We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best afternoon tea we have had!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Ranked #71 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best afternoon tea we have had!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I booked this for a 12 girls who go on a theatre trip every year, we have had afternoon tea at several different places but this was one of the best. Cucumber sandwich with mint was a real winner but mint in macaroon not such a winner. Great service, lovely teas and coffee and Fab rose champagne. Oh!! And the strawberry jam was amazing!! We will be back. Thank you Marriott park lane.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lynlynfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miles_Pooley, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Park Lane, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear lynlynfen,
Thank you very much for posting a review from your recent Afternoon Tea Experience in our Restaurant and Bar, Lanes of London.
We are delighted that you all had a great experience and we appreciate your positive comments regarding the food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    268
    59
    28
    22
See reviews for
262
422
61
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you are traveling from overseas to London, you will need to pre-plan for a few inconveniences at this hotel.

Wi-Fi, which we received for FREE as Platinum members, is erratic. Even if you contacted the hotel prior to your arrival, they probably won't have rooms ready prior to check-in time. This happened to us and several other International travellers. Additionally, one of our rooms was only ready 2+ hours AFTER check-in. Not fun with two kids in tow after a 14 hour travel day.

The hotel, oddly, has no common area. If you do have access to the Executive Lounge, the service and amenities are exceptional. But, because of no common areas in the hotel it's not uncommon for it to be hard to find a seat in the lounge to enjoy the amenities. The hotel is undergoing renovations and that might fix this situation.

FYI for parents with young children, this Marriott does not allow children under the age of 16 to use the pool or fitness facilities. The staff seemed surprised when I expressed my disappointment. This isn't true at any Marriott we've been to in the US OR in South America?! For several of the reasons above, I don't recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1388mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miles_Pooley, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Park Lane, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear 1388mom,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and sharing your experiences about the London Marriott Hotel Park Lane.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the delay in checking into your rooms. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and we apologise that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion and to have kept you waiting after a long journey.

Once our lobby renovations are complete we will have more public area space for guests to relax in as well as improved facilities in our Executive Lounge and we look forward to welcoming you back once all the improvement works have been completed.

In regards to our health Club facilities, families are very welcome to use our swimming pool and fitness center however there are age restrictions in place as children under the age of 16 must to be accompanied by an adult when using this area due to health and safety regulations.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we sincerely hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to London.

Yours Sincerely,

Miles Pooley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at the Marriott Park Lane Hotel in London April 12-15th. I chose this hotel due to Trip Advisor reviews, Location and room for 4. Traveling with family two teenagers the room was exceptional and spacious and a junior suite on the 4th floor. Two double beds , large bathroom with shower plenty of amenities.
What really was impressive was the staff . They were polite and professional and very eager to please. Upon arrival room was not yet ready and we were told to enjoy the executive lounge and they would come get us in 15 minutes and they did just that.
At reception was Oliver who was very good at showing how important we were as guests.
The restaurant and wait staff were excellent too as was the meals we enjoyed there.
I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it for service, location, rooms, and breakfasts and dinner.
Overall it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a standard Marriott and adequate for most needs except when you want to make the stay a special one. The attention to detail let them down. No slippers in the bedroom, key cards not working consistently, worn carpets, stained curtains, not enough closet space for a week's worth of clothes for 2. The hotel is undergoing a renovation and hopefully the room issues will be sorted out when these are complete. At least the posted pictures of the expected outcome look promising.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Park L... G, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Park Lane, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Paddingalong,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following on from your recent stay with us at the London Marriott Hotel Park Lane. Please accept our apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations due to the challenges you experienced. Your feedback has been noted and followed up on to ensure that they do not reoccur.

We currently have a show room in the hotel to highlight the results of our renovation works and upon your next visit to London, it would be our pleasure to show you around this room and answer any questions you may have. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My boyfriend took me for afternoon tea here for a birthday treat, and it was incredible!! I love afternoon tea, and always go to different places to try it out around Bournemouth where we live.
Nothing has compared to this at all though, it really was amazing!! The sandwiches were all fresh and delicious, the scones were warm and crumbly, and cakes were beautifully made and decorated, and the tea was lovely. It was just such a shame we weren't too hungry, as we couldn't try it all, but what we did have was divine!! The service was also very good. All round I thoroughly enjoyed my treat. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from two nights at the Park Lane Marriott, the hotel is presently being refurbished but I imagine will be even better once finished. The refurbishments did not interfere with our stay, everything we needed was accessible. What I would say is the staff are exceptional - friendly, interested & happy to entertain children within the hotel. As we arrived the kids were given teddy's, we were upgraded to a suite, the bar/restaurant was fantastic well staffed and we felt comfortable with the children in there too. This was my first family trip away after a bone marrow transplant in the last year and it was made perfect by an amazingly attentive staff. The location is fantastic too, with marble arch immediately outside the hotel. We'll definitely be back! Thank you!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank blondepip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed here Mon 31st March 2014 for 1 night after he surprised me to a night away in London. I had no idea where we were going or staying, but as soon as we arrived were treated 1st class by all the staff.

We stayed in room 328 which unbeknown to me was the Park Suite! Again, another amazing surprise! The staff had made the room look immaculate with a heart shape if rose petals on the bed, a bottle of bubbly on ice and chocolate covered strawberries (my favourite!). A card was there from the manager as well which was a lovely touch.

The best thing was that my partner proposed to me the following morning in our room! All the staff knew the reason for our visit and made it that much better during our stay.

The views into Hyde Park were lovely and thanks to the double glazing it was silent in our room.

Staff were very obliging at all times, the spa was lovely - peaceful, relaxing and very well looked after. The hotel is also situated right in the centre of London off Oxford street making it a perfect location for shopping.

Highly recommended to anyone wanting to stay in London with that extra bit of luxury! We will definitely be returning in the future! Thank you so much to every one there during our stay :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ljwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#69 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Mayfair
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Park Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Park Lane

Property: London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Address: 140 Park Lane | Hyde Park, London W1K 7AA, England (Formerly Marriott London Park Lane)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in London
#66 Luxury Hotel in London
#103 Family Hotel in London
#184 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel Park Lane 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Marriott Hotel Park Lane combines style and luxury with a boutique atmosphere, set in a former grand apartment building dating back from 1919. Our 5-star hotel overlooks Hyde Park & the Marble Arch, near Mayfair & famed attractions. An intimate and elegant hotel matched with high-end guest rooms and amenities, outstanding on-site dining & fitness centre. Ideal for business events as well the hotel boasts four private meeting rooms complete with catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Park Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London Park Lane Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing