We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“theatre visit after great A level results!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Ranked #179 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I took my daughter to London to see Les Miserables (fantastic) because this hotel was such good value I could afford great seats. The hotel is minutes from the tube station and only a couple of stops from Kings Cross and Euston. Our train was in the evening so we left our suitcase at the hotel which saved more money. Well done to my daughter (you know who you are!!) and well done to premier inn another great result !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lurgangirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Hi,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

Congratulations to your Daughter on passing her A-Levels! And we are glad that you had such a wonderful time with us.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
Team Old Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,053 - 2,059 of 2,679 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel just after the Olympic Games.
Our expectations were high, judging by the reviews we'd already read before coming here, so these really are minor points.
- The family room is a little crowded when made up for 4 (due to the addition of a camping bed)
- The breakfast is given on multiple floors, and well staffed. However, my wife's requested poached egg didn't arrived, unfortunately.
- The hotel has 12 floors, and the breakfast room did get very busy after 9.30.
- There was some building work going on, so we experienced some odd noises at about 8 in the morning.

But, there were many more positive points:
- The check in process was very easy, and the kids enjoyed typing in their details. A member of staff was on hand to help, in case of issues
- The staff are great, as everyone else has mentioned, and even gave our two a free balloon each because they helped with her job :-)
- We were on the 9th floor, and had great views of the city - we could even see The Orbit and the Olympic Stadium :-)
- The lifts are very fast, and there's not much waiting.

Room Tip: If possible, get a higher floor, as this will reduce any street noise. Get down to brekkie before 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Hi Lee,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

Most inner-city Premier Inn's, that were new builds, have all the same sized rooms, its only Premier Inn's that have been converted have different sizes depending on what was in their place beforehand.

Our restaurant is on 3 floors so guests can have the ultimate dining experience. The Mezzanine is for the guest who want to watch the world go by as they dine, and the basement is for the guests who want just a little bit of privacy.
Regarding the Poached Eggs that never arrived, we do apologise for that and have taken this on board and we are always revisiting the training to make sure we keep up with the high standards that we give to everyone.

We have now put posters in the lifts letting people know the times in which we are more likely to get busy for Breakfast, this has come into affect because we have also had feedback from this.

There is now no more building work going on in the near area to the hotel, the student accommodation is now fully open and the office block next door to us have been completed.

Many Thanks,
Team Old Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Cannot fault this hotel! We are a family of 4 (with an 8 and 12 year old).
The family room was big enough for us all, this hotel is so clean and tidy, the staff so helpful and a fantastic, as much as you can eat breakfast.
For the value and location you'd be hard pushed to find better! The tube station is just a couple of minutes walk away.
We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear Katy,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your family and found the room to be just what you wanted. The staff have seen the review and they thank you for your kind words.

Hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Best Wishes to you and your family,
Team Old Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Easy to find from Old Street station on Northern line, 2 mins walk. New hotel and lovely modern, clean airy fell in reception. All staff excellent, friendly and efficient from reception, waiter, bar and housekeeping. 12 floors and our 2 rooms were next to each other on 8th floor with great views over London.
Had evening meal and breakfast at hotel and both of good standard and quick service. Breakfast at weekends 7-11.30. Restaurant on 3 floors with modern spacious furniture so not feeling overlooked at all.
Only negative, lifts and area around lifts extremely hot, but was one of the hottest days of the year.
For price great value for money and will be stopping there again.

Room Tip: Request high floor room for view. 3 lifts available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed our central location.

The team work very hard to ensure our guests have a great experience while staying with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Fieona Connolly
Duty Manager
& all the staff at Premier Inn London City Old Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent two nights at the Premier Inn, based on the reviews that were already on here and we weren't disappointed. The staff were very welcoming, giving my son (6) and daughter (3) a balloon and activity pack when we arrived. We arrived just before 12 and were able to check in straight away. The hotel was conveniently located as our train arrived at Euston and it was only three tube stops away and a short walk with two heavy bags. We ate here on the first night and the food was fine, a bit old fashioned pub style, but cheap and convenient. The childrens menu was great.

The breakfast was great. Well staffed, stocked and cooked. Top marks.

Rooms were clean, big enough, with one double bed and two single beds, ready made up. Our children slept well, I never do the first night but we all slept in until 8.30am the second morning.

We really couldn't fault the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickster0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and review. The team work very hard to deliver a great breakfast experience to all our guests and will be delighted by your comments.

We are very glad to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us, although we are sorry to hear you didn't sleep well on your first night.

We hope to see you again soon.

Fieona Connolly

Duty Manager
& the staff of Premier Inn London City Old Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Having had a bad experience at another Premier Inn, we were only tempted to book this due to a great £29 per night offer. What a deal!! The room was probably the cleanest we've ever stayed in, the air conditioning very welcome on the hottest weekend of the year, bed very comfy. They had a bar & restaurant there, which looked fab although we didn't use as we'd made other arrangements. In the room was details of a dinner & breakfast package which seemed amazing value - wish we'd been able to get details in advance on their internet site. Old St tube station very convenient & a Tesco express just a bit further in the other direction. Staff were all cheerful, charming & helpful - but gold medal to housekeeping who are doing an amazing job. Would definately stay again & have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajeauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guest,

It was great to hear that we have changed your opinion of Premier Inn. The team work very hard to deliver a great guest experience and I am pleased to hear that you received this at out hotel.

We hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

An excellent chouice for couple travelling with children as we were,just a few stops from Euston with easy access to central London whilst located in a quieter part of the city,I could not praise this hotel enough and would not stay anywhere else ,the resaurant was excellent value for both quality and service and I have never met friendlier or more helpful staff.

Room Tip: 711 had views of the orbital at olympic park and canary wharf
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guest,

May I take the opportunity to thank you for leaving us such a great review.

It was fantastic to read such great comments about our hotel and team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#304 of 1,075 in London
604 reviews
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#94 of 1,075 in London
4,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel

Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £75 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly refurbished 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme Bar & Restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1) Turn left and walk down the road and the entrance is on the third left on Silicon Way opposite iQ Shoreditch Student Accomodaton. If you are arriving early we will do our best to check you in before the 2pm check in time, if not we can safely secure baggage for a small donation to Great Ormond Street Hospital Children's Charity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing