We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base of operations”
Review of Cable Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cable Street Inn
Ranked #12 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We used the entire inn for a weekend in London with our grown kids and it proved a good base of operations for our short stay. Very close to the DLR station. The rooms were all spacious and beautifully decorated and there was a good continental breakfast. Like many places in London there was no air conditioning which can get warm in August! Julian gave us a great restaurant recommendation (The Empress) that was a highlight of our vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mariner65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Cable Street Inn was the perfect location for our recent short stay in London. A short walk from the Shadwell DLR station and only half an hour from the West End by tube and DLR we were both close to everything and removed from the bustle when we wanted a break. Our host Julian was very welcoming and provided us with all kinds very useful and interesting information about his part of London.

The inn is small, only three rooms. The rooms are large and well appointed. The breakfast is self- serve and plentiful. When we return to London we will definitely be staying at The Cable Street Inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Cable Street Inn and I hope we will get to go back soon. Our room was spacious, clean and so comfortable. Breakfast is light but fresh and the location is fantastic, within a block of the tube and the overground. We stayed very busy during our trip and it was so nice to get back to our room and relax at the end of the day. Without hesitation I would recommend Cable Street.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor with easy entry to the rooftop deck. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at here for three nights. The rooms are spacious and lovely, the host full of good
information and fun stories, and it is just a half block from the Shadwell station of the underground. We took a wonderful walk across the nearby London Tower Bridge and along the river to the Globe. Lots to see and do. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleenandwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A delightful place to stay particularly on our first visit to London. Easy to walk into the city and explore the East End and it's quirky little pubs. The rooms were spacious and everything we required. The host was very accommodating pointing out local pubs, restaurants and transport - also local history of Inn and area. Quiet oasis in a visit to London. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Staying at this reasonably priced inn meant that we could have 5 nights in London, a real treat!
A good hotel is simply too expensive, and generally with rooms much too small.
Our stay was perfect; our room was a good size, beautifully decorated and very clean. The bed was the best we had on our 6 week holiday! The inn is well placed with a short walk to the station.
Julian was a great host, always happy to share local knowledge enabling us to discover places that we would not have otherwise found. A wonderful Sunday was spent discovering Brick Road and the flower market, amazing food stalls, shopping and entertainment.
We do need to return though as we didn't get to see the local fox family or the peregrines!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault a thing. We stayed for New Year's Eve last year and compared to many hotels the price was reasonable, as many people I know paid over £300 for small rubbish rooms, whilst we paid the standard price for a beautiful room!!
Charming host, welcomed us and made us feel comfortable and happy. Gave us advice on
Places to eat, to drink and travel for the new year eve firework display.
Can't wait to book to go back to the delightful hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xcxcxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian809, Owner at Cable Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very pleased you appreciate our aim to offer a high quality, unique experience which is good value for money. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Lilac Door
#11 of 579 in London
203 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#14 of 579 in London
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#6 of 579 in London
780 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#8 of 579 in London
190 reviews
The Cleveland
#18 of 579 in London
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cable Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Street Inn

Address: 232 Cable Street, London E1 0BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cable Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B in a historic former ale house built in 1790. Just 1 minute walk to Shadwell DLR and Overground Stations, it is a convenient, luxurious and affordable place to stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing