and we got back to sleep quickly. However at 4am we were woken again by a group of at least four young people returning to the room next to us - drunk, shouting at the top of their voices and bashing around. The walls must be paper thin because they might as well have been in the room with us! We waited about 15 minutes to see if it would die down but it didn't, so we called reception, who came up and told them to keep the noise down. They did get quieter, but it was still too loud to get to sleep. They were in and out of the room so many times, bashing the door as they went, with drunk girls arguing out in the corridoor - not what you want at 4am when you're trying to sleep!

Another thing which let our stay down was the receptionist at the check-out who was the polar opposite of the friendly girl who helped us at check-in. This one did not smile once and seemed barely be bothered to speak to us at all. She did not ask us how are stay was, so we had to bring up the disturbance we had had during the night. She said there was nothing she could do about it. We had to bring up the good night guarantee we were told about at check in as she didn't. She responded with a blunt "did you call reception?". We said she had and she said we would get our night's stay refunded.

Throughout the converstation there was no hint of an apology or of the good customer service we had recieved the day before. It is this, not the refund, that would have made up our minds whether or not we would stay at the hotel again. This receptionist's disinterest and awful attitude lets the other receptionist's good work down and confirmed for us that we will not be staying at this Premier Inn again and will think twice about staying at any others in future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jameskc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelJWalker, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback about your stay with us. We regularly share our Trip Advisor reviews with our team at daily meetings, as all forms of feedback are equally important to us. I would also like to personally apologise for how your issue was handled on check-out.

Your experience was a great example for the team to show just how important it is to deliver consistently great service throughout the Hotel, as was shown in your unfortunate case, check-out is just as important as check-in and can be a lasting and final impression of your stay. We have used your review in refresher training with the team to improve how important our reaction to a problem is, and highlighter how our "Good Night Guarantee" is not just about getting your money back, but how we handle a problem with your night's stay.

To reassure you and future potential guests, we regularly carry out corridor and floor walks to ensure everyone is having a pleasant night's sleep. We have even recently purchased a 'Magic Wand' system, whereby the night team scan each end of the corridors, so that we know the team have carried out all of their floor walks nightly. In your case, I was very sorry to hear about your problems with 'noisy neighbours'. Our usual practice would be to try and resolve any noise immediately and if necessary even quickly exit problem guests causing a disturbance to others. I am sorry that this was not resolved to your satisfaction on this occasion.

Once again, thank for your vital feedback, it is certainly put to good use.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Walker
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Having stayed here for most of March I highly rate this place. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have pretty much all the basic things you need. The hotel is new and in a good condition whilst the staff are friendly and helpful. It is handy for the Northern Line via Old Street and there are plenty of pubs and eateries nearby.

Nothing fancy about the place but you do get a decent nights sleep. Pretty much like any other new build premier inn, although at London prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve_mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for leaving feedback on our hotel.

Its great to hear such possitive feedback. Its also good to know that you have been consistantly happy with the service during your stays with us.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

The beds are very comfortable here ... They have a big thick duvet, unlike a thin sheet that you seem to get in most hotels.

Large menu ... Although basic, but tasty

No room service however

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback.

Its great to hear that your stay with us was comfortable.

Unfortunately Premier Inn does not offer room service, however you are more than welcome to order at the bar and take food to your room if you wish.

Kind regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Service is excellent, all staff are well trained and keen! Dinners, well it's a Premier Inn so some choices are better than others but breakfast was good. Parking is very difficult; the NCP on Paul street is about 1/2 mile away and scary! go to the friendly chaps over the road from the hotel - Easy Car parks however it's 50yds into the congestion zone. No problems with noise but the windows are locked shut so no fresh air either. Overall very good though for central London.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cryptomuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.

I am please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Parking can be an issue in central London, but you are correct in saying that 'Easy Car Park' is our closest one. May I also advise you, and anyone else gaining information from this post that there is free roadside parking (weekends only) around the back of the hotel. Spaces are obviously unpredictable, but is always worth a try before going to a car park.

In regards to the windows, unfortunately we are not allowed to have them unlocked for health and safety reasons, and I hope that this didn't leave you too uncomfortable. We find that this issue is usually compensated by the self-adjusting air conditioning.

Once again thank you for leaving us feedback.

Kind Regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#305 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#88 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in London
#97 Best Value Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly refurbished 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme Bar & Restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1) Turn left and walk down the road and the entrance is on the third left on Silicon Way opposite iQ Shoreditch Student Accomodaton. If you are arriving early we will do our best to check you in before the 2pm check in time, if not we can safely secure baggage for a small donation to Great Ormond Street Hospital Children's Charity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing