We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Ranked #179 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We were on route to France and stayed here for just one night. We were really impressed by the cleanliness and smartness of the room, and the whole hotel, which was modern and busy. Duvets geat, pillows great. Room temp great. We were also impressed by the reception staff who quickly came to our aid over the self check in, and showed us how to. The hotel is well situated for restaurants and pubs and public transport. In the morning the reception staff also helped us with a local bus connection and were generally very poilte and cheerful.
Now the one sore point. The bathroom fans. We were on the tenth floor. Everytime the next door room used their bathroom the fan came on, stayed on for an eternity, and was so loud that it woke us. No sleep from about 1am to 2am and then awake at 4am ruined our stay. Please Premier Inns, make your fans quieter and make them quicker to turn off!
Otherwise we couldn't fault our stay, but the whole point is to get a good night, and we did not get that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,782 - 1,788 of 2,681 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights and the hotel and staff could not have been better. Very friendly, welcoming, clean hotel and excellent food. We stayed with 11 month old twins and nothing was too muh trouble for the staff- everything we needed was provided. Excellent locaton- close to the tube with links to euston (airport transfer) Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank 575Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Third stay at this hotel, great welcome, nice comfy room, good breakfast. No defects in room ( note: window does not open - A/c system). Price £116 - £131.

Can be busy, but well worth trying if you're looking for accommodation in easy reach of Moorfields, the City or Kings Cross / St Pancras.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenter-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel shortly. Since we arrived till we left we were extremely well looked after by all of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. As the hotel is good enough,The rooms are comfortable, and breakfast was reasonably priced and of good quality. we will be back!!

Room Tip: High floor,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pop87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We were sorry we were only booked to stay here one night. As soon as you walk in there were staff making you feel welcome and the foyer was clean and well decorated. Check in was quick and easy and soon we were on our way to the 11th floor. Unfortunately the view was mostly of the student accommodation opposite but cityscape glimpses were possible.
The room was of a good size and was very clean as was the bathroom.
Tea and coffee making facilities were provided.
The bed was comfortable and there were more pillows if required.
The price we paid was very reasonable but it does vary quite a bit.
The day or so before our stay I had a text from Premier asking if we wanted to dine and so I agreed and we took advantage of the 2 courses for £12.50 and the choices were good and the food itself was great.
We would have no problem about staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simatsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just back after a 2 night stay at this hotel.

Very clean hotel. It is in a great location, very near the tube station, bus stop just outside and about a 10-15 minute walk to Liverpool St Station.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. Its just what you need for a city break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemarie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights on business last week and it was easily the best Premier Inn I've ever been too.

All the staff were excellent, knowledgable and engaging, from the housekeeping staff, to front of desk. Special mention must go to Sian on reception who made it her duty to make you feel welcome and valued, and Aiden in the restaurant would always have time to engage you in more than just basic conversation, and have the impression all he wanted to do was make your visit better.

I stayed on the 12 th floor, Room 1219, with a great view towards City Rd, and the Shard on the skyline. The room was Premier Inn basic, clean, and well thought out. The window was maybe a bit small, but it's part of the energy efficient ethos of PI, and savings can be passed onto the customer. Climate Control in the room kept it a constant and quiet 19C.

Shower had tons on pressure, but be aware there is no shaver charging point in the bathroom.

The only downside on the whole visit was the limited menu on the Meal Deal offer, although it was all fine, steak, burger, curry and fish and chips all tasty, well presented and good value, it gets a bit repetative after day 3. Also he staters, although tasty, were mostly deep fried, mushrooms, chicken strips, duck parcels.

I never sat in the bar, but it appeared comfortable, ambient and relaxing. Prices extremely competive for the areas, at about the £3.50 mark per drink.

Breakfast was well executed, with plenty of hot food on the buffet, and since I went at between 7 and 7:30am each day, absolutely quiet and un-rushed.

Why not 5 stars then? I would easily return for a visit of 3 days or less, but lack of public areas, apart from the bar, standard food, or gym means that it can be a bit boring for longer.

Still, this is a hotel that Premier Inn should be proud of, and I have no doubts as to why it ranks in the top 50 of all London hotels. It's down to the service of its staff, and the fact everything just works well.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianfegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#304 of 1,075 in London
604 reviews
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#94 of 1,075 in London
4,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel

Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £75 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly refurbished 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme Bar & Restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1) Turn left and walk down the road and the entrance is on the third left on Silicon Way opposite iQ Shoreditch Student Accomodaton. If you are arriving early we will do our best to check you in before the 2pm check in time, if not we can safely secure baggage for a small donation to Great Ormond Street Hospital Children's Charity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing