We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel, Reasonably Priced, Not well signposted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Ranked #160 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel, Reasonably Priced, Not well signposted”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We only stayed for one night at this hotel over the Easter Bank Holiday weekend. The Hotel was very clean, rooms smart and a decent size and also the bar reasonably priced. Didn't eat at the hotel but there were queues of people waiting to be seated we noticed while we were sitting in the bar area.

The underground wasn't working when we stayed so we ended up walking from Moorgate but the hotel was not well signposted and only found it when asked a local shop keeper.

I would and have recommended this hotel to other people as somewhere to stay if visiting London especially if you can get a room at the £49 discounted price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomH272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,496
    841
    177
    37
    21
See reviews for
1,119
555
92
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scun
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My family and I had a great stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms and public areas were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and good value. Great location, easy to get transport into the city centre. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 771LisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Very friendly staff helped to make this a really enjoyable family overnight stay in London - especially as they hid a mini Easter egg in our room for both of our children! It was lovely and clean and new - which always helps too! And the beds were made up for the boys too. It was good value for money, and now includes 30 mins of free wifi per device, and if you have children the breakfast is great VFM as 1 child eats free for every adult - bargain!

Room Tip: If you have children then book the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiaGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here for four nights, with two kids (4 and 1 year old). The hotel has not so much personality. Its modern and functional, but if you have tested other places in London, this hotel means a clean place with a full working complements, like bath, tv,... Room was ok. In fact it was a double room with two more beds, so there was no such more place. But price was also for 2. So we paid 2 for 4 beds.

Restaurant is ok. Breakfast is not cheap (8.5 pounds), but kids under 16 do not pay, and you can eat as much as you like and take some for the day in your bag. We also took dinner two times, and have kids choices, ever for babies (under 7 months and under 12 months menu). I had never seen something like that.

We also had to keep some medicines on fridge, and there is one available for costumers on luggage room, and it's always available, as service is 24 h at reception.

It's not close to London Main Attractions, but several buses and the Northern Line get you to all places. London has always long distances, so it's not a problem of this place, but for any place in the city.

For kids, we recommend Hackney City Farm (20 min walking). And on Sundays, Brik Lane and the Hackney flower market are also close.

For us, a good place.

Room Tip: I can say that our room did not face the road, so was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandro_Bardolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed hear over Easter very clean hotel food normal prem inn standard.This hotel is tucked away just off the main road, bit is very quiet all bus stops and buses you will need to see London on your door step .The tube station was closed over Easter which was not a problem as with the bus buses you see a lot more and the are more direct if you use Google maps on your i pad they will get you there every time.The staff were great and couldn't do enough the area is ok and seems to be moving in the right direction. would visit again if i was in London.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anslieplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I've stayed here twice so far and have have yet to be un-satisfied.I've stayed in about 12 different Premier Inns so far and this is by far the best.The exterior is very modern, with a big vertical glass tube.The thyme restaurant is nice, although we didn't eat there, we had drinks there and it was very clean and comfortable.It's just across the road from a starbucks, costa & St. Pauls train and tube station.If you plan to stay in London and are looking for something cheap, this is the BEST value for money!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Just got back from staying here, it has great staff and the location is ideal for a base to explore London. We ate there a couple of times and was surprised by the quality and not to pricey.We will be using it again thats for sure, rooms are kept spotless.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#319 of 1,068 in London
557 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
hub by Premier Inn Spitalfields, Brick Lane
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in London
#61 Best Value Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly refurbished 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme Bar & Restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1) Turn left and walk down the road and the entrance is on the third left on Silicon Way opposite iQ Shoreditch Student Accomodaton. If you are arriving early we will do our best to check you in before the 2pm check in time, if not we can safely secure baggage for a small donation to Great Ormond Street Hospital Children's Charity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing