We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but beware of outside noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Ranked #164 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
S.E. UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel but beware of outside noise”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Another excellent Premier Inn with superb staff, delicious breakfasts, and spotlessly clean rooms. I had asked in advance for a quiet room and in terms of noise from within the hotel, the room we were given was excellent.

Sadly it seems that most of the surrounding area is being rebuilt, and the building of something (I suspect a nearby tower block) seemed to go on all night, meaning barely any sleep on our first night. The following morning I reluctantly had to invoke Premier Inn's "Good night guarantee" and asked to move rooms.

The second room was quieter in that we couldn't hear the building work overnight, although inexplicably a large group of drinkers gathered down in the street on our last night and were making a racket between 2.30 and 4am, which was deeply unimpressive. However, this wasn't the hotel's fault.

Both rooms were absolutely spotless, the aircon and tv worked very well, and the beds were pretty good. I was pleased to see that the sofabeds in the Family rooms are still proper sofabeds and not creaky foldup beds or worse still, a mattress on the floor.

Breakfasts were fresh and with no shortage of any items, and I am always impressed with the range of food on offer in Premier Inns, including fresh fruit and organic yoghurts. We ate reasonably early and never had to wait for a table.

As usual the staff were really exceptional and were extremely helpful. Very good indeed and they even helped me with my luggage.

One thing to note is that newer or refurbished PIs seem to have no shaver sockets in the bathroom - why? So if you use an electric toothbrush or electric razor, do take a 3-pin shaver socket adapter to plug into one of the sockets in the bedroom.

Wifi prices have come down and the wifi works pretty well during the day, but in the evening it's very slow and unreliable. Very frustrating but this seems to be a Premier-Inn-wide issue. If you do pay for the wifi then I recommend buying a voucher from Reception, as if you pay online there are issues with accessing the wifi.

Overall another super Premier Inn with really great staff, but the soundproofing to the outside world is not good, so beware of noise at night. I know it's in the middle of London but we have experienced a lot less noise at other London PIs so perhaps they need to investigate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the lift lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shadytree14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiOldstreet, Reception Team Member at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Premier Inn. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for your first nights stay. I am glad it was sorted as soon as possible and a quiet room was available to move you into despite the noise coming from outside on your last night.

Nevertheless, I am glad you had an overall superb stay with us and continue to stay with us. House keeping make sure everything in the room is clean and tidy, well done up and functioning. The same as every other department from reception, to food and beverage and the kitchen.

We hope to have you again with us at Premier Inn.

P.S Any issue regarding anything, we always have reception team members working around the clock to help you.

Kind regards

Shafiqur Rahman
Reception Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,480
    830
    172
    37
    21
See reviews for
1,109
548
90
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
blackpool england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

All good and would use again. The beds and bathroom were very clean. The breakfast had great food lots of choice all hot and on request my vegetarian sausages were cooked freshly for me . No complaint at all. Very good location for underground and getting around.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiOldstreet, Reception Team Member at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Premier Inn. I am glad to know you will use us again as your choice of hotel. Our breakfast has a wide range of choice from hot to continental suiting to your needs. Having no complaint motivates and gives us confidence that we are doing a good job.

Kind regards

Shafiqur Rahman
Reception Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A group of eleven of us stayed in the Easter holidays. Spotlessly clean, functional and polite staff - all the basics covered.

Handily located near a tube station, the staff we're fantastic seating 11 together for breakfast within three minutes with no fuss is impressive.

Breakfast good value, plenty of choice, unhurried and hot. I'll make this my base when I visit London again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiOldstreet, Reception Team Member at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
It is comforting to know that you have chosen us as your base for next time you arrive in London and we look forward to welcoming you back. If you are planning to come in a group again let me know in advance and we can arrange your tables and food to seat you all together in advance.

I shall pass your feedback onto our team and I hope to see you and your family again in the near future.


Kind regards

Shafiqur Rahman
Reception Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Only stayed one night so wasnt able to sample what was around the hotel. 2 minute walk from Old street tube, so very close for getting around, seemed to be lots to do around without having to go far. Hotel usual Premier Inn comforts and the very reasonable meal deal is a bonus.

Room Tip: Higher floors for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiOldstreet, Reception Team Member at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
One night or more, we are happy to have you staying with us at Premier Inn. We have many amenities around the hotel as well as Old Street Station just minutes from the hotel and local buses going to different locations i.e. London Bridge, Lewisham, Oxford Street and many more

Our new meal deal is proving to be a great wonder, with guests getting 2 course dinner, drink and breakfast all for £23.00 with children eating breakfast for free the next day.

We hope you choose Premier Inn again as your choice of hotel.


Kind regards

Shafiqur Rahman
Reception Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time in a year & was just as good as last time. The staff are very helpful & friendly, always with a smile on their face. The rooms are very clean & tidy with everything you need for a comfortable stay.

We had a meal in the restaurant one evening & although my meal was ok mu hubby said that his was delicious, only down side was that I felt there was limited choice on the menu.

We also had breakfast in the hotel & this was excellent. I believe it is great value for money & especially as our 5 yr old ate for free. The is a wide range in choice of food & they will even make thing up fresh if there is something extra you would like!

Overall this is an excellent hotel & we wouldn't hesitate to book this again in our next trip to london!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsWayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiOldstreet, Reception Team Member at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. Its always good to see our guests come back knowing they enjoyed staying with us the first time. Our house keeping team are dedicated to providing you with a fresh clean and ready room as soon as you come through the door.

I am glad you loved staying with us overall and continue to choose Premier Inn. Also booking in advance online is guaranteed to give you the cheapest rate.

Kind regards

Shafiqur Rahman
Reception Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Excellent location for tourist or business. Room a bit stuffy as air con would only go to 19 but that was only issue. 5 min walk to Tower of London, right beside bank subway. Staff were nice and helpful and free maps at reception.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiOldstreet, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you ever experience any problems with your room please report it to reception and they will do what they can to help (in this case the air con).

I hope that you will choose to stay with in the future.

Kind regards

Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City Old Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Fantastic sleep, modern hotel and very quiet even though it has 12 floors. Breakfast was fresh, generous and varied - we all enjoyed it and value was excellent with kids eating for free. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiOldstreet, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback.

I was pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and enjoyed our all you can eat Premier Breakfast. I will make sure your comments are passed to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City Old Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#312 of 1,067 in London
545 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Spitalfields
hub by Premier Inn Spitalfields, Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#129 of 1,067 in London
396 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in London
#95 Best Value Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly refurbished 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme Bar & Restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1) Turn left and walk down the road and the entrance is on the third left on Silicon Way opposite iQ Shoreditch Student Accomodaton. If you are arriving early we will do our best to check you in before the 2pm check in time, if not we can safely secure baggage for a small donation to Great Ormond Street Hospital Children's Charity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing