We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated then Loved”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adria Hotel
Ranked #226 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hated then Loved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Arrived v.tired, jet lagged and sweaty and was shown to our tiny room up unbelievably steep stairs with three coat hangers in the wardrobe, a bathroom that can hold less than one person and lots of road noise. We were very unhappy. The staff/owners were great, very apologetic, got us more coat hangers would have given us another room but they were fully booked. Next day they went out of their way to give us a bigger room and we felt much better. We then noticed how spotlessly clean the hotel was and just how friendly and accommodating the staff/ owners were. This is an excellent budget hotel, well located and worth considering. Just don't expect large rooms.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank triflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    299
    75
    19
    10
See reviews for
200
187
54
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This Hotel was better than anticipated. Fearing the worst, after having to go off the beaten track of Central London branded hotels (Due to high season and no availability), I was pleasently surprised to find a clean and comfortable hotel.

Yes the en-suite defies the laws of time & space to fit everything in, yes the room was basic, but the staff were helpful, the bed linen was lovely, white and fresh as a daisy and it was clean. Felt like a comfortable and safe spot to rest ones head for the night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed in the 2 bed 2 ensuite apartment over the Jubilee w/e. The apartment is lovely, modern,very well layed out and super clean. Staff very helpful on arrival taking us round to the flat and mentioning good local places to eat. Great spot for dipping in and out of London centre. Starbucks, KfC, Indian, off licence etc just round the corner. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed here for two nights on business, the hotel is pretty clean and very well located for Hammersmith. There were quite a few minus points however:
If you have mobility problems then ensure you are on the ground floor as the stairs are very steep and have sharp high bends with no handrail on the wall. Several bannisters are missing which suggests either drunken guests or tripping over.
The rooms are tiny, I mean really tiny, I thought the wardrobe was the toilet when I first entered as I didn't think you could get a toilet door that small.
The bathroom is really really small, the toilet itself is right in front of the shower and has a hook for hanging your towel on right above the toilet bowl so be sure to close the lid!
Some shampoo was provided, however this was not replaced after the first day even though it had all been used. Because there is no shelf in the tiny tiny shower you have to either place your soap and shampoo on the floor where inevitably it leaks away. I fully appreciate the hotel can't do much about its size but a bit of thought here (like a small shelf) would give a big benefit.
The shower cubicle was a bit tatty with a yellowing and cracked shower head that didn't really shower so much as splatter, the shower bottom was also chipped presumably from people dropping their bottles onto the floor as they tried to wash.
The towels continue the lilliputian theme with the bath towel not quite reaching round my waist - ok I'm a bit overweight but other hotels manage 36" around without a problem.
I had a double room but there is no way two people could reside in here for more than one night with two lots of luggage.
The wardrobe contains an electronic safe that doesn't work and you have to hang your clothes in at a 45 degree angle as it is also... you guessed it, tiny. My two suits and two shirts fitted with no more room.
The reading lamp over the bed didn't work - it wasn't just the bulb as I tried swapping the bulb in it for one of the working ones from the ceiling light (only two out of three on the ceiling worked).
The hotel had some positive points as well, free wifi is always very welcome as it's faster than mobile broadband and the TV had a built in DVD which meant I didn't have to watch on my laptop screen. The staff seemed helpful and friendly when asked for advice, and the area is surprisingly quiet.
Some good quality biscuits were provided, but like the shampoo these are a first night only deal and don't get replaced.
I'd consider visiting again if in the area, but they really need to keep on top of the little things to be regarded as better than average.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samrad999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
96 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed at this property for two nights in connection with a concert at the nearby Hammersmith Apollo. First off, finding a hotel in central London for a decent price is a bit of a challenge. At £75 per night, the Adria is reasonably cheap and still centrally located. You have the Hammersmith tube station closeby, as well as the Hammersmith Apollo which is host to many great events.

The service from the front desk was abysmal. There is a tiny reception area served by staff who probably can't help you with much save for checking in and out. The actual room was pretty small, but clean, and the bathroom was surprisingly nice. The bed was more or less just a mattress on the floor and the room didn't have much in terms of amenities, aside from a television with a couple of national channels (with terrible reception).

I wouldn't recommend the Adria unless you absolutely have to save money, need to be in this specific part of London, and can't find anything else available at the time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasmus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my family, we had a triple room which was pretty spacious. It was clean and tidy. The bathroom was a bit small but very clean. The hotel's location is good, it is only a 3-minutes-walk to the next tube/bus station. Also pubs/shops are near.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Alin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

A very nice hotel in all aspects, but the bed was far too narrow. I managed to drop myself from it twice while sleeping.

All the other things about this hotel were wonderful: location very convenient, amazing breakfast, nice shower, and - especially - the friendly guy at reception who gave me lots of practical information. But next time, I think, I won't go there because of their beds.

Perhaps, bedding in double rooms are better - I don't know. I stayed in a single.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
Star Hotel B&B
#65 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea Guest House
#313 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Chiswick
BEST WESTERN Chiswick Palace & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria Hotel

Property: Adria Hotel
Address: 44 Glenthorne Road, London W6 0LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in London
#320 Family Hotel in London
#328 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adria Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing