We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect the host was a delight!”
Review of Cable Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cable Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 577 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault a thing. We stayed for New Year's Eve last year and compared to many hotels the price was reasonable, as many people I know paid over £300 for small rubbish rooms, whilst we paid the standard price for a beautiful room!!
Charming host, welcomed us and made us feel comfortable and happy. Gave us advice on
Places to eat, to drink and travel for the new year eve firework display.
Can't wait to book to go back to the delightful hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xcxcxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian809, Owner at Cable Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very pleased you appreciate our aim to offer a high quality, unique experience which is good value for money. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently stayed two nights at the Cable Street Inn and loved it. It was fun to discover the East End of London and easy to get to the more typical sites with a short walk to the tube. The Inn was full of character and rooms nicely decorated. Breakfast was just right to get us going for another busy day of sight seeing. Thanks Julian!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian809, Owner at Cable Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a few days during the Easter break.

We couldn't fault it. We had never stayed in this part of London before and it's a short stroll to Brick Lane and other interesting parts of the East end. The inn is a short walk from Shadwell station (DLR and overground) and therefore central London is easy to get to.

The room was excellent. Spacious and clean.

The host was friendly and the breakfast was self serve but more than adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonosmithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights before traveling to Leeds and then Norway. We stayed in the upper room with access to a wonderful rooftop terrace which we enjoyed after running around London all day. Everything was fantastic. Julian gave us great advice on where to go and how to get there. What an ideal location to get to all places but be out of the hustle of the big city. The breakfast was delicious. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethPamela2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A 50th birthday deserves a special treat and the Cable Street Inn fitted the perfectly! Our room was amazing. The roll top bath was a real treat, perfect for relaxing in after a long day sight seeing around the capital! Breakfast was great too. Really can't think of anything negative to say. Can't wait to stay again.

Room Tip: Book room 3 if you want a real treat. The roll top bath is huge and access to the wonderful roof ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasec378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed for an overnight trip to London to attend the Queens Garden Tea party. It was a Royal event and staying in this delightful little B&B just added to the whole trip. The outside wasn't too impressive, but boy does this place have character and charm. From the moment you step into the front door, the character of the place is magnificent. We stayed on the top floor room, so we had a wonderful large spacious room with en suite (including a roll top bath and twin sinks) and access to the roof terrace (which is fantastic.)

There is a park down below that is closed on an evening so avoids any late night noise. The room felt like luxury along with the trip we were on. We chose because of the high ranking on trip advisor, the price was an added bonus!! We have certainly paid more for much much less.

The hosts were very very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble to help make our stay as pleasant as possible. The room was immaculate, a mix of traditional furniture and new finishing touches. The bed was very comfortable and being an insomniac I was amazed to have slept so well in it. The breakfast was plentiful and very tasty.

Having being to the Queens Garden party this quaint little B&B felt like I was still in the lap of luxury. The thoughtfulness of the guests comfort always seemed to be priority. An absolute delight that I do not hesitate to recommend to others. Its hard to find such a gem, but this is certainly one!

Thank you for a wonderful stay, and we will be back again some day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at the Cable Street last year and loved it. I'm returning to London for the same conference this year and booked the Inn well in advance (months in advance). When my assistant called to confirm my room, less than one week away from travel, she discovered my room was cancelled. I don't know how the inn keepers could do this and consider themselves ethical.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smackerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian809, Owner at Cable Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and wished to return. However, we are very surprised and disappointed by your review as it presents a misleading account of the situation.
You did reserve a room months in advance and we informed you that we would be happy to hold the room for 10 days. After this time you were not able to confirm so we suggested you book the room and pay the deposit because if you needed to cancel our generous policy allows you to receive a full refund providing you inform us just 7 days prior to your check-in date. However, you did not want to do this and despite repeated emails from us requesting confirmation you were unable or unwilling to do so. We acknowledge that we should have contacted you again before we finally cancelled your reservation but you failed to contact us to confirm and in the end only provided 4 days notice before your scheduled arrival date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Lilac Door
#11 of 577 in London
202 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#15 of 577 in London
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#6 of 577 in London
755 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#12 of 577 in London
183 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#33 of 577 in London
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cable Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Street Inn

Address: 232 Cable Street, London E1 0BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cable Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B in a historic former ale house built in 1790. Just 1 minute walk to Shadwell DLR and Overground Stations, it is a convenient, luxurious and affordable place to stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing