We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cable Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cable Street Inn
Ranked #10 of 575 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Cable Street Inn and I hope we will get to go back soon. Our room was spacious, clean and so comfortable. Breakfast is light but fresh and the location is fantastic, within a block of the tube and the overground. We stayed very busy during our trip and it was so nice to get back to our room and relax at the end of the day. Without hesitation I would recommend Cable Street.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor with easy entry to the rooftop deck. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
110
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at here for three nights. The rooms are spacious and lovely, the host full of good
information and fun stories, and it is just a half block from the Shadwell station of the underground. We took a wonderful walk across the nearby London Tower Bridge and along the river to the Globe. Lots to see and do. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleenandwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A delightful place to stay particularly on our first visit to London. Easy to walk into the city and explore the East End and it's quirky little pubs. The rooms were spacious and everything we required. The host was very accommodating pointing out local pubs, restaurants and transport - also local history of Inn and area. Quiet oasis in a visit to London. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Staying at this reasonably priced inn meant that we could have 5 nights in London, a real treat!
A good hotel is simply too expensive, and generally with rooms much too small.
Our stay was perfect; our room was a good size, beautifully decorated and very clean. The bed was the best we had on our 6 week holiday! The inn is well placed with a short walk to the station.
Julian was a great host, always happy to share local knowledge enabling us to discover places that we would not have otherwise found. A wonderful Sunday was spent discovering Brick Road and the flower market, amazing food stalls, shopping and entertainment.
We do need to return though as we didn't get to see the local fox family or the peregrines!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault a thing. We stayed for New Year's Eve last year and compared to many hotels the price was reasonable, as many people I know paid over £300 for small rubbish rooms, whilst we paid the standard price for a beautiful room!!
Charming host, welcomed us and made us feel comfortable and happy. Gave us advice on
Places to eat, to drink and travel for the new year eve firework display.
Can't wait to book to go back to the delightful hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xcxcxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian809, Owner at Cable Street Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very pleased you appreciate our aim to offer a high quality, unique experience which is good value for money. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland landing
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently stayed two nights at the Cable Street Inn and loved it. It was fun to discover the East End of London and easy to get to the more typical sites with a short walk to the tube. The Inn was full of character and rooms nicely decorated. Breakfast was just right to get us going for another busy day of sight seeing. Thanks Julian!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian809, Owner at Cable Street Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a few days during the Easter break.

We couldn't fault it. We had never stayed in this part of London before and it's a short stroll to Brick Lane and other interesting parts of the East end. The inn is a short walk from Shadwell station (DLR and overground) and therefore central London is easy to get to.

The room was excellent. Spacious and clean.

The host was friendly and the breakfast was self serve but more than adequate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonosmithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 575 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 575 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Kennington B & B
#52 of 575 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cable Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Street Inn

Property: Cable Street Inn
Address: 232 Cable Street, London E1 0BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cable Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B in a historic former ale house built in 1790. Just 1 minute walk to Shadwell DLR and Overground Stations, it is a convenient, luxurious and affordable place to stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing